Fiction logo

Stealing Power

Stealing money was good and fine. Stealing power though, that's where it was at.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
12
Stealing Power
Photo by Dannie Jing on Unsplash

Stealing money was good and fine. Stealing power though, that's where it was at.

Why did the owner of The Drill Museum get whatever he wanted? Power. Power through threat. Threat... from secrets. Secrets of politicians in the form of proof... hidden... keeping governors and senators and congressmen in his pocket.

We busted in, Perez looped the security feed. Davis and McCarthy strolled in with extra rope. Guess those guards were easier to tie up than we predicted.

We were off to steal paintings. They still didn't understand the deal. Why didn't I want money? Why was I allowing them to fence the majority of the paintings and keep the cash?

"Because I only want one." I told them.

"The 18th most expensive one." Davis retorted.

"It's not about the money." Was all I divulged.

"I guess he's a collector." McCarthy scoffed.

Paintings lifted. The crew and I were quick. No deviating from the plan. Paintings in the van. Tires peeled out on pavement. The white van a ghost in the night... burnt by the docks...

They fenced the art and made a fortune. I kept my painting. Taped to the back... compromising photographs of every politician that you knew.

Microfiction
12

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    I liked the ending. Made me laugh

  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    I am really enjoying Microfiction and this had it all. Greed, corruption, power, politics and the heist (plus the one kept with the compromising hidden.) A very clever plot indeed and the twist! ‘Tires peeled out on pavement. The white van a ghost in the night... burnt by the docks...’ Wow Stephen!! Pauline 🌸

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh, this gave me chills. I think life is stranger than fiction, and you tapped into something that happens. I have no way to confirm this, but I have the suspicion that “people in power” aren’t in power, because those we don’t even know about control them. They use blackmail to pull their strings. And their desperation for money and fame was likely how they got into the predicament of being controlled. To me, no amount of money could be worth that. Very spooky and imaginative story, Stephen. I loved “The white van a ghost in the night... burnt by the docks...”

  • And how will you use this stolen power? That's the rub.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Hey, Great pacing for a micro. Loved the ending as well! 😊

  • Heather Zieffle 11 months ago

    Great story! Loved it!

  • Excellent story and loved the finish

  • That is like the best leverage ever! This was a very creative take on the challenge!

  • ARC11 months ago

    Solid. So solid. And dayum that finish was satisfying. Well-played 👏

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    This has so much truth! Power is so much more valuable than money. If you have power, you’ll always have money. But money doesn’t always grant you power. Well done. Unique twist. I did an entry to this challenge too. You should check it out. 🥰 https://vocal.media/fiction/into-the-heist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.