Fiction logo

Something Darker; Chapter 9

IX--Jax

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

The night is a slow night, and the tavern has been empty for a while, but with the storm brewing, it's not that surprising. Eren is taking advantage of the empty space to run around inside.

I hear the door open and glance up. V walks in, and Eren almost crashes into her. He yells sorry as he keeps running. Janice walks pops out from the kitchen long enough to tell him to go outside and run while he can. As he runs out of the door, I see a black cat on the porch. I assume it's the one that's been following V.

"I don't think your cat is going to like Eren," I tell her.

She glances back at the door then says "Good," matter of factly. V looks back at me and walks up to the counter. "I'll be leaving in the morning, so you can settle my payment now or later, as long as it's done before I leave."

"I can do it now," I say, reaching for the ledger.

"Perfect."

Janice pops out of the kitchen again. "Do you want supper? It's still warm."

"Why not?" V replies.

Before any of us can move, an angry cat's yowl starts followed by a scream. V spins to the door. All I can hear now is the howling of the wind.

"I guess your cat really didn't like Eren," I say.

V holds up a hand. She takes a step towards the door. It suddenly flies open. I feel my blood run cold as Janice screams.

A man with pale skin, black eyes, and black lines lacing up his arms and neck walks in, holding Eren with a knife pressed to his throat. The knife is covered with blood. Eren is terrified, eyes wide with fear.

Eren's being held captive by a Shadow Slave. I had heard rumors that there were one or two of them somewhere in the woods nearby, but until now, I hadn't believed it.

The man scans over each of us twice. "I have followed my trail to this building. I found the Shifter outside and he has been temporally frozen. I have come for the Marked One. I know they are here. Tell them they have one day for the trade. The Marked One for this child." With that, he drags Eren out.

I have to find a guard. I begin moving towards the door, but a hand catches me. I look back to see V, grasping my arm.

"What are you doing?" she demands.

"I'm going to get the guards. We have to save Eren. Whoever this Marked One is, they aren't here, and I don't know who they are. The guards are Eren's only hope," I tell her, beginning to pull away, but she doesn't let go.

"Don't be stupid. They won't believe you," she counters.

"Are you suggesting we do nothing?" It takes all my self-control not to yell at her.

"No," with that she releases my arm and moves past me. "You stay here."

It's my turn to catch her arm. "What are you doing?" I demand.

She looks down at my hand, then up at me with a weak smile. "Something stupid." And with that, she pulls away, and I'm too shocked to try to stop her again.

She slips out of the door, hair and cloak billowing out in the wind. I look back at Janice, but she's still in shock. She snaps, turning and running back towards our living quarters.

I grab a jacket and head out after V. I glance around, but V and the man are nowhere to be seen. I hear a wail from inside, and I know Janice just told our mother what happened. I look for some sign of their passing, but the wind has whipped everything into a frenzy, and there's no way I can find any trail left behind with my nonexistent tracking skills.

Suddenly, my mother is at my side. I catch her, stopping her from running headlong in a random direction. "Where is he!?" she cries.

"I- I- I don't- I don't know," I stammer.

"Mom!" Eren's cry carries above the howling wind. Eren comes running from the left of the inn. Mother cries out and runs to him, wrapping him in a hug.

A group of guards suddenly come running down the street. A couple branching off at every turn. One of them runs up to us. This can't be good.

"You need to go inside," he orders, shouting over the wind. "Go inside and lock your doors."

"What's going on?" I ask.

"There's a Shadow Slave running around. He's killed a few people. Now go inside."

I remember the blood on the knife. That's why. "We saw him! He's somewhere around here."

The guard's eyes go wide. "Get inside. We'll take it from here." He then turns to his men, motioning them to join him. As I usher my mother and brother inside, I see his men run up to him and him shouting orders. Shutting the door, I silently pray V is alright.

Having locked the door, I turn towards my mother and Eren. Janice has joined them and is also smothering Eren in a hug. "What happened?" I ask him.

"I was running around, and that man suddenly grabbed me. He was dragging me to the woods when that girl ran up. She somehow convinced him to let me go and told me to run, so I did," Eren says.

"Well, that's enough excitement," mother states. "You should lie down and try to get some sleep," she says, beginning to pull Eren towards our living quarters.

Janice looks at me. "Where's V?"

I shake my head. "Eren came running up and then a bunch of guards showed up. They were chasing the Shadow Slave. He had killed a few people already apparently."

Janice looks towards the door. "I hope she's alright."

There's a sudden yowling from the back door. Janice and I glance at each other in surprise. I walk to the door and slowly open it. A black cat bolts in. It looks up at me and yowls, then turns back to the door.

"What does it want?" Janice asks me.

"How should I know? But I think it's V's cat," tell her.

The cat suddenly arches its back, flattens its ears, and hisses.

Stop wasting time, you fools. Come with me, a voice in my head suddenly demands.

I step back in surprise, then look at Janice. "Did you hear-"

She nods, "But who-"

The cat hisses again. My name is Zanthus, but I don't have time for your foolishness. Our mutual friend is currently bleeding out in your barn. So, I advise you stop yapping and follow me, it orders.

I look down at the cat in shock. "You?"

It flicks its tail. Yes. Now enough wasting time. It turns back to the door and pushes against it with its head. We have to move fast.

Unsure of what else to do, I move, opening the door. The cat bolts out and heads straight for the barn. I glance back at Janice before following. Janice follows after me. I walk through the doors and freeze. V lays on the floor, blood slowly pooling around her side. Janice gasps.

"We have to get her inside," she says.

Obviously, the cat states.

"Open the doors for me," I tell Janice, then walk over to V, picking her up. She's not as heavy as I thought she would be.

Janice moves ahead of me, opening doors. The cat runs into them ahead of me. Not sure of where else to take her, we take her to her room. I lay her on the floor, then look at Janice. "Get mum. She knows basic wound care."

The car hisses. No.

I look at it shocked. "Do you know how to treat wounds? Because I don't," I snap at it.

Its tail flicks. I came to you because I believe you can keep your mouths shut, if for no other reason than to make yourselves even for her saving your brother.

"Which is why we need to save her!" Janice exclaims at the cat.

Take off her gloves.

"What?" I ask.

Take. Off. Her. Gloves, the cat repeats.

I pause for a second, then reach out and pull off one of her gloves. My next breath comes in in a hiss. Black lines spiral around her wrist and blossom into her palm. Shadow Marks.

"She's one of them?!" Janice hisses.

Not exactly, the cat muses. Her situation is complicated, but not of her choosing. And need I remind you that she saved your brother?

I throw the glove down and press my hands against her wound. "Janice, get mum."

"What? Mum would go ballistic."

"We have to help her."

The cat hisses. I want no one else involved.

"Well, it's our mum or she dies."

The cat growls, Fine.

"Go, Janice." Janice hesitates for a second before turning and going after mum. "One of you is going to owe me a good explanation," I tell the cat. It doesn't respond. It just flicks its tail.

The door opens and Janice enters followed by mum. Mum looks surprisingly composed.

"Mum?" I ask.

She looks at me. She must read the question in my eyes because she gives me a gentle smile. "It's alright. I don't pretend to understand, but she did save Eren, so she must not be all bad, and we owe her for that. Wait outside. Janice is going to help me."

I stand up and mum takes my place at V's side. The cat follows me out.

While we wait, I suppose I can give you the details that I can. You'll have to wait until she wakes up to get a better explanation.

I look down at the cat. "As good as that sounds, I'll need a second to actually get used to hearing your voice in my head."

The cat sniffs. Humans.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.