Fiction logo

Space Heist Surprise

The money wasn't worth it!

By Alicia AnspaughPublished about a year ago 1 min read

I stood staring into the maw that was to be our heisted cargo, the phantom touches of my receiving crew's bodies that had been hung along my ship's hall akin to bovine carcasses in a meat locker spread over my skin like ants running over me.

We had implicit instructions to avoid any tampering with the cargo.

Somebody must have gotten anxious.

The job was simple, find the object, steal it, bring it back, get paid...that was all.

I thought that I needed that money, but as the screams & wet thumps echoed through the com systems, the sickening sensation of regret spread through me.

I pulled out my laser torch I had my blaster as my last resort, we weren’t told the cargo was alive…but if it were alive, then it could be killed, and I would be damned if it took even one of my crew.

Just then I felt eyes on me. This thing was fast.

“They call you Ghost, but me thinks your name is…Jerrick Pope.” It drawled.

The red glow of my torch lit the cargo bay as I turned to face the thing.

“You may...call me Death!”

Horror

About the Creator

Alicia Anspaugh

Hello! I primarily paint & write non fiction, but I love writing the stories that dance around in my head. Thank you for reading!

Subscribe if you wish!

Positive Vibes,

Alicia

Check out my Metaphysical blog-

desmoinesnewage.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia AnspaughWritten by Alicia Anspaugh

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.