Fiction logo

"Swimming"

Microfiction

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
Created by me using DALL-E

Standing at the edge of my current life, I stare into the shores of the unknown.

The water moves in gentle waves, threatening to tickle my toes.

I swallow the lump in my throat, butterflies cramping my stomach.

Should I stay? Walk in one step at a time? Or just dive in headfirst into the bright blue water?

I glance over my shoulder, seeing everything I'd be leaving behind if I chose to move forward.

Yes, I would miss them. I would hold that old life in a happy nostalgia.

But I can't live that life anymore. It no longer serves me.

I turn back to the vast, colorful horizon with its lapping waters. I smile as every fiber of my being calls me to move forward.

I am ready.

I take that first step.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.