Fiction logo

So the Story Goes.

A tale of Perserverance

By JBazPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
13
So the Story Goes.
Photo by Chris Leipelt on Unsplash

“Get help.” He cried.

“Why?”

“If you don’t, everyone will die.”

Without another word his little sister runs.

Through the afternoon and into the chilly night the young boy remains unmoving. His tiny body shivers uncontrollably, yet he stays.

The howling of wolves grows closer, golden orbs shining in the dark, yet he stays.

Exhausted, eyes heavy, he refuses to leave.

Morning comes bursting forth with rays of warmth. Like a dream, he hears voices crying out, far and distant. In tender loving arms, he’s carried away.

Because of his courage, the Dike held.

Young AdultFable
13

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    This is beautifully written, the imagery and sense of urgency that you brought to the characters really lended well to the overall impact! Nice work Jason!

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Transformed for a minute to the scene. You captured so much in so few words and I like the addition of the wolves. ❤️

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    I remember this story! Love how you retold it. You even got the wolves involved. (In one of the versions I think the boy was fond of crying wolf, or at least being mischievous. Well done. :)

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    When I read about "the Dike" I was thinking that there was going to be a flood happening and that he's holding the doors back from stopping a flood coming in and sweeping away his whole village. The only other thing I could think of is a fire that's keeping away the wolves, stopping a pack of wolves from running through the town, picking off livestock, and even the occasional child/baby. It reminds me of when I would go hunting with my dad in the early morning hours, and the sun wouldn't be up yet. The sky would be dark, and when the sun would rise, the cold air would sink and it'd be freezing for several hours until the air warmed up again.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Aww, what a wonderful retelling of this story!! I do see now how are stories are linked :) Great work!!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Beautiful story of courage. Well done.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I love the ending , well done 👍

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Amazing act of courage despite the dangers lurking. Great read, J.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.