Fiction logo

Superbowl LVI Party with the Astrology Signs

What happens when you bring all of the astrology signs together?

By Jocelyn Joy ThomasPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Photo by Dave Adamson on Unsplash

Aries was a big sports fan, and to celebrate his favorite day of the year, Superbowl Sunday, he invited 11 of his closest friends to his house for a Superbowl party. He cleaned his living room, laid out a spread of chips and dip, and was just setting out paper plates and napkins when the doorbell rang.

“Here we go, Brady.” He said to his cat, who made a dash under the couch when he heard the door open.

It was Virgo, she smiled slightly at Aries and handed him a bag, “You said to bring something.”

“Oh thank you, apple juice, beverages are always welcome, thank you, Virgo.”

She stepped inside, looking around, “Why am I always the first to arrive?”

Aries went into the kitchen not hearing her. He came back out, looking nervous and excited at once.

“Have a seat.” They sat down on the couch in unison.

“So,” Aries said after a long and slightly awkward silence, “Which team do you like?”

“I don’t watch football, but I like the Superbowl because of the commercials.”

Aries nodded rapidly, “That’s a good part of it.”

The doorbell rang again, “Be right back.” Aries jumped up and got the door, happy to have another person arrive.

He opened the door to see Capricorn, she had brought her dog, Lucy, they both wore 49ers jerseys.

“Cap, Lucy, welcome! Come in, uh, Brady is hiding so Lucy will be fine.”

The last time Capricorn and Lucy came to visit Brady had hissed at them.

“Lucy is good with cats,” Cap said as she did the last time.

“Too bad Brady isn’t great with dogs.” Aries nodded his eyes looking crazy with excitement.

“You ready to watch the game? The hype is on already.” Aries said as Cap handed him a two-liter of soda.

“Thanks!”

“I’m ready but I’m still sad my boy Jimmy G didn’t make it to the Superbowl.”

“Niners are a good team, they will come back strong next year.”

Cap sat down on the couch, Virgo wasn’t thrilled with this and moved over to a Papasan chair, easing herself into it carefully.

“You didn’t have to move Virgo.”

“I’m fine over here.” She said as she worked to balance herself.

“Can I get you guys something to drink? Apple juice, beer, or soda?” He held up the two-liter Cap brought.

“I’m good for now,” Virgo said.

“Me too.”

Aries smiled at them and left for the kitchen.

“He seems anxious,” Virgo said.

“He always gets that way when he entertains.” Capricorn said, “Lucy lay down.” Lucy sniffed under the couch; Brady responded in a low warning growl.

“That poor cat.” Virgo, who was fond of cats, said.

“Lucy isn’t doing anything, she’s only curious.” Cap defended.

Leo walked in without knocking, “Hey everyone! Happy Super Sunday!” He brightly said. He shrugged his coat exposing a Bengals jersey.

“Hi, Leo.” Cap and Virgo chimed together. Lucy gave a woof.

“I brought the dopest spread, check this out.” He held out a large platter of cheese, crackers, celery, carrots, dip, and fruit.

“Wow, that looks great Leo,” Cap said.

Virgo craned her neck to see unable to move much in the unsteady Papasan chair. Leo noticed and showed it to her.

“That looks really healthy, good job Leo. We have to make sure we don’t leave the dairy items out too long though.”

“Nah, it’ll be fine for a few hours, kick-off is soon. Cap help make some room on the coffee table.”

Aries heard voices and returned, “Leo, hey man what’s up?”

“I am ready for some football, check this out.”

Aries saw the spread, “What? That is awesome, that’s the best Superbowl platter ever! Thanks so much.”

“Not a problem, I love this day.”

Aries’ phone rang, he looked at the screen, “It’s Gemini, hello?”

“Aries, I’m at the store, what do you need?” Gemini asked.

“What do I need?”

“Yes, what do you need, for the party?”

“Oh, right, I don’t need any snacks. Maybe some more drinks.”

As Aries talked to Gemini, Taurus walked in, she wore a Bengals t-shirt.

“Hello? The door was open so I came in.” Taurus was holding a large pizza box.

“I must have left it open, you brought pizza? I brought a huge spread.” Leo said hoping Taurus’s pizza wasn’t more popular. He thought she would make a green bean casserole as she did on thanksgiving, easy to outdo.

“You did? We should have talked and compared ideas, but there’s a lot of us and I only brought one extra-large.” She set the box down.

Capricorn immediately lifted the box to see what kind of pizza, half pepperoni, half veggie.

“That looks good,” Cap said, Lucy sniffed at the box.

“Lucy, no.”

Leo sat down on a chair feeling a little out of sorts.

Aries opened the front door thinking he heard a soft knock, it was Cancer standing there with a large plastic container. He was still on the phone with Gemini.

“Hi Cancer, welcome, take a seat. Gemini get some water, like a big two-gallon you know how Libra and Aquarius love to drink lots of water.”

“Hi Cancer, what do you have there?” Leo asked.

Cancer looked at the crowded coffee table, “I baked a cake.” She said, “In the shape of a football.”

“Really?” Virgo asked impressed.

Cancer carefully lifted the lid to the container, showing an expertly frosted cake, with white lace, and brown frosting.

