Fiction logo

Thank You Roy. Thank You Hanny.

Her pink scarf that covered the proof of her trials draped the furniture. The smile she wore, became the smile she bared for her future.

By Alex YongPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Thank You Roy. Thank You Hanny.
Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

“All he did was greet us Bro.”

“It was the worst greeting of my life. Just be glad we’re hiking up Greylock. Else I’d have turned around and ran.”

“Don’t you greet people when they drop their cars off at your shop?”

“…”

Roy scoffed pulling his phone up. “Aaaa, Evangeline managed to catch a bus. Wooo! I’m glad she could make it.”

“Gives you someone to talk to.”

“What you mean Bro? I’ve got you too.” He wrapped an arm around my head and rubbed his knuckle in my hair.

Grabbing his wrist, I pulled it behind him. “I told you, do that again and I’ll break your arm.”

“Kay, kay…” He jokingly submitted as I lost my composure and laughed.

“Let’s wait for her.”

“Mmm.”

Roy tapped me on the shoulder and pointed towards a girl wearing a pink scarf, and long sleeve shirt walking up to us. “Hey ya guys.”

“Hey Evangeline. This is Gary.”

“Hi Gary.”

I waved. “Let’s start.”

Evangeline seemed to be a thousand miles away as Roy practically had a conversation with himself. After our hike, Roy had a peculiar request.

“Hey bro, Evangeline’s family isn’t home, her mom’s out with her step dad, think she could stay the night?”

“What?”

“Oh, if…” Evangeline’s small voice was cut off.

“Listen, Gary. Evangeline’s life is screwed up.”

“ROY?!” She reached for his shoulder.

“I figured… it’s too warm for her outfit.” I said.

“Bro?”

I took in a whiff of the mountain air. “For the night. When you leave for home, she goes.”

“Thank you so much Gary. Promise I’ll be gone by the morning.”

“Mmm.”

“Bro, stop by a market along the way. I know you don’t have anything at home.”

With a thumb up, I started the truck.

At the apartment, me and Roy carried the ingredients to the kitchen, Evangeline looked around.

“Did you just move here?”

“No. Been 5 years now.” Agitation present in my voice.

“What? There’s… no furniture.”

“Gary doesn’t want guest feeling at home. You can borrow a sleeping pad.” Roy dropped the grocery going for my camping gear.

“Roy… start cooking, I’ll set the table.” I unfolded the table and chairs placing them in the empty dining room.

Evangeline’s head hung low, she absently rubbed her covered neck.

“Alright, I’m showering then sleeping, have fun.” With a quick wave I headed for my room.

“Gary, there’s… only two chairs.” Evangeline pointed out as she looked around confused.

“Ain’t eating with you two. Got work early.”

The next morning, they were gone. Roy left a note on the fridge with a smiley face saying, ‘Leftovers in fridge.’

“Idiot.” I snickered, leaving for work.

I couldn’t wait to get all the grease and grime off. Working as a mechanic was lucrative, but damn was it dirty. As I rounded the corner, I saw a girl sitting to the side of my door, against the wall. Her pink scarf sent a wave of annoyance throughout my body, I hate being bothered after work, and yet trouble found me.

“Why are you here?” I growled.

Evangeline stared off into the distance, her scarf hug her neck tightly. “Roy… told me… to come here.” She said tilting her head up wearing a smile.

I stepped over her opening the door with gritted teeth. Why? I might as well show her my disdain and lock her out… but I couldn’t. Just twist the lock, and shut the door, come on, you’re not weak anymore.

“Damn it!” I said under my breath, leaving the door unlatched and walked into the bathroom. I heard Evangeline walking in, shutting the door behind her and stifling her hyperventilating. Roy, what do you want from me?

I haven’t sacrificed for anyone outside of my circle, because everyone else… sucks. I don’t care about her, I’m heading straight for bed when I’m done.

During the sleepless night my phone rang, Hanny, my sister was calling.

“Hey, Chubby, just calling to annoy ya.”

“Hey Hanny.”

“How is Evangeline?” She asked in a high tone.

“Roy told ya?”

“Uh-huh.”

“…I haven’t spoken to her…”

“Chubby...”

“You know how little people mean to me.”

“Gary! Stop… You remember when all that bad stuff happened to you?”

“Of course I remember.”

“Good, that day I almost lost my little brother. But I didn’t, it was difficult, but I got you to admit your weakness. So stop pretending.”

“Look, don’t you have work tomorrow? You have time to be talking to me so late?”

“Gary, talk to me, you know how stubborn I can be, even if I don’t catch any zzz’s… I’d just blame you for me being sleepy at work.”

“Okay.”

“Besides, I called to annoy you, remember… that takes at least 30 minutes.” Hanny said with a sly giggle.

“Jeez, Hanny…” I signed. “More like 2 minutes... I don’t think she wants help, maybe she’s trying to handle the situation herself. And I’m not weak, you reminded me I was loved, I don’t need anyone else but you guys.”

“Uh-huh… You recall silently crying? When I finally made you accept that you were wrong? I almost lost my brother, I would’ve died inside. You have an opportunity to help her, call it paying me back. If you can’t annoy her into talking, you know, it’s like my super power, then promise her your support till she can stand on her own. But she’s heading towards a bad place.”

“Why? She’s a stranger.”

“Talk to her. You’ll never get to know her if you don’t. Do you want to keep the same 3 or 4 people in your life forever?”

“I… don’t want to talk to her.”

“Because you’re too strong?”

“Because she doesn’t mat…” My voice caught in my throat.

