Fiction logo

Subsistent Lies

Chapter 22: Zaria

By Kimmie HitePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

It was officially announced that court season had arrived and all of us were trying to busy ourselves with what could be done. Today was going to be the day that we were going to announce ourselves to any suitors who would take our hand and find which one would be to our pleasing. I sighed as I woke up and looked around my chamber. I still thought of the possibility of running away, maybe out of Anevia into Vespar. Then what? I knew that there was not much work for a girl of my age. There was the handsome Ambassador, Gabriel Giovanni, who did say that if it came down to it he would rightfully take me in. I sighed as I got out of bed. Even if it did come to that, I knew I couldn’t leave my sisters, alone with my mother. I went to the hearth and rekindled the fire as Isabella ran into the room. “Hurry sister, we leave in minutes now.”

I turned to my bright eyed sister and raised a brow. She was smiling and she looked radiant in her silky blue dress. “What is it that got you in such a happy mood? Could it be Sir Darius? Are you still relishing in last nights dance?” I teased her because all last night she was with Darius on the dance floor. Once he had retreated she only kept to herself, still basking in the dance I’m sure.

She blushed and shook her head. “I will tell mother to wait for you.”

I nodded and as she turned I yelled, “And send a maid. I may need help with my dress.”

When a maid finally did arrive, she helped me get into a blue green dress. Mother got it for me to bring out my eyes and of course, snag the heart of a nobleman. I sighed as I checked myself once last time, and lifting my skirts headed for the courtyard. Once I got there I saw that Gabriella wasn‘t present, probably taking her sweet time so she wouldn‘t have to face the inevitable so soon. I scanned the yard more and saw that Isabella was standing with mother, still wearing the smile she had when she entered my room. I started to head for the carriage as a large figure blocked my path. “Running from me so soon, my sweet.”

I looked up into the familiar gray eyes and stuck my chin in the air, pushing past him. Calib sighed as he grabbed a hold of me. “Your sisters told me you were angered at me. Is it because of yesterday? I tried all I could but Darius is a fine knight and…”

“Not only do you dishonor yourself but you try to win me over with your lies?!” I mumbled this as I narrowed my eyes and looked at him.

He sighed. “You did see then?”

“Saw that you made a pusillanimous move. How could you? You speak to me of your love and you dishonor the both of us with that cowardly move.”

“Zaria…”

“Now if you would please unhand me, kind sir, so that I may join my mother and sister.”

He gave me one last look and released me. I turned around and headed toward Isabella and Mother. “What was that about?” Mother asked as we stepped into the carriage.

“Tis nothing mother. Calib has annoyed me is all.”

“Ah. You are ready then, for today’s courting?”

I sighed at the thought but nodded. “Aye mother, I am.”

We waited for Gabriella and finally we were headed for the King’s castle again.

Once we arrived there many ladies of court were there in their best. I sighed and craned my neck at the sight. “Can you believe? All the fine ladies of court in their finest.” Isabella was marveling at the colors surrounding us.

“More like the hussies trying to take what little we do have.” Gabriella mumbled. I heard her and laughed.

“I agree. Especially the hussy who tries to win the Captain of the Guards heart…” I winked toward Gabby who only laughed.

“Please do not speak of her. She upsets me as it is.” Isabella mumbled as I laughed.

“I only jest sister.”

“Your jokes are not funny.” She mumbled as we walked into the court.

If Isabella thought the outside of court looked nice, the inside was even more glamorous. Every color of every lord was hung about. There were more people here than there were at tournament. The King and his Queen sat in the middle of all this commotion. I gasped as mother led us to our seat, a place where most of the commoners sat at. “All of this for us?” Isabella whispered after she got over her shock.

I smiled and looked toward her. “More for the others just like us.”

“Oh.” Was all Isabella could say.

I looked toward the King and hoped to spot Gabriel. I did and saw that he was talking lowly to the King, with a goblet of wine in his hands. “And who is this you marvel at?” Gabriella whispered in my ear.

“No one.” I whispered back but knew that I blushed.

“No one eh?”

“No.” I looked toward Gabriel again and saw that he frowned. I sighed.

“Are you gazing at your Gabriel?”

I turned toward Gabriella and shook my head. “Why would I look upon a man like him?”

Gabriella shrugged. “He is handsome I guess. He’s a bit rude for my taste but then again, you do like the odd kind.”

I sighed and shook my head. “What do you know of my likes and dislikes?”

“Calib?”

“No,” I said, shaking my head. “He angers me.”

“Oh.” Gabriella said as the proceedings began.

