Fiction logo

Stranded in the streets of Guangzhou

Memory

By DanilBosPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

Returning to Guangzhou from Ningyuan, the Guangzhou home was a mess.

During the twenty days away from Guangzhou, the wife said a lot in WeChat, her nose was bleeding, her head was splitting, and her whole body was going to explode. There is only one reason for this, because Dongchu is too ignorant. He forgot to bring his meal card and was hungry for a whole day. Forgetting to bring a water cup, he used both hands to catch water to drink, a whole day. Twice sneaked back from school, just to play the game he did not finish. Mrs.'s anger can make the earth burn several times, I am also angry, but in WeChat, I only replied with four words: you have worked hard. Mrs. straightforward character, like the poplar tree in her Yimeng hometown, rather than bend. She has many work tasks and part-time social jobs, so she is busy and hardworking every day and hardly ever goes home. The rebelliousness of Dongchu made her unbelievable, and she couldn't help but add fuel to the fire. I reassured her that Dongchu had just started boarding and there was a period of adjustment, and that she would be fine once she got used to it. She calmed down and expected Dongchu to calm down and be a good, obedient child.

My father spent 31 days in a combined Chinese and Western medicine hospital under Yue Lu Mountain in Changsha because his rectal cancer cells had metastasized to his lungs and thoracic spine. He was originally thought to be at an advanced stage, with no cure, and made post-mortem arrangements. Yuexiang and I are not too willing, one is my father began farming when he was twelve years old, in the production team to earn wages, to support the family, hard work all his life, to life and death, do not go to fight, we do not feel at ease, also do not feel at ease. One is the advanced medical science, not to say that the treatment is cured, at least control the development of the disease, live a few more days, is possible. What my father did not expect was that it would take so long to do the interventional treatment. It's not that he couldn't afford it, he was already at the mercy of God, but he was worried about my mother. My mother is alone in Dongganjia, she has severe lumbar strain, hypertension, rheumatism ...... I don't know how many kinds of diseases she has, she has to grow vegetables, feed the chickens, and now she is worried about my father's life and death - she also thinks my father is incurable But she doesn't want him to die in the hospital, she thinks that's a very painful thing. After my father's condition was somewhat under control, it was immediately the Mid-Autumn Festival. Thinking of my mother alone for the Mid-Autumn Festival, my heart was desolate, so I discussed with my father and Yuexiang, I went back to Dongganjia to spend the Mid-Autumn Festival with her elderly, and then returned to Guangzhou to keep an eye on Dongchu's studies and life.

Over the years, nothing has changed in Dongganjia. The house has been renewed, and the iron doors that are closed one by one make it impossible to guess whether there are people living in the house or not. It is a tradition for Ningyuan people to eat zongzi at the Mid-Autumn Festival. In those days, on the cereal pads, piles and piles of straw were burned, and people burned ash to get alkali to enrich the taste of zongzi. Now, the cemented cereal pads are empty and silent except for the white moonlight. I walked a few hundred meters along the newly rebuilt country road, and I didn't meet a single person on the way. Under the solar-powered street lights, I didn't even see a dog. Only a yellow light cascaded from the gate of Uncle Qing's house, and I walked straight in. This my childhood, teenage cattle ranching partner, when the kitchen is yellow color light mix fried blood duck, see me, very surprised, as if I emerged from the wind, surprised to look at me, I looked at him, he put down the spatula pulled me, said tonight must get a few cups, so many years, have not had the opportunity to get a few cups. The words are a bit blaming me, more than anything else, he is blaming himself. He said he built a house for several years, you have not come to my house to drink. Think about it, it is, Uncle Qing built a new house, I came home to his house in front of the hustle and bustle, smoking, talking about the year, lamenting the social changes, but really did not eat and drink at his house. I verbally promised him, said I wandered around a bit, I folded back to drink. Uncle Qing said you must come and try my fried blood duck. I want to refuse in my heart, after all, it is a holiday, I can not disturb the reunion of his family.