“Beautiful,” Leo said.

“I’ll go put it in the kitchen for now.”

“There should be room on the table,” Taurus said moving over the large chip bowl.

“Do you think so?” Cancer fussed.

“Can we turn the sound up? ” Cap asked no one in particular, “I can’t find the remote.” She got up to look, as she did Lucy walked to the back of the couch to sniff out Brady some more.

The doorbell rang, Aries was already standing near the door, he leaned over and got it, still on the phone with Gemini.

Scorpio walked in wearing a tight-fitting Rams jersey, she was originally from L.A. and jeans. She held a case of Heineken beer.

“Nice.” Aries said smiling at the case of beer, “I was worried I didn’t have enough beer.”

“There is never enough beer at a Superbowl Party,” Scorpio said handing him the case.

“Gemini just get whatever and come over, I have to go it’s almost kickoff!”Aries yelled into the phone.

Scorpio sat on the couch next to Taurus, saying hello to everyone.

“Nice jersey,” Taurus said to her.

“Thanks, I like your t-shirt, I didn’t know you were a Bengals fan.”

“Baseball is more my sport, but I thought I’d get into the spirit.”

“Why not pick LA? It's closer to home.”

“Because they are our rivals,” Cap said as she looked under Virgo’s Papasan for the remote.

“Be careful under there, this chair isn’t very stable,” Virgo warned.

“It’s fine,” Cap said.

“Oh, I love this commercial, the one with the cat that acts like a dog?” Leo pointed at the tv.

“It is funny,” Taurus said.

“I never saw it.” Scorpio glanced at it, “this is quite a spread Aries”

“I brought the platter,” Leo said proudly.

Cancer stood uncertainly, Scorpio saw, “Honey come sit down, there’s room on the couch we won't bite.”

“I was just wondering if I should get some more napkins, for the cake.”

“Guys have some pizza before it gets cold. I brought extra napkins.” Taurus held up a roll of paper towels.

There was a rapid knocking on the door, Aries opened it, he was still on the phone with Gemini, who was driving over now.

It was Aquarius and Libra.

“We’re here!” Libra said holding out his arms.

“We brought pretzels,” Aquarius held up a bag.

“I wanted to bring cheese cubes but Aquarius said you probably have those already, do you?” Libra asked looking over at the table.

“I bought over a whole platter,” Leo said.

“Nice, it all looks so pretty.” Libra reached in for the cheese cubes.

“Gem, I’m going to hang up, the game’s about to start, the door is unlocked come right in.” Aries hung up and shook his head, “Man can he talk.”

“Does anyone see where the remote is?” Capricorn asked walking around the Papasan now.

“No, it’s on the right channel,” Taurus said.

The doorbell rang several times in a row.

“Come in!” Leo yelled toward the door.

Sagittarius entered, “I’m here!” He was decked out in Rams gear, jersey, hat, foam finger.

“I brought chips and salsa, the chips are blue and yellow.”

Pisces slipped in past him.

“Hey Sag.” She said casually.

“Why aren’t you dressed in team colors?” Sagittarius looked around the room, “Come on guys this is the Superbowl, I don’t even know who most of you are rooting for.”

Aries high five-ed Sagittarius, “Nice threads man.”

“Thank you, oh pizza.”

Leo frowned, everyone was noticing Taurus’s pizza and not his spread.

“We almost didn’t even make it, Libra couldn’t decide if we should come or not.” Aquarius volunteered.

Libra gave him a look but then smiled, “I’m not a huge football fan, but I liked the idea of being with you guys. I hope we can do this again for the World Series.”

“Shhh, kick-off!” Aries said loudly.

Gemini breezed in a few minutes later holding a large container of water.

“I thought I knew the directions to your house Aries but I guess I took a wrong turn.”

“I found it!” Cap triumphantly held up the remote, as she did so, Lucy spotted Brady’s tail sticking out from under the couch, she pawed at it curiously.

This caused Brady to dash out and spring across Virgo in the Papasan chair. The chair rocked wildly and tipped over, as Virgo fell she put her hand out to catch herself and hit the edge of the container Cancer’s cake was in sending the football cake up in the air.

It flew across the room landing on Scorpio, she threw it off, it flew up in the air once more and landed on Capricorn’s head.

“My cake! No, let me help you clean that up.” Cancer ran to the kitchen.

Everyone else grabbed napkins

“Here use my paper towels,” Taurus thrust the roll in front of Scorpio.

“Is this chocolate? Lucy can’t eat chocolate!” Cap scooped up as much of the cake as she could.

“I’ll get Lucy and take her outside.” Sag jumped up and led Lucy out.

Aries had gone after Brady.

“We’re going to have to wash that out of your shirt Scorpio.” Cancer said worriedly.

“You guys are a hot mess.” Gemini set the water down and watched his friends, hand on his hip.

After cleaning up, they finally settled in to watch the game.

Humor
Like

About the Creator

Jocelyn Joy Thomas

Writer, spiritual teacher, and travel enthusiast. Enjoying the journey! Join my mailing list and receive a free guide on How to Meet Your Guides in Three Steps!

https://joysnewsletter.weebly.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.