Fiction logo

Table Chicken

a micro-fiction horror

By Rebekah ConardPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Table Chicken
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

It's a game so ancient, everyone knows how to play. When teacher leaves the room, we take turns crawling under the tables. Two kids pull the tables apart and the "it" kid sticks their fingers up through the gap. Everyone holds their breath in anticipation. You pull your fingers out at the last possible moment before your friends slam the tables back together. Sometimes there's an "ouch", but there's always laughter. Except for that one time, when the tables slammed and there was a loud crunch, but, strangely, no "ouch." And nobody laughed.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Rebekah Conard

31, She/Her, a big bi nerd

How do I write a bio that doesn't look like a dating profile? Anyway, my cat is my daughter, I crochet and cross stitch, and I can't ride a bike. Come take a peek in my brain-space, please and thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jayne Conard7 months ago

    I can see this in my mind. I had a 8th grade class that was up to many "games" when the teacher was out. Come to think of it, that's the year I learned what a swirly was.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Oh no!!! Left a ♥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.