Fiction logo

Stolen Stories

A micro fiction

By Obsidian WordsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Science Photo Library

Night is a thief. Most of my stories are born at that point where I've settled in to sleep but I'm too awake to submit to it. My body’s heavy but my mind is freed from the weight of it, to wander.

Stories dance behind my skull, fleeting. I know they will escape to the place of forgotten things if I don’t write them down. But moving is such a task.

I am most vividly full of thoughts and equally incapable of capturing them in that twilight between wakefulness and dreaming. There is always the same debate; if sleep or catching the story is more important.

I am the thief this time, night will not take this tale from me but rather I will snatch it from the maw of the void where wayward ideas fade into the past.

This time I chose to shuck the pull of slumber. To wrestle free of my comforter and subject myself to the chill of evening air to claim these words as mine. This time I choose the story and I write about the very conundrum I am in.

I am uncertain I will ever know if the price is worth the victory.

Microfiction
3

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    Alas, you have won the battle, my friend. Wonderful work!

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    GREAT WORK YOU HAVE ALOT OF TALENT!!! KEEP THEM COMING💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.