It seemed to move along fast, but then again I wasn’t really paying attention to all that went on around me, including the men that offered for my hand. Then I frowned. There was one in particular that did get to me. Calib had asked for my hand and I didn’t know whether to slap him or down right kick him where I knew it would hurt. I did the polite thing but I knew that our outing would not go as smoothly as he may plan it to be. Mother had disappeared with Lady Jocelyn and left Gabriella, Izzy, and I to fend for ourselves for the while. I watched as many left to go to their castle quarters when a familiar voice said, “My lady,” I turned at the man who was now bowing and kissing my hand. “Your beauty hinders me every time we meet.”

I blushed and smiled as he straightened. “Thank you my lord, I mean, Gabriel.”

He offered his arm and smiled, “May I please have a walk with my lady?”

I looked toward Gabriella and Isabella who were both giving me sly smiles. Gabriella winked and Isabella nodded. “I do believe you may, my lord.”

He walked us away from the commotion inside the castle and asked, “Are you pleased at all those who present themselves to you?”

I sighed and shook my head. “No.”

“No?”

“They are all of high rank but…” I started to drift and he looked down at me.

“But?”

“They only see the beauty of me. They truly wish to have someone to please them in bed instead of someone to share their love with.” I tried to hide my frown at the thought, and instead smiled.

“You are smart to know what men want from you.”

“Aye. Someone to please them in bed, and after that heirs.”

“And you do not wish for that.”

“I’ve been a mother to my sisters all of my life. I don’t want to be another mother for my own children. And as far as loving someone to sleep with…” I drifted off and he walked me to a nearby bench. We sat and finally I looked toward him. “Why are you really here? I know they say you are here on your King’s errand but…” I drifted and turned the other way. “Are you really here to capture Calib and Colin?” I whispered after a while.

He sighed and reached for my hand. “It wasn’t my reason the first time I arrived here. But yes, I do look to capture the two of them.”

“They are good men. They’ve done so much for us…despite what you may have heard.”

“I believe you. Beauty like your mother and sisters needs to be tended to, but….”

I shook my head and turned to him. “Please don’t do anything that harms them. There all me and my sisters have…” I drifted off and looked down at my skirt. “I don’t know what I’d do without Calib. He’s helped me through so much and then…” I balled up my fist just thinking of what games he was playing with me.

“You express your love in the weirdest of ways.” Gabriel laughed, watching the way I balled my fist in his hands.

“He just does things that upset me.”

“Aye. You’ve know him long.”

“Like I said before, since I was a babe.”

“And he’s always protected you.”

“He’s done what I’ve allowed him to do.”

He sighed and shook his head. “Your kind Calib is not the Calib I know of.”

“And what is your Calib like?”

“He’s…” He drifted off and shook his head. “No matter. Are you really going to accept his offer.”

I frowned and shook my head. “I don’t know. I don’t know if I could spend the rest of my life loving him when I can barely spend a minute in the same room as him.”

He laughed and took my hand. “If only you could travel to Vespar. Then you wouldn’t have to worry about Calib, or anyone for that matter.”

I smiled at him. “I was thinking of that this morn. I could go to Vespar with you and…” I released my hands from his. “Then what? What could I possibly do? Mother is right. Maybe marriage is the only thing that I have for me.”

I turned toward Gabriel and he gently touched my face. “Nay my love, there is much someone of your beauty can do.”

I smiled as I brought my hand to his. “My love?” I asked confused.

He blinked at me before standing up. “We should walk back to your sisters.”

I sighed and looked down at my dress. “Aye, we should.”

I grabbed his arm as we walked back to the castle in silence. “I did not mean to be so abrupt it’s just back there I…” He turned and touched my face. “I have a duty to do. I can’t disgrace my King.”

I nodded my head as well. “Aye, and I can not disgrace my family.”

“I hope to speak to you more. Do you return to your house or will you be staying at the castle?”

“I’m to be staying at the castle until my betrothal.”

He smiled and brought his other hand to my cheek. “Then I will seek you whenever I am free. I will want to know all about the ones who call for your hand.”

I smiled and touched his arm. “I’ll be sure to tell you.”

He smiled at me once more before turning around and walking away. I sighed and then shook my head furiously. I didn’t have the time to fall for Gabriel Giovanni, no matter how sweet or good looking he was. Still…my gaze lingered in the direction he walked in. I then shook my head and started to look for my sisters.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Kimmie Hite

Born in the Philippines as a military brat I grew up as a kid exposed to all walks of life and cultures. Currently, working on releasing self published book while living with lupus nephritis as a single mother waiting for transplant

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.