Fiction logo

Tales of a Cheese Bandit

What Was I Supposed To Do?

By Misty RaePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
12
Tales of a Cheese Bandit
Photo by Tara Clark on Unsplash

Times are tough. Inflation's rising. The rent's gone up twice. My pay's gone up once, by 25 cents. Yippee! I try not to spend it all in one place.

Hamburger's cheaper than lamb. Chicken? Forget about it, at $6 a pound, no chance.

It's 32 degrees in the shade, but I can't turn the a/c on. The power company's put the rates up by 33%.

Something's got to give!

There's no enjoyment anymore. Everyone's tense, scared, worried about their future. Worse, even, their present. Food or power, that's the choice. Food or gas. You pick. Tell me. Judge me when you're in my boat.

I went to No Frills. I wore tight yoga shorts and a form-fitting top. I carried my $600 Coach purse and a reusable bag, I'm still attractive enough to capture attention and to look credible. Middle-aged, accomplished, maybe a soccer mom, but hot, with a great ass.

I walked around, placing things in my bag. Striploin steaks, ground beef. $6.99 a pound for hamburger! Can you imagine? They're robbing us!

An onion and a tomato. Cheese slices.

I don't condone it, but I walked out, head held high.

What do you expect? People have to live.

Short Story
12

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Definitely a sign of the times. People are suffering, but the corporations seem to be doing quite well :(

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Remember, if you saw someone stealing food... you didn't. Great story 😁

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    I think we can all relate more than a little bit at the moment. The struggles won't last forever though. We just have to make it through right now. One day at a time.

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Well done! I definitely felt for this character.

  • J. R. Lowe11 months ago

    Yep, I felt this one 😅😂

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    I hope this reality will change , excellent story .

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great, and so on point. It's a sad reality for a lot of people.

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    It really is crazy! I felt this... to the core ... We will overcome!

  • You gotta do what you gotta do, good one

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.