Fiction logo

Snow Ball Fights

With Snow Angels

By Kent BrindleyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Snow Ball Fights
Photo by Mara Ket on Unsplash

The first Snow Day of the school year had been announced earlier.

I had a steaming cup of Hot Cocoa by my bed and a bellyful of that morning's oatmeal breakfast. I was ready to curl up under the covers as the wind whistled outside and continued to drop a layer of white and ice outside.

Suddenly, I heard the thud of a snowball against my window; then, another snowball. The third snowball hit the ice dam overhanging my room. I opened my window to address the disturbance only to get creamed in the face by the fourth snowball in a minute's time.

"Snowball fight." Sean Parker announced himself. "Guys vs. girls. We're getting KILLED!"

I dusted the snow from my face, nodded in anticipation, and bolted to get changed, dressed for outdoors, and join the fray.

Five guys and five girls soon stood opposite one another. Sure enough, Gloria Collins was there to lead the line of girls; I knew she would be. A deep feeling in the seat of my gut warned me what would happen if I beat her in the snowball fight; or what I'd have to hear about if she won...

Soon, the snowball fight ended in a draw. Much laughter and giggles had been shared between the two genders. Then, everyone else departed for the day. Gloria and I continued to lay outside in the snow and make snow as the first great snow swirled around us. The moment was right between us two...

By Austris Augusts on Unsplash

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like the familiar notes of a snowball fight between friends, and the untold ending of what might happen between the speaker and Gloria. Favourite line is “I was ready to curl up under the covers as the wind whistled outside and continued to drop a layer of white and ice outside.”😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.