Fiction logo

Story Of My Life

How my gay parents disowned me after they found out that I was into girls

By OK JavierPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Story Of My Life
Photo by alli yousfi on Unsplash

It was a beautiful day when it happened. I was home from college for the summer, catching up with my parents over breakfast, when it all came out. I had been having some strange feelings lately, feelings that I had always assumed were just a passing phase. But as I talked to my parents that morning, I started to realize that maybe these feelings were more than that.

I hesitated for a moment, unsure if I should say anything. But then I took a deep breath and blurted it out. Dads, I think I might be straight."

There was a long pause. My parents looked at me with blank expressions, as if they couldn't quite believe what they'd heard.

Finally, one of my dads spoke up. "What do you mean, honey? You're just playing a joke, right?"

I shook my head, feeling tears pricking at the corners of my eyes. "No, Dad. I'm serious. I'm attracted to women."

I watched as my parents' faces changed from confusion to shock. My Dad suddenly looked like he was about to cry, and my other dad just stared at me, silent.

For a few moments, nobody said anything. I could feel the tension in the air, thick and heavy.

And then, my parents told me that they couldn't accept me. They couldn't accept the fact that I was straight. They said that they'd always thought of me as their son, but now they didn't know who I was anymore.

It was the most painful thing I'd ever experienced. My parents, who I'd always thought loved me unconditionally, were now rejecting me because of who I loved.

Over the next few days, my parents barely spoke to me. They had disowned me, and I was left feeling alone and rejected. I tried to reach out to them, to explain that I was still the same person I'd always been, but it was no use. They refused to see me, refused to even acknowledge that I existed.

It was a difficult time, but eventually, I learned to accept that my parents might never come around. I knew that I couldn't change who I was, and I couldn't force them to accept me.

my relationship with my parents is still strained. But I've found a community of people who accept me for who I am, and I've learned to be proud of myself, even if my own parents can't be.

Despite the pain and rejection I experienced from my parents, coming out as straight also brought a sense of freedom and authenticity to my life. For the first time, I was able to embrace my true identity and live my life on my own terms.

I started to explore my attraction to women and found joy in forming new relationships. I also found strength in being able to share my story with others and help them feel less alone in their own struggles with acceptance.

I still hope that one day my parents will come around, but I'ving learned to focus on the love and acceptance I receive from others. Coming out was a difficult journey, but it also brought me closer to my true self and ultimately made me a more compassionate and understanding person.

So many things i want to share with them, even after everything they`ve done to me, i still love them and i still want them in my life, but right now, I just to focus on my life and get better in anything am doing, what really scared me is i dont want to be like my dads, i want to be able to love my kids no matter what.

Fan FictionShort StoryFantasyfamily
2

About the Creator

OK Javier

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.