Fiction logo

That Cold Night

The Tragedy That Was Inevitable

By Bass Man EddiePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A visual of the narrator

I don’t know where I am. I don’t know how long I've been moving. I’m just a solid mass made from freshwater. I have no control of how I move or where I go. I’m just swimming through the sea by the currents and wind. I sometimes wonder if one day, I continue to move endlessly or will there be a point in time where I’ll melt?

I saw many things besides just the ocean. I can see the big blue sky and the sun shining upon me with its warmth. Some days there are clouds that pour water, showering me with their tears of raindrops. Sometimes the sky is so clear, I get the one in a million chance of witnessing a flying contraption. And the days were so lit, I witnessed many boats and ships travel around me. They let out a big horn whenever I was passing through the sea.

At night, there were so many stars, and the moonlight was looming with its beauty. Normally there are no ships passing through at night. It’s quiet and humble. Even the winds were mere breezes in the air.

Sure there's not much else I could do, but what can I do about it? I have no rhyme or reason to stop if I have no mobility. I’m just letting the ocean take me anywhere it wants.

April 14, 1912 - 10:37 pm

Another night of my lonesome in the sea. Only this time, no wind was pushing me. The currents were slower than before. Something was different here. Was this the night that my wandering would come to an end? Here I was, standing in place for this night. I could finally get some rest, but up ahead I noticed something.

I saw a few smaller icebergs. Was this where all icebergs go? There were only a few around. They are far away from one another, that includes me as well. I want to know why there were other icebergs around my surroundings, yet there was something else up ahead. Something I would never forget.

What I saw amazed me. It was the largest ship I have ever seen! It was 178 feet tall in height, 882 feet in length. It was illuminated with lights, and there were people too. So many people were playing, dancing, and listening to music on the deck. I have never seen such a display of joy & life before. It was lively and wonderful.

As the minutes went by, the large ship was approaching me. This never happened before. The ship was getting closer and they weren't moving. Why don’t they move away? Don’t they see me? Could they see me?! I’m on their right! They got to see me! I’m not that hard to spot! I’m starting to feel the cold air around me. It makes me shiver in fear. I can’t move, they’re getting closer, and there was nothing else to get their attention. They were distracted by bliss.

At that moment, I brace for impact. The ship slammed against me and started to glaze me. It felt like eternity hearing the shrieking and the rumble. I even felt like pieces of me were crumbling before me. Once it was done, I knew I caused trouble. The ship’s bliss of joy and festivities, now replaced with dread and worry. Then the ship started to sink.

The once happy people became scared. Many people are trying to move from the deck to lifeboats. Many people jumped out of the ship. And here I was, watching in the distance. I felt guilty seeing the tragic scene unfold because of me. I could only watch as things escalated furthermore. The ship snapped in half, many passengers now on the freezing water, and the cries of almost a thousand people erupted. As time went on, The ship now no long standing and the cold wind was blowing onto the poor souls who survived.

There were so many things that were wrong about this particular night. I was here. If I was moved any longer, this won’t happen. If they had seen me on time, this wouldn't happen. Yet, I stopped here in the ocean. The ship appeared from nowhere and we crashed to one another, as if this moment was inevitable. That was the cold night I would never forget.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Bass Man Eddie

This is Bass Man Eddie here. This is where you read interesting stories and articles from me. These ranges from life lessons to importance of a certain film. I’m very talkative and I would like to talk about many interesting things to you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Your writing style is so captivating. I also thought it was great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.