Fiction logo

Tequila Sunrise

A bitcoin heist

By Scott ChristensonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Tequila Sunrise
Photo by Kanchanara on Unsplash

They say Gzy-X keeps his Bitcoin key tattooed on his bicep. Which one they don’t say.

Those 32 characters are the key to billions. Having spent months approaching him, I finally get an invite to a party he’s having in South Beach.

Waves crash in on the private beach as I serve guests pure-origin tequila made by Wixárica highlanders (it's relabelled Jose Cuervo).

Gzy-X asks for another shot.

“Tequila!” I sing in the melody of that song. “High five!" I shout over the music–I think we can do that now.

“Yeaaaah!” he says and slaps my hand. His sleeve slips up, exposing only pink skin. It must be the other arm.

Seven shots later, I see the other arm. No tattoo.

Just after midnight, Gzy-X’s girlfriend, a model, asks for her second drink. “Can you make a tequila sunrise?”

“A waste of luxury tequila, but sure.”

“My boyfriend is drunk again.” Gzy-X is now giving chest bumps to crypto bros.

I blurt out, “I wonder where a man like that keeps his secrets.”

“Under the lid of the toilet tank, same as every other billionaire.”

“Here’s your drink,” I say. “Now, excuse me, I need to go use the bathroom.”

Adventure

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Bhawarth S. Saraswat11 months ago

    Hey there, can you please help me by showing me tips on improving my vocal skills?

Scott ChristensonWritten by Scott Christenson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.