Fiction logo

Snow Angel

Waiting for you

By Gerald HolmesPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
48

I feel the tears on your face bleeding into my heart as you stare out the back window of our house and I know you’re thinking of me. The bittersweet memories this snow covered landscape brings so clearly to your soul are also etched into mine. Can you feel me, Papa, like I can feel you? Can you see me like I can see you? I’m right here, Papa, standing in the snow, under the old apple tree waiting for you.

Open your heart to the good memories we shared in this garden. Remember that you said this garden was my kingdom and that I was your Queen. Remember us underneath the apple tree in summer as you read your book while I would sleep in the grass beside you. I was always beside you, following your every footstep. Remember me following you around as you cut the grass in the summer or remember us rolling around in the snow together every winter.

Winter holds my favourite memories of us; that’s why I’ve come to you now. I need you to feel me and know that I’m here waiting for you. We will be together again when your time comes; this I promise you.

Use your heart to look closely under the apple tree and I will be there. Remember the last words you said to me. Remember our unconditional love.

Remember that you said, forever you will be my human and forever joined together we would be.

Microfiction
48

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Oh, sweetheart.

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Beautiful and evocative little micro Gerald. Well done! ☺️👏

  • Sahib ali3 months ago

    That’s awesome 😍

  • Mije Mwanza 3 months ago

    So beautiful ❤️

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Love is bittersweet. You brought me quickly to a meaningful place and held me there. Thank you.

  • Brenton F3 months ago

    mournful, plaintive and beautiful in its sadness - congrats Gerald!

  • Kodah3 months ago

    Aww this was beautiful!💖Congrats on top story!! 💖

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Back to say congrats on Top Story, this is so well deserved my friend!! 😊

  • Very well written Gerald

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Gorgeous words, Gerald. 🥰

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    Beautiful and evocative. Congrats on TS!

  • LC Minniti3 months ago

    Simply exquisite!

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    What a tribute- truly lovely in both content and words nothing <3 congrats on the top story!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Beautiful work, Gerald. Another one to add to your growing list of amazing stories. Congrats!

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Congrats!!! 🎈

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Back to say congratulations, I knew this would be a top story

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Touching tribute, Gerald.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Wow, Gerald, this one really gutted me! Fantastic writing, my friend! A very, very well-deserved Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    There ya go. Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Gerald, this just absolutely crushed me (in the best way)!! So many tears and such a heartfelt story!! I love this and can't express just how much I needed to read this!! Great work my friend!!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Wow, this portrays the outer cold in the story and the photos, and the reader can feel the sadness of Papa and the hope of his girl.

  • You captured this extremely well, Gerald. Forever in our hearts, forever in theirs.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    You hit all the right notes with this one Gerald. Love the beginning, you can feel the longing in her tone the desperate plea. The reasons that follow cement the story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.