Fiction logo

Temples and dimples

Losing myself

By Andrei Z.Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
7
Temples and dimples
Photo by Jesse Schoff on Unsplash

She put her lips to my head (to my left temple) and drawled as slowly as my blood had started to flow at the sight of her. "Yo-o-ou-a-a-a-re-e-m-i-i-ne-no-o-ow." With my peripheral vision, I saw a dimple on her chin. It's as if her words ricocheted and left this human mark on her otherwise unearthly perfect face. "Next time you pull the trigger, try to aim a bit closer to my ear," I thought. "There won't be next time," the dimple grew and swaddled me like a baby. Swallowed me. So warm. So calm. And I'm forgetting how to breathe.

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    I'm simultaneously confused and wanting to run away screaming. I think my favorite line, and one of the more pertinent to the creepy, is: "It's as if her words ricocheted and left this human mark on her otherwise unearthly perfect face." What a unique concept, making a dimple a vehicle for horror. 🤔

  • Gosh this was so creepy and so well done!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Andrei, this was a rather dark and twisted story. I quite enjoyed it, even read it a couple times over! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.