Fiction logo

Tales Of A Tiny Decoy

Keeping It In The Family

By Misty RaePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
17
The decoy

I stood quietly beside him. I was young, about 4, but I understood the importance of our mission.

Daddy held his finger to his lips and squeezed my hand.

We waited. The excitement welled up inside my tiny body. Anticipation threatened to take me down. He tugged my arm.

It was only my second heist. Daddy said I had to be old enough to follow instructions.

The clock struck noon. Lunchtime was always the best time for stealing. People are busy munching, chatting. They're not watching anything but what's right in front of him.

We kept out of sight until Daddy let go of my arm and said, "Go!" He backed away from me, and I went forward.

I threw myself on the floor and wailed. The lady at the counter came running to me. She picked me up, made a fuss, hugged and squeezed me.

And Daddy went in and snatched up the loot. He's a big man, but he moves quick!

The Mastermind

The lady put me down and I ran back to see what we got.

A tomato sandwich, 2 slices of cheese, and some grapes.

By Eiliv Aceron on Unsplash

And Mommy hollered. She really, really hated it when we stole her lunch.

The mark....she forgave me years later

Microfictionfamily
17

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!!

  • So delightfully funny. What a wonderful family memory.

  • What a beautiful, wonderful, endearing story!!! I love it.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    That was SO cute!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Aw, I love this! The pictures are really wonderful as well :)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Haha. This is great.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Very well done, I love the way you ended it. And the pictures are a great touch.

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Such a 'Gorgeous' Daddy's Little Girl ~ Love it ~ You always seem to "Squeeze" out a smile in me! Jay

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Awwww this is so sweet! What a great memory and story 😁

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.