Fiction logo

Testing the Limits

A Mythological Microfiction

By Natasja RosePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Testing the Limits
Photo by Fermin Rodriguez Penelas on Unsplash

Everyone knew the stories about the Lake of the Drowned.

Travellers stopping to refresh themselves with a picturesque view, then vanishing to never be seen again. Strong swimmers, young... natural causes were getting harder to use as an explanation.

"Waterhorse" many had started to whisper. "Kelpie."

It was perfect for my purposes.

I checked that I had the thing I needed, and sat down.

Birds fell silent and the air went still. The calm waters surged and a magnificent horse appeared.

I felt an overwhelming urge to ride it. Slipping on my artificial gills, I swung myself up. "Let's go."

Short StoryYoung AdultFantasy
9

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wonderful!!!💖💖💕

  • Heather Zieffle 11 months ago

    Great job! Good luck in the challenge!

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    Did you write that last bit, because that was funny.

  • Delightful!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Lol! HORSEY! 🐴

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Well, I'm not going to be shaking this one off so easily... Thank you for the story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.