Fiction logo

Snow Isn't the Same as an Adult

As a kid, snow meant snow days and play. Now, it means traffic and breaking my back shoveling the driveway.

By Austin Blessing-Nelson (Blessing)Published 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Snow Isn't the Same as an Adult
Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

I huff as I, out of breath and exhausted, strain to push the shovel full of heavy snow off the driveway. We got nine inches of snow today... and I have to be able to get out of my driveway in the morning to go to work. That means I get to spend my Sunday evening clearing this driveway. As I force myself to push through the exhaustion and keep shoveling, I reminisced about how awesome snow was when I was a kid.

When I was a child, snow meant building snowmen and forts and making snow angels. It meant sledding, snowball fights, and skiing. And when we were done playing, it meant hot cocoa. If we were lucky, we would get a snow day, too!

But as an adult, snow means trying not to break my back shoveling the driveway. And what is my reward for completing this awful chore? Well, tomorrow I get to drive to work on poorly plowed roads filled with two types of idiots: those that drive way too slow even for the conditions, and those that drive way too fast and pose a danger to both themselves and me. I can't even have some hot cocoa tonight because I forgot to buy it.

As I finally finish the driveway, I look at the snow covering the houses and the trees, and I look at my son building a snowman in the yard. Snow is certainly different as an adult, but it is still beautiful!

Microfiction
4

About the Creator

Austin Blessing-Nelson (Blessing)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Couldn’t agree more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.