Fiction logo

Snow Turn

A man’s journey of survival through the snow

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Snow Turn
Photo by Cristiano Firmani on Unsplash

My name is John Frost. I’ve been out in the mountains for a few days with my family for the holidays. I wish I had known it was gonna snow before I came. I drove to the store to get some last minute things before the weather got bad, but my truck stalled out in the storm. Now I’m walking in the cold trying to make it back to my family on foot.

I’ve been walking for 30 minutes and I already don’t know how much more I can take. My face is freezing, my bones are aching. It’s so cold that it feels like my fingers are going numb. I’m also trying to make an effort to be careful out here. This is my first time visiting this area , but I’ve heard urban legends about cannibals that take in stragglers and make Thanksgiving dinners out of em’, but I think that’s just a myth. I don’t know how much more of this I can take. Just as I felt myself drifting towards unconsciousness territory I stumble upon a cabin with the lights on, but it’s not mine.

I make it to the porch and before I can knock the door opens and then a family of four lets me in. Their place is nice and warm. They sit me next to the fireplace and I could be going crazy from the cold, but I think I heard the mom say “the food is here, now we can eat…”

Microfiction

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Danielle Elizabeth Andrews5 months ago

    Eeek! 'Ruuuun John!' 😨 What a great micro tale!

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    oh wow, what a twist!

  • Colt Henderson5 months ago

    Awesome story.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    oops! Great story, and a great ending.

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Oh snap! That sure took a turn!! Looks like he DoorDashed himself, lol :) Great story.

  • Fly Alone5 months ago

    Wow unique climax

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    ooooooh, nice twisty twist there Joe! Loved the amount of characterisation you got into such a short piece. Very well done, man!

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.