Fiction logo

That sweet smell of childhood

Marigolds of fairies

By Samantha MillerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

” Gloria don’t forget about the new house for the fairies.”

“ I won’t Daisy, I have seen that the marigolds have bloosemed by the barn. We can use those to make the garden look pretty.”

We had been learning about fairies in school and how they were mythical creatures. Many people are scepital about fairies but so many people believe in Santa Claus so what is the difference? Gloria and I would often sit on the vernadah after school and discuss our fairies. It was one of our favourite things to do and during the summer after we had done our ‘ farm duties’ we would go for walks to a field nearby that was full of marigolds. We believed that the fairies loved the marigolds as so many of the petals would disappear who else would take them? We had names of course for all our fairies. Scarlet, Chepi , Elvina, Fey, Flora, Cein,Dain, Basil, Aslan, and Pixie.

The marigolds in the field was something that would always be around in the summer and in a time of uncertainty b. it was the one thing that was always consistent. My friendship with Gloria began in 1932 and from then we were the best of friends. When I was 10 we became very close as 1942 the world was still fighting in World War Two. Many men were not at home and therefore you had to distract yourself in things that maybe you can’t see but you knew were there.

“ I think Scarlet is the queen of the fairies. She is the prettiest and the most socialiable.” Gloria emphasised one day while we were walking towards the field . The field itself was like being in fairy land. In the winter it was a greenish like colour because of the rain and in the summer it was orange and yellow because of all the marigolds you could see. To us it was a paradise from the farm. During the summer Gloria and I would have to milk the cows, and make sure there was plenty of hay in the barn. Sometimes we would go on the train down to Sydney from the town of Cowra that we resided in and that was called a “holiday for us”.

“ I agree I think Scarlet is the queen too, she was the first fairy we found, now we just have to find her a husband.” We had drawn scarlet in our books to have blonde hair and blue eyes. It’s funny because neither Gloria nor I had blonde hair in fact we both had red hair and in the summer we got burnt easily even though we spent all day in the field with the marigolds.

The day I remember the most about the fairies was the day I found out Gloria had been accepted to study nursing in Sydney.

“This is such great news isn’t it daisy, nursing will be good for Gloria.” My mother preached.

“ yes but that means no more time for fairies. She will be an adult and therefore she won’t be able to play anymore.” I cried.

“ that’s not true I will always remember our fairy stories. I want you to have this photo of Scarlet and Chepi. I always believed we were most like these two.” Responded Gloria.

“ I don’t want the picture I just want to play with the fairies and walk through the field of marigolds. I don’t want you or anyone else to grow up.” I remember that day because I scrunched the paper up threw it into the barn and sulked in my room all afternoon.”

It’s funny the things we remember when a loved one has died. It’s been 73 years since I scrunched up that piece of paper. My sister Gloria was my best friend and a few years after the war was over and my father returned home was when she decided to go to nursing school. My family and I moved from Cowra to Sydney to start a new beginning. I never forgot the fairy stories or the field of marigolds. Today at 89 years old I returned back to the house I grew up in Cowra. My great grand daughter is with me. We had my sisters funeral in Cowra, her birthplace. She died at 92 years old and died from old age not covid related. It’s a weird feeling returning to a place you lived in many years ago. The house had been re done but in the back yard the barn was still there

“ Nanny !” I heard my grand daughter alice cry.

“ what is it Alice.?” I ask.

“I think I found something in the barn.” Alice chirped.

I walk towards my greay grand daughter holding my walking stick.

Where my 6 year old great grand daughter is standing there’s a marigold on the floor of the barn and next to the flower is a piece of paper. Alice picks up the paper and behind to unscrunch it.

I notice the handwriting and drawing right away. It’s the drawing Gloria gave to me the day I sulked aboit keaving the fairies and moving to Sydney.

“ I think the fairies are talking to us.” Exclaimed Alice.

“ I think you’re right dear, I lost this 73 years ago. I never knew what I did with it. But after all thsi time I always had a feeling the fairies had it with them.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.