At night, the East Dryfoot, in fact, more cold, silent and mysterious than the East Dryfoot during the day. Unlike in the past, there are street lamps on the roadside, illuminated by lights, to see the road clearly, not to be frightened, and not to imagine and guess the various movements in the woods along the road. The only thing that has benefited from all these years of development is the mountains and the only thing that has been damaged is the fields. The laborers' going out gave the mountain ranges a respite, and the trees planted, without being damaged by human and animal power, were repaired and looked, more plump and deep. The laborers who went out brought back income, more money, restlessness, and built houses in the fields. Looking at a building growing in the fields, it was like a good memory being poked out of a hole one by one, powerless to change, so I had to sigh. In addition to sighing, I really do not know what I can do to change the concept of the folks. The development is hard, the reason is shallow, the planning is backward, the heart is unpredictable, the key is still in the heart. The full moon in the sky, estimated to have seen the vicissitudes of the world countless times, the moonlight, still painted the night with a soft nostalgic haze of bright colors.

I turned back alone, Uncle Qing was still waiting for me in the middle of the road. I think I spent at least half an hour on the road, they are already eating. Uncle Qing did not rush me, welcome me, said hurry up, blood duck to eat while it is hot to taste. I could not refuse this kindness, looking at his white hair - this only three or four years older than my partner, who ran away to Zhuhai SAR at a young age to make a living, and now life has worn away his sharpness, branded with age, willingly guarding the Donggan feet of an acre of land, the family and the beauty of guarding this a dull life. The family lived a peaceful life. Uncle Qing's house has been built for four or five years, and now still not engaged in internal decoration, exposed red brick walls, exposed cement floor, rough and simple, or just built a rough house model. I couldn't bear to ask him why, I know he has three children, feed three children, send three children to school to study, his hands are not enough. He picked a piece of duck breast for me, and then asked me directly if I knew how old the youngest person in Donggan Foot was. I couldn't answer. I didn't know who else was left in the village. Uncle Qing answered himself and said that the oldest person in the village was already fifty-two years old. He also asked me, "What if there is something wrong with someone's family in Dongganjia and they need manpower? I could not answer. Uncle Qing asked himself again and answered I am worried. At the table, Uncle Qing has been talking, I have been listening to him talk. He is one of the youngest people in the East Dryfoot, his loneliness, should not be less than the stray me.

The afternoon after the Mid-Autumn Festival, I returned to Guangzhou. When I got home, Dongchu was not at home, and my wife said he had gone to a classmate's house. I called him many times, but he refused to answer. My wife said you should take care of him. I said yes. After a short break, I wanted to go to the office. I stood in the living room and looked at the balcony. The golden sunlight was like paint on the wall stacks of OCBC New Town, a message that the sun was setting in the west and the sun was going to be late. Should I go out? I hesitated for a moment. Finally I put on my computer bag and decided to go out to see the company. I had been away from Guangzhou for almost two weeks, and time had already made me feel a bit detached from Guangzhou, so I should blend in as soon as possible and catch up with the old rhythm. When I walked out of the gate of Huiqiao New Town, the pale yellow sunlight covered the street like autumn grass, the young people on the road marched like machinery, and the feeling of desolation swept over me like autumn water. These people from the four corners of the world, these people from foreign lands, these sunlight straying in the streets of Guangzhou, adding color to this cosmopolitan city, whether they have forgotten the growing darkness and coldness of their hometown in the distance? Perhaps, they have been struggling.

In fact, this question does not need an answer. Our generation is the moth that goes to the fire, and will eventually become the fuel for the fire. Whether in our hometown or in another country, as long as we are in this land, we have only one choice, to live. Nowadays, the consideration is not only to live, but also to consider more, to expand the space for survival, to improve the quality of life, to pursue, to fight for life, to a glory that can illuminate a lifetime. We are stranded here because our hometown has lost its ability to bind us, and we are projected like sunlight by our hometown, with the responsibility and commitment of people belonging to our generation. We are the humble walkers of this city, but we are also the proud children of our hometown, she banished us and gave us the freedom of choice, we chose the competition of the city, and there is no shortage of warmth in the heart of our hometown. We have chosen such a life, no matter how much remorse there is to erase, just like the autumn wind wiping away the wisps of clouds in the sky, so that the sun spread on the earth.

family
Like

About the Creator

DanilBos

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.