Fiction logo

Slight misinterpretation part 9 and the end(the beginning)

House M.D. fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
2
Slight misinterpretation part 9 and the end(the beginning)
Photo by Gavin Penor on Unsplash

Part 9: The End; it’s all a dream

The glowering creature of deep large eyes and magnificent wings swooped upward into the sky, and then in an instant, was dust in the broken air.

By Jeremy Hynes on Unsplash

"Death. . ." A shadow of a voice whispered in the sky.

"Ho..House.." My breath caught in my throat, but I felt detached, not myself.

Warm breath licked my ear, closing in, honing in on my flesh like a deadly weapon aimed at its unsuspecting victim, accurate and taunting as it lurked about my flesh. It became a part of me, none deep and lurking through me as a physical extension of my body.

My hands gripped tightly at the front of my desk, sweat sliding down my cheek.

Or was that tears?

Just then, all of my half conceived notions and thoughts twisted and fell into words that I felt we were both feeling.

"This isn't..." I began.

"Real?" He finished.

I exhaled, my breath showing me how chilly it was.

"I should know, this is my dream." He moved away from me, and turned and sat on my desk.

"That's the type of things people say in dreams." I said lazily, my fingers trailing up his thigh.

"And you wouldn't be acting like that, would you?" He said, looking down at my aching fingers sliding near his inner thigh.

"Maybe..." I laughed, but felt sick for some reason.

"Death is not eternal." I said suddenly.

House quirked a brow. The scenery got fuzzy and all I saw was his eyes, hands as they held unto mine subtly.

"Your life had been hindered far too long and is now slowly wearing thin of your masks."

House interrupted. "What do you mean? All I hear is rhetoric."

I let my eyes tell him silently I had no idea what I was saying.

But soon, they made sense as I spoke again. "The End is not a folly on stage. The End is not a tragic play, it is you. If you keep hiding. If you keep lying to yourself."

House looked at me like I was crazy.

"You must find what it truly means to live, to find the end. If you do not, you will meet that ultimate ending sooner than you think, House."

Something sparked in his eyes. Was it understanding? Was it love? Was it anything?

"If you do this, you must let the end become more of a beginning. But, it will never be found in two, simple words."

Something clicked in both of us.

Part 10: Melted Wax

I woke up slowly, trying to distinguish the images in my mind past reality, and reality past those images. My eyes fluttered open and I felt warm, yet inside, I was chilly and twisted with a odd, empty feeling.

Whether I was still asleep or not, everything felt familiar. Finally realizing I was in my bedroom, I lifted my head and looked outside. It was almost light.

The most horrible dream I ever had...

It seemed there was something shared, a close intimacy. I felt such that with House, as though we were both aware we were dreaming the same dream. Like we were now connected some how. And now for some reason, I felt full as I thought it, then sensed it... wait..

But that's...

That's crazy.

But I felt awake, not tired one bit, as I felt my eyes widening in the shadows of my room.

Was that message meant for me? Or him? Did telling House about my dream affect him that much? No, no, no, I'm thinking about this... I can't think, not when he's always in my dreams... damn owls, damn House, damn, damn, DAMN.

I threw my legs on the side of my bed, stretching upward as I scooted my body away from the covers, still high with dreams. Once my feet were upon the ground, I decided to take a shower. Maybe I'll talk to House about it.

But, the thought gave me chills. What if he really did have the same dream as I?

The vision of the owl soared through my thoughts, seeming to caress my body like silky air.

I shook it off and went the bathroom, slipping off my clothes, into the shower.

I let the water run so hot, I thought I would faint blowing steam into my back, and I knew how it felt to be melted wax. I coughed a little at the steam, and turned it to cold immediately.

I decided I wouldn't tell him.

If he wanted to say something, then, let him.

Screw it all.

As the cold water cascaded along my curves and into my hot face, I noticed I was crying.

I slipped out of the shower.

...Is this what a mid-life crisis feels like?

I slammed my knees to the ground, sliding on the tile floor, letting myself heave out the tears I've longed for.

*****

*****

Part 11: Not Wilson's, My Heart

When I arrived at work; my nose was red, and my eyes were dark but I didn't care. I was wide awake, and my pulse was humming with a new and fresh stance.

Things have quieted down since the release of the last patient, the one that had Fatal Familial Insomnia, which unfortunately is untreatable. However, treating the symptoms would help her live a more normal life. Barely.

It unsettled me, for it brought up a similar occurrence. Insomnia, in which I felt increasingly more apt to stay awake, and not dream. And insomnia was the same, no matter if there is a illness that follows or not. But, the patient was having panic attacks as well while being diagnosed here.

As well?

I don't have panic attacks...

Then what do you call this morning's little discrepancy?

In spite of the little argument inside of my head, I held my head up high, slipping my keys in my pocket as I went upstairs through the elevator, to my office.

Now, House was in clinic duty, so I could rest easy. For awhile.

"Hey Cuddy?"

I heard a soft, warm voice call out, almost like honey, and I knew immediately it was Wilson.

"Yeah?" I looked up and smiled at him, genuinely pleased to have a sort of distraction from these never ending thoughts ...

House.

Wilson smiled back and walked inside, a stray hand scratching the back of his head. He sat down.

