Fiction logo

Spark

Igniting the World

By KaylinPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley. Whilst the Northern Lights and Oracles before my time tell a different story, ancient records depict our communion with them and their abilities to surpass the revelations of incoming shifts. The massive frequency changing in our tides was announced as The Great Mutation. Those of us born with the mutation have been able to see and speak with the dragons our whole lives. Others are born blinded by the fabric of film covering them invisibly, unaware of the mystical creatures all around.

In the beginning, it appeared that dragons would come and go sporadically. Never revealing their pattern or purpose for materializing. They wore rushing waters from the river for disguise, creating a slipstream that allowed them to reach wherever they were going and at any given moment, ascend out of the water like clouds floating in the sky. Algae from the river would drape from their bodies and their skin would glisten opalescent white light, it was a magnificent sight. Traveling quietly in pairs of two or packs of five, with synchronized movements that braided weightlessness through the air. We knew so little about them. So it was 11 years and 14 days ago.

The world I knew as a child is different for me now, in ways that it is not different for others. We met the explosions of change with tremendous grief as the edges of my planet caved in on themselves, orchestrating a rift of mysterious possibilities. Lithospheric plates transformed everything we knew our planet to be. It was brilliantly destructive and required all our strength to gather the remnants of our livelihood. Thirteen star-crests fell into our lives through parallel realities. More portals into unknown variables reached our surfaces. Vortexes opened faster than wildfires could breathe. Cliffs shattered into more than a trillion grains of sand.

“A trillion grains of sand.” The thought echoes through me, “If one grain of sand is composed of 43 quintillion atoms, then there are more than a zillion atoms accessible for me to play with. Yet, what happens to the atoms of a body when the spirit is lifted from its pores, from its atoms? Does the spirit dissipate and consciousness pervade? Have the atoms of my parents bodies returned to the air and earth? Does that mean I can still play with them, somehow?”

My heart wrenches, reminding me not of heartbreak, but of confusion between what my heart can see and what my mind cannot. Pressure of the tears in my eyes builds, starting to crumble the wall of the damn holding them back and tears flood my eyes. I notice my lungs collapse, I try to breathe. Jubilee has been laying next to me this entire time, she lifts her head to me and looks into my eyes. Her gaze has the warmth of sunshine that melts me faster than my thoughts can move. I surrender and the space of my heart relaxes, my energy expands.

During the first moments pending the destruction, people wore fear on their faces like wild wolves out to defend. Families were ripped apart and the death toll climbed. The dragons became the least of our concerns, as they materialized in support of saving those of us who had the will to survive. As parts of our lithosphere dissolved at rapid speed, water emerged from the center of our planet, outstretching the ocean we knew to be.

Chaos continued with wildfires that morphed and merged the elements, breaking and changing everything we knew elements to be. Water and fire absorbed each other. None of us were fully prepared. How could anyone be prepared for the focal points of mysteries presented? We had the predictions from Oracles, yet the preparation was not enough. During immense grief and destruction, there was birth that did not make up for the death. I was shown that death did not mean the end. It was the dragons and spirits of our planet that revealed to us how to be in harmony with the transformations that beckoned further; however, it has not been easy. Nor is it easy now. Although, it is easier than ever.

The mountains. The mountains are the only space I truly feel I can be myself. Anger builds from within me. “Is this actually anger or is that just what I’ve been told to believe is true?” I know this is more than anger. What I actually have is the potency of possibilities that the world tells me I must shut down. When I am in the mountains, I am free. Jubilee is my dragon. She has been with me since birth. I don’t own her. She doesn’t own me. What we have is a communion. A quantum entanglement that stretches between us, the molecules that are not just DNA. She knows me in a way that no one else can. Our connection is a trove of sumptuous caring that exceeds primitive measures. On an energetic wavelength, our energies are the same. The truth is, I am Jubilee and she is me. Yet, we have two different holograms that appear through different bodies. However, my name is not Jubilee, my name is Aven.

Four days after my third cycle around the sun, I began painting the energy of the dragon that was always with me. My mother described my wave of creativity to be acoustic in manner. She would say with enthusiasm, “I see the pulse in your eyes, you dip into a calm frenzy, and I know that means you need to paint.” I painted Jubilee numerous times, before I could pronounce her name out loud. In the presence of me painting, my mother had the confirmation that I was a mutation. She did her best to connect me with other children with the mutation. Intending to surround me with kindred spirits who were different.

Our mutation was proof of the foretold coming changes, and the more we could be with each other the stronger we could become. We were the future leaders of the world, leading the world through the mutation of our genes. Not fully aware of the contribution that we were at such a young age, we were allowed to be children and to develop as naturally as possible. While we embodied what we were, we did not consciously grasp the responsibility we did not think, we chose. Being that we were mutated, meant we were mutating everyone else who’s hologram was ready.. A limelight of activations that were igniting them slowly and set to spark at the precise moment the planet caved in.

Though my mother trusted the milestones of my life, she did not anticipate she would be leaving my life when I was so young. I flounder in my thoughts of her, memories that send sensations through my body. I feel caressed by the essence of her imprinted within me. My father’s essence lingers on the surface of my skin. My younger sister held his hand as she ushered his spirit out of his body. Faeries poured grace into our hearts that day. We were reminded that we had each other, and we knew that would be enough.

More of us discovered we had abilities that were beyond words and beyond explanation. Being born with abilities and suddenly having abilities are very different streams to play in. To be born a mutation is to develop and grow as that; however, to miraculously be thrusted into the mutation and have abilities you were not born with seems to be challenging for most. I hear them speak about the differences they have to deal with and the difficulties that come with being more aware of what they did not desire to be aware of. Personally, I would not change myself if I could.

Not everyone who is born with a mutation has a dragon that appoints them. As the planet changed, the species of dragons originally home to us, grew and bred with other creatures. Changing the patterns of evolution and involution faster than the speed of space. There now exist species of dragons that are in fact part mammal, and able to grow offspring within their womb.

Sectors and tribes of dragons formed communities with us in the Valley. The Valley is the safest place for dwellings on our planet. Within the Valley are intricacies that weave a flow of chi through the mountains from roots below and within the waters that flow. Not all the water has become fire-water. Fire has to touch water, for them to transform. Fire-water has been found to have incredible healing capacities that only some of us can directly drink.

The mountains watch over us. The lush lives of our plant kingdoms generate sustenance for all. Yet, it is the cosmic ecosystems of other realities that drive us to seek deeper into what nurturance can truly be the more we expand. When parallel realities are easeful for me to tap into, I notice the fortitude of our planet’s energy.

I glance at Jubilee, our conversations are telepathic. The flight of my vision is more vibrant than words can fathom. I notice the movements of the planet, as the sun reaches over the Valley and rays of light cascade through branches and leaves. Today marks my seventeenth birthday, and my mother would be baking my favorite double-layered chocolate cake. But she is not here to celebrate this day with me. I shutter in the silence of this moment with clarity of what is to come.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Kaylin

I enjoy writing. There's magic in the crafting of a beautiful expression created with words. I'm grateful I have the ability to express myself this way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.