Fiction logo

Tarnished

One after Another

By Chris GracePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

To the grave! To the grave ! Yes I’m going to send a wave..!

To the grave! To the grave ! Yes I’m going to send a wave..!

These words were being chanted by an incredibly large mob full of heartless individuals. Those full of hatred. Tarnished by life and consumed by every evil intention. They were known as “demons of light.” Their mission was simply to establish and expand the kingdom of doom throughout any land where life exists… They were half demon and half human. In fact some of them were so beautiful you would never know your life was in danger. They were powerful yet very seductive. The more admiring they were as far as their outer appearance. The more tarnished and destructive they were on the inside. All were indeed heartless… No spark! No shine! The bells in their minds simply weren’t ringing.

My name is Pessimist. It would have been Pegasus but I was that damn ugly. Atleast that’s what my father always told me. Of course my mother would always say, “ you’re going to be that horse to mount up some day!” I did not know what that meant exactly. Nor if I should take offense; but it did cause me to feel hopeful. God bless her soul. My father would deliberately abuse her verbally. An she would always take it. In fact she accepted it. Better yet she accepted it so much that it took affect on her mentally, physically, and spiritually. In 15 years I watched the apple of my eye become similar to pie crust. Indeed she finally crumbled. As did our entire family. I bet my father regrets everything now. I haven’t seen him in 2 years. Some say he got what was coming to him. But I say, ignorance is bliss. As ugly as many family members had even believed she became. My mother had the most beautiful spirit and the purest heart.

“Love is love, my word is true. Through thick and then, just me and you…”

She would sing this to me every morning and every night. A heart felt lullaby she had written herself. She was also gifted. Also very crafty. She was no Mother Teresa. But my mother was a precious gift from above and the whole town new it. Rumor has it that her heart was removed from her once she died and is somewhere locked away and hidden.

But I say, who ever believes that apparently doesn’t have one. Or they’re a little cuckoo for coco puffs if you know what I mean… The fortune tellers would say that one day her heart would be used to change many souls. Personally I didn’t know what to believe. The only thing certain was that my mother and father were both gone. While I’m here all by myself. Stuck in the middle of a war that appears to look more and more like the end of time. Judgment day old church folks would call it.

Luckily I’m not completely alone. I have my dog Lola. An my best friend Kiera. Who happened to be my neighbor. Neither of us could fathom what we were witnessing 1 block away from our gated community. The voices were getting louder…

To the grave! To the grave ! Yes I’m going to send a wave..!

To the grave! To the grave ! Yes I’m going to send a wave..!

Suddenly they stopped. Listen up! We are the infamous Demons of Light. By 12 midnight if the sacred heart is not returned to the temple from which it came all will indeed be captured. Children will be taken as slaves. Mother’s will be beaten and tormented. Father’s will all die one by one. We are many if any dare to stand against us let them speak now!

All remained silent. An old man who appeared to be drunk slowly moved forward. Fragile and shaking he raised his cane and cried out, “we will not be silenced!” He was struck to the ground by the commanding chief immediately. The old man was then tied by the ankles and dragged towards an abandoned building. By two men and one woman who followed them carrying a dagger.

WELL NOW!

Would anyone else care to express how they feel? ( silence) (blank stares)… Good. You all have until 12 midnight to bring me the heart so that I may restore it. Time is ticking!

While everyone cried and panicked in hopeless despair. I grabbed Kiera by the hand. Me, her, and Lola were the towns only hope. I wondered who in their right mind would be making this much of a ruckus over a myth. About my Mother! It was kind of a bitter sweet moment. On one hand if it were true I would have to come into agreement with having it returned. On the other hand who is this Dictator that has been summoned from the legion of doom who’s only desire is to murder and enslave whether this heart was returned or not. I’m at a lost of words. All I know is that it’s 5pm now I have no clue of where to look. But I have an idea of who might be able to give me some answers.

Crazy Baby! Her actual name was Mrs. Bessi Desire. Rumor has it that she use to be the most attractive woman on the planet. Some old player had caught her attention one day. At the gym he pretended to be a doctor. What she didn’t know is that he was actually a pharmacist. A crooked one at that. He stole a special sample of an active component that had not yet been approved. Slipped it in her drink one day and she was never the same. But she was not completely brain damaged. She ran into a psychic who promised her she would one day know all. He knew of her troubles and the two agreed revenge would be just. Three days later. The two men were never seen again. As for Crazy Baby she remained in a tent near the woods which was 5 min away from the city if you were driving. But no one bothered to look for her. Anyone that ever did never returned the same.

Being as though I could barely believe any of this was happening. That was just the amount of “fuck it” that I needed to motivate Kiera and I. Lola was always prepared.

(Knock, knock)

The door swung open! Hey baby didn’t you here that I’m crazy. Right now I’m looking for dinner. You know dog is my favorite.

Excuse me Ms Crazy said Kiera

Come on in baby, sit down have a seat. A treat from you all really just sweeps me off my feet!

That not what we’re….

Oh honey take it easy don’t give me back no lip. Easy peezy, nice and breezy I’ll cook it straight to a crisp…

Ms Baby we need…

Baby you’re so crazy just simply say what you need. I have whatever you like because of what you done for me…

Excuse me! Enough please no more rhymes and you can’t have my dog. What can you tell us about the sacred heart? The whole town is in danger. She looked at me closely. An dropped to her knees and wept like everyone else. But suddenly she looked back up and asked, wasn’t she your mother? Kiera and I were astonished. Yes, how did you know? Because young man I’m you’re grandmother. The man who is seeking to destroy us was and still is your father. After your mother died your father became consumed by a familiar spirit. A year later he was never the same. He started to corrupt many… After my accident I disowned him and everyone connected to our family. But I keep a box wrapped in brown paper. I never looked inside but I know your father was always crazy about it. I became so angry with my son that I stole the box and stole a picture of you that was in your mothers Bible. I taped it to the box so that I would never forget you. Take this to him instead maybe he will end all this madness. Oh an yes you can keep Lola I’m having deer tonight. (Smile.)

So me Kiera and Lola went back with nothing more than what we had left with except a brown paper box and a picture of me as an infant. Just my luck. An it’s 1130 we ought to hurry. The mob was standing in the city by the time we got there. It was now 11:55. The Commander which I now know is my father yelled out, has the heart been located? No one answered. Kiera snatched the box from my hand and shoved it in his face saying hears your heart. The man looked at the box with my picture on it. Then he looked at us. Then he slowly open the box and pulled out a heart shape locket. He opened it and I heard my mothers lullaby…

“Love is love, my word is true. Through thick and then, just me and you…”

Immediately the man was obliviated and so were his followers. Vanishing up in smoke. For good. The only thing that was left behind was my picture, the heart shaped locket, and that brown paper box that was given to us by Crazy Baby. Or should I say my grandmother, Ms. Bessi Desire.

I guess she wasn’t so crazy after all.

The biggest lesson of it all. Even though it was never about my mothers actual heart. This was a perfect example of how the heart she had left a major impact on so many. She was definitely an angel. A blessing from above.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Chris Grace

I started off with everything and everybody that I cherished the most. Now all that I’m left with is nothing but hope. It was a game of spend the bottle until hearts were broke. Now all that I’m left with is nothing but hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.