Fiction logo

Sugar

Snow Micro

By LC MinnitiPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
6
Sugar
Photo by Ravi Pinisetti on Unsplash

There’s a switch, at the edge of consciousness, that flicks on when one crosses it, like a lightbulb, or a bomb. A blinding whiteness of nothing.

All of a sudden I feel hot, so very hot, and I start peeling off my coat. Wait, don’t. That’s not right. A distant voice. Is it mine? I frown at the white specks falling all around me. They come in waves, downwards and sideways, like a school of fish in the ocean. They seem soft and fluffy and I smile. Powdered sugar. It looks like powdered sugar.

“Tess.”

A hand tightens around mine. Funny how I didn’t notice it before. Come to think of it, I can’t feel my hands, nor my feet, for that matter. Am I laying down? The world seems a bit sideways. But it is hard to tell with all the sugar.

“I love you, Tess.”

Richard. Where is Richard? The distant voice again.

I think I hear music. Richard loves music. He used to play the cello. I listen to the soft hum of Le Cygne by Saint-Saens. Notes rise and fall with my breathing, like a metronome.

I feel ice-cold lips on my forehead, a full body hug.

“Richard?” I whisper.

“I’m here, darling.” Richard. He holds me tighter and I sigh, content.

I cuddle into my husband’s embrace and I sleep with a smile on my face, listening to the slowing thrum of his heartbeat. I close my eyes. I cannot keep them open any longer.

LoveShort StoryMicrofiction
6

About the Creator

LC Minniti

Horror and Thriller writer in progress. Voracious reader. Lover of the dark, weird, and nerdy. Also coffee, I love coffee. And mugs.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Karen Cave3 months ago

    Love this. Evokes emotion. Could I once again narrate please?

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Noooooo hypothermia!! You always said it could be the best way if someone were at end of life and wanted to go. Just drift off into a cold sleep (of course there would be discomfort first). Very well done!

  • This was so poignant and it tugged on my heartstrings. Loved your story!

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Oof. Once again you have surprised my expectations! I thought it would be so much darker but this is heartbreaking in its purity. You did a wonderful job on this entry, LC. 💗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.