"It's ... House." I didn't hear the desperate tone in his voice as I began to voice my sarcastic, stressed out response.

"Great! I really would love to, Wilson, but I think I'll go throw up now-" I should have bit my tongue after the first syllable, cause when I saw his face, agonizingly confused and despondent, I wanted to slap myself.

My lips stretched to a thin a line, and I looked at him, softly nodding my head for him to speak.

"He seems distracted. I think he really likes you, Cuddy. But I also know he's too stubborn to admit it." Wilson said slowly, almost as if saying those words brought instant heartbreak. Maybe it was just my imagination, that heartbreak. Maybe it was me trying to twist the situation. Maybe it was my heart-

"Oh?" All I could manage to say. Heat flowed into my cheeks, then his.

"I don't believe it." I said under my breath.

"Why? He's -"

"I have a question, Wilson." Something aching in the back my brain.

"Y-yes?" Wilson coughed out. He bit his lower lip so slightly.

I looked straight in his eyes, and it burned. "Why were you crying the other day? Did you two fight?"

Wilson seemed to wince as he looked at me, trying to find a way to not answer the questions. "That was two questions, Cuddy." Wilson tried to smile, but it faded away to a jumble of emotions.

"Ok, then listen to this, I don't need a matchmaker." I said shortly, in a huff. Just then, a warm range of fleeting scenes galloped into my sight, dreams... voices... touches... hot.. breath.

Wilson sighed. "I don't know if I can do it anymore. I can't..." Wilson leaned forward, his breath ragged suddenly and his pupils widened and frantic. Scared. "I can't be around him anymore... it's.. it's too hard." He said so softly, his voice cracked and dribbled to a sob.

My posture softened, knowing that he probably had different reasons for these thoughts, than compared to mine. I needed to solve this puzzle.

I needed to do this... now.

"Tell me why." I said tentatively.

"I'm scared that I'm falling for the one person I really can't begin to forgive or understand." He said slowly, "Our friendship has always been tested, and that's why I thought we were pretty much solid. It's worked. Until now." He seemed ok with that statement. He had other pressing issues withering away at his soul. "And I know he's been slowly pushing me away, and now he's always wondering why I want to be around him. He says I'm trying to overcompensate forgiving him by being desperate and... lonely."

Lonely. No one likes that word. No one likes to admit the implication.

He sighed in a frustrated huff. "I used to want to be around him, but now that I think about it, maybe I really am that lonely. Or maybe, we are too close." He let the idea slip past his mind, out of his conscious. I saw his body sigh as he said it. He let his eyes open and lips smile a little. It was a sad smile. "I still miss Amber. I'll always love her, and I'm letting House get in the way of the only truth I found in my life." He continued.

"Love is too precious. Life is too precious. I'll settle things with House when its meant to be."

"Now, I think, you and him are meant to be."

****

End chapter: Chapter 12: You Crazy, Crazy Woman

Present time of first chapter.

As I watched the two friends walk together, I thought about Wilson, and what he had said. Everything seemed the same. But, I had this feeling that one day one of the two will crack. I don't know if it would be a good one or a bad one.

"Now, I think, you and him are meant to be."

The words still gave my heart a jump start into a crash of House, House, House...

Just then the lights seemed to dim and my stomach did a flip flop. Everything became dizzy and...

I felt my body tremble as my hand slipped across my desk, my body a dizzy mess, tumbling to the ground.

I suddenly heard a mass of voices, a blur of white.

"Dr. House! Dr. Cuddy just fainted!" A woman's voice called.

I soon saw House running into my office, as fast as he could with his limp... his eyes frantic as he saw me crouched against my desk, holding my heart, heaving and breathing raggedly.

"Ah shit." House muttered. He ran out the room and seemed to be gone for hours. In reality, it was only minutes.

He ran towards me, his features blurry, his eyes stinging through my tears, straight into my soul.

He handed me a brown bag, helping me up. "Cuddy, it's alright, you're just having a panic attack. You are fine." He said so softly, just the sound helped me to clear my head. I was spinning, and hot, slowly swirling away from reality... until House came.

He took my hand and took me to my seat. "Just stop thinking, just relax. Ok? Breathe into this, slowly, alright?" House's voice was all I heard, no words. I took the brown bag and instintively starting breathing, and soon, my vision cleared and I was looking at this... beautiful... insane man.

meant to be

"Th-thanks." I managed to reply.

"Uh huh. No prob." He looked at me, with my breath softening, my chest rising and falling. I looked at him.

"House?"

"Hmm?"

Do you ever dream?

"What would you do if I kissed you right now?" I grabbed his shirt and pulled him a little closer to me. His breathing picked up.

A moment of strange contentment faced us, then dissipated. House seemed to be thinking about it.

"A-HA!" I laughed shortly, letting go of his shirt. "You fell for it!"

It maybe took House thirty seconds to fully realize he had been duped by his own game, but as soon as he did, he smiled. He seemed almost proud.

"Good one. But I have an even better one." He began.

"Oh? What would th-"

He leaned forward and caught his lips with mine, his hand caressing my cheek.

"You crazy, crazy woman." House whispered as he drew away. "We both fell for it."

"The End." I smiled.

"Not the end, only the beginning." House replied, his eyebrow lifting almost seductively.

Our eyes connected and clicked.

I melted.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.