“Help her. Like the Chubby I used to know.”

I paused for a few seconds before answering. “Okay, I’ll talk to her. But tell Roy to stop meddling. Bastard can’t let people be.”

“Hey, watch your mouth. And he won’t stop. I guess he’s like you. Too weak to let anyone suffer alone. It takes someone strong to abandon everyone. But you care about people, you care too…” My sister yawned.

“Hanny, go catch those zzzs.”

“Mmm. Good night, Chubby.”

“Good night.”

Morning came, Evangeline was shuffling around out of sight. I brushed my teeth, threw on my work clothes and headed for the kitchen to make my lunch.

“Morning, Gary. You really don’t have anything to cook, just a bunch of baking stuff. I made a sandwich for you, and threw in a soda can. Roy told me you like to stack your sandwiches, so there’s plenty on there. It’s in the fridge.”

“Thanks.” The refrigerated air chilled my legs, she was right behind me, just do it… talk to her. No, I can’t. Grabbing my lunch, I turned to leave.

“I… I heard your conversation. Gary, I’m sorry to bother you so much. I’ll catch the next bus out. Just know I never expected anything from you, so… don’t feel bad for this stranger.” She unwrapped a tail end of the scarf pulling it tighter, she wore a slight smile and distant eyes.

She was strong. Evangeline was suffering at home, I don’t know the situation, but I know it hurts. Yet here she stood, attempting to rest before heading back, and willing to give up this safe space for my sake.

Back then I suffered alone, and hid it from everyone, just bearing it’s weight constantly because I was too afraid for others to see it. Yet, Hanny, Roy, and my mother saw it, they saw the despicable person I harbored within, and they stuck with me till he went away. I’m nobody without them, and I can’t help somebody that’s stronger than I was, no… she has Roy.

“Mmm.” I grumbled continuing towards the door.

Sitting in my truck, the engine humming away, Hanny’s annoying words reverberated in my head, ‘talk to her’. She may never come around again, and I told Hanny I would… but would I just make things worse?

Maybe she already left, I looked around just to make sure. There was a man sitting in a sedan, she wasn’t walking along the sidewalk, and the other cars were empty. My phone says her bus is scheduled to be here in 6 minutes, along with a notification from Roy saying he’d be visiting and needed to stay over. I replied ‘I know a good hotel,’ to him, before preparing myself to leave.

Looking up from my phone, Evangeline stepped out of the apartment. I reached for the handle by my knees ready to confront her when the sedan bounced and the door violently swung open. A man animatedly approached her, raising his voice, she stood there staring up at him, her hand holding onto her scarf.

He grabbed her arm, she pulled back and slapped him trying to pull free, but he was stronger, his grip remained firm. He yanked the scarf, revealing purple, red, yellow, and green bruises.

Enough.

“We need you at home! I followed you, gave you time to cool off! And you run away! How do you expect your mother to cope!”

“Shut up! She was happier without you!” She tried reaching for the scarf.

“HEY!” I yelled, “Leave, now!”

“Stay out of this!” He sneered.

I walked up and bent his fingers, releasing his grip on Evangeline, she stepped back ready to fight, but I gestured her to stop.

“You prick!” He swung, I ducked, sidestepped him and punched him in the kidney. With a blood curling yell, he fell, unable to bear the pain.

“Mom was happy, she was happy without it, but you made her dependent!” Evangeline yelled as he got up and slowly entered his car, driving away. She picked up her scarf, and turned to me.

I pointed towards the apartment while walking towards my truck to pop the hood. “Get inside.”

“What are you doing?” Her shaky voice followed after me.

“Setting off an engine code.”

“You’re… not going to work?”

“I said, go inside. Find the mixer, and some mixing bowls.”

“Mixing bowls? What…”

“We both could use some dessert.” I said with a smile as the fuel pressure in my truck dropped, shutting off the engine and setting off a light.

“I thought…”

“I lived on a few farms.”

“Okay, um, I need a key.” Handing her my house keys, I entered the truck to take a picture of the dash and send a fake report to my boss before heading back up with the lunch she made me.

Evangeline talked while I baked. Hanny was right, I am weak, and helping people is what the weak do, because we know the pain, we want to help. Evangeline shared her burdens, and bared a beaming smile when I told her I wanted to help her and her mom.

“You need anything from your old place.”

“No.” Evangeline said.

“Okay, Roy’ll be over. We’ll have to clear up the spare bedroom for your stuff.”

“Mmm.” She mumbled giddily looking at her key as I glanced at the furniture in the back.

Roy showed up a few days later.

“Hey bro, whoa, you got furniture? And you’re finally using the baking stuff I bought you. That’s your cake right?”

“Roy, grow up would ya.” I grumbled, throwing a slice of chocolate cake on the dining table.

“Hey.” Evangeline walked in front of me. “You grow up too.”

Roy took the opportunity to run into Evangeline, pushing her into my chest, and wrapping his arms around us. I laughed and felt my voice vibrating through Evangeline as I hugged Roy back, squeezing her in between us.

“Hey! Guys, you’re gonna make me into a pancake!”

Her scarfed draped the sofa, she wore a short sleeve t-shirt, her body baring the scars of her trials. But the girl nestled in my chest was happy, because I stopped being strong.

Thank you, Roy.

Thank you, Hanny.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Alex Yong

I am a full time mechanic, most of my free time is spent learning about my career. To break the rut of the system, I started writing, I devote an hour a day for it. My favorite thing about writing is nothing breaks unless I want it to.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.