Fiction logo

Smeraldo Flower

By Shahzahra

By Shahzahra HasnainPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Smeraldo flower

I’ve always been unappealing to others and to my own family. I am afraid to show people the real me, that’s why I hide myself away in my castle. My own family made me an outcast and left me with this disgusted feeling inside me that’s been haunting ever since. The only thing that has given me some joy in my life are the flowers that I plant in my garden. Flowers are the dazzling beauty which shine and shimmer intensely unlike me. The flower that I had planted was a light colour blue and had delicate petals that resembled the beautiful sky. For me, it became a symbol of hope and happiness. I would often like to sit and stare at it, imagining a life full of joy and hope in my dark life. Their beauty gives me a sense of delight in my life that I do have something to cherish in my miserable life. At some point in time, I saw a girl sneaking in my garden to steal my flowers. I was enraged that someone had the audacity to run off with my precious flowers, so I decided to see if she would come again. After that I would wait for her to come every day, to steal a glimpse of her angelic beauty. Therefore, I decided to follow her into the town to see what she does to my flowers. I was astonished that she was selling those flowers to feed herself and her family. I had waned to help her desperate situation but I don’t think she would like my ugly face. So, I was determined to grow a special flower by the name of Smeraldo which would aid in her selling. Finally, I grew that flower and filled my garden with it, hoping for her to come but she never did. I waited desperately for her every night. Every night was an agony waiting for her, I thought something must’ve happened to her so I went to town and asked for her. The towns people told me that she had died. I couldn’t fathom the fact that she had passed away. I shouldn’t have been afraid what people would’ve thought of me or what she would’ve thought of me, after all this time I just wanted her and I will always want her, but my fear got the best of me. I am plagued by regret and sorrow. I still want you, if I had just the courage to tell you at the right time, then would everything be different?

A few years later, my life had drastically changed in ways I could never imagine. I had grown more confident and was no longer the guy who was insecure about everything in his life. I had come to realise that the true beauty lies within rather than outer appearance, and I was deserving of love and joy in my life. I had started going out to the village without giving a single glance of what people think about me or why they are staring, However, it is tough to ignore people's menacing eyes and their bothersome attitude, but I never gave up. The only hope and happiness in my life was selling my lovely flowers which I had grown it with love and care. I wanted this Smeraldo flower to be a feeling of euphoria for these people, so they can rejoice even if their life is utterly chaotic. I still remember that girl that came into my life as if by magic or if we were destined to meet. Sadly, that encounter was both a joy and an unfortunate scenario, but that's the thing right. Everything happens for a reason, and I'm glad she was the reason for serenity.

Short StoryLoveFan Fictionfamily
Like

About the Creator

Shahzahra Hasnain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.