Fiction logo

Slight Misinterpretation part 4 and onward

House M.D. fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Slight Misinterpretation part 4 and onward
Photo by Arseny Togulev on Unsplash

Part 4: P h a n t a s ma gor ia

My eyes gazed upon a random point in the bedroom's surroundings, and soon fell upon a dusty old book. I jumped up from my bed, strolling across the room to the mysterious thing. It seemed to have appeared of thin air.

I opened to the first couple pages, to creamy white paper. I sighed softly and got up, looking for a pen.

The window was wide open, and a subtle breeze wafted the pages of the book.

The wind picked up and let the pages sigh and stir, setting upon a single word, spaced in a queer fashion.

ma gor ia

I turned around, my neck highlighted in the moonlight, skidding brilliance off my reflection upon the bay window.

A hand jutted from the shadows, but then was lain quietly upon my shoulder.

I exhaled shortly.

"I'm bored, entertain me." House whined, tapping his cane impatiently on my desk.

Again, damn him.

"I have no time to entertain a simpleton." I said wryly, looking up at him from the corner of my eye. There was something flashing in his eyes.

"Tell me what you were dreaming." House said slowly.

I looked at him strangely, but inside, I was twisting and pumping blood way to fast. "No."

"Ah MOM!... You're no fun these days." House said childishly, tapping his foot to emphazise the point.

I coughed at his indignantly, and shoved his cane off my desk, a couple of papers flying off in a swooping twirl.

He furrowed his brow. I blew some steam off my lips in a whistle, and in a indiscreet anger, I got up, walking over to get the scattered files.

"Your hand is shaking." House said plainly.

I shook my head slightly. But as I reached for the papers, I saw that my hand was... shaking.

"I'm fine."

"No, your-"

"Yes, I am."

He leaned forward and took my hand. "Not."

All the blood in my body drained and seemed to pump directly into my hand, making it warm.

"House..." I warned, my body raising a few degrees.

"What?" He said not so innocently.

"Let go." I slipped my hand away and finished picking up the files.

"Why don't you, then?"

****

Part 5: Games

"Let go." I slipped my hand away and finished picking up the files.

"Why don't you, then?"

I was lost in the words and although they struck a chord with me, it was a very strange feeling, like at the tip of my tongue.

What was he trying to say?

He wanted me to not say anything. He wanted the reaction of confusion.

I wanted so much to talk to him, really talk to him. I wanted to know if he might feel the same and-

Wait.

My face grew hot as I realized...

I could never be with him. It would never work, I can barely handle him now, and he's just the insolent Diagnostician that I watch over, babysit, cover for. But, I respect him, and maybe I could handle the drugs, I don't know about the alcohol, but-

"Hello-? Have we landed on earth yet?" House said in a sing-song manner, gesturing wildly with his hands.

House only plays. He likes games.

Not relationships.

Not ...

Me.

I took in a shallow breath. "I'm fine, House, will you leave now?"

"Naw, I wanna pick on you some more."

"House..." I groan, rubbing my temples in a desperate attempt.

"Wait a moment!" He says theatrically. "I was gonna do my rendition of The Sound Of Music for yooou!" He says in a fruity high pitched voice, pretending to be carried away by some mysterious force.

For the first time in a few days, I let myself laugh, genuinely.

Part 6: Hidden

I took in a deep breath and decided it was time for a break, time for lunch.

After getting some of my files organized for later, including bills, bills and more bills, I took my hair out of its bun and let it flow freely upon my shoulders. I took the elevator and walked into the main entrance area. There stood House, talking to a nurse.

"I think he went outside." The nurse said in a heave, wearing a thin frown upon her face, her tan hands sorting through different patient medication. "But I don't know if he wants ta talk."

I only assumed House wanted to talk to Wilson. I let myself glance at him once again, and saw a strange sight. He looked flustered as he limped past the patients and nurses and noise, set on one destination.

I took my leave and went to get some sustenance, otherwise I would faint. So tired.

Sleep hasn't come easily to me, lately.

Within about fifteen minutes, my stomach was full and I was thinking more clearly. I need to give up this childish crush, I let these dreams affect me way too much.

Wilson would give him the best companionship, and like I said, I'm just his boss. If we did have a relationship, it would probably only be a fling.

When I came back, I saw Thirteen and House conversing. Maybe there was a new case.

"Why was Wilson upset?" She said in a nosy yet compassionate voice. House rolled his eyes.

"Is that why you are here? The better question is; why were you watching us like an obsessed freak?" He said in much more anger than he intended. He meant more like annoyance.

"Well, he was crying..."

"He's just on his period, I told him to get some Midol, he'll be fine soon."

Thirteen grimaced.

House grinned.

I sighed.

House peeked over his shoulder and saw me. I was almost frozen, and as he watched me, I saw something, something important, like a realization, hidden in his eyes.

But it was fleeting, as he ignored me and went back to talking to Thirteen.

***

Part 7: Fell for what?

"New case." House said as he entered my door.

I glanced up at him and went back to work.

"I'm pretty sure its FFI. Fatal Familial Insomnia."

"Interesting. And you're telling me this why?"

House smiled as he walked in. "Icebreaker. I saw you staring at me and Thirteen. You know about Wilson."

"How are you treating it?" I asked, completely ignoring the aforementioned.

House sighed and sat down. "If you haven't noticed, I'm bored. I need to talk to you."

Silence. I rustled some papers.

"Anyway..." House muttered and sat down across my desk, pulling his feet up on the surface.

"Wilson thinks we're together."

I gasped out a laugh.

"H..He does? But why was he crying?"

House looked down. "I don't know, maybe cause of Amber. Maybe, we're too close." He said, the words almost seemed painful to admit out loud.

"Too... close?" I wrinkled my nose.

"So, Cuddy, I have a question. Do you want to be together?" House said seriously.

Silence permeates the air, and it hung no promise of an answer. I wasn't expecting that.

Tick, tock, tick. Tick.

House burst out in laughter, soon dissipating into giggles.

"You fell for it!" He looked at me, then gave me a secret glance, and I melted, feeling dizzy.

*****

Next part: Dream

Tick, tock, tick. Tick.

House burst out in laughter, soon dissipating into giggles.

"You fell for it!" He looked at me, then gave me a secret glance, and I melted, feeling dizzy.

Fell for what?

"You’re an ass." I finally said.

"In all serious, I have a question for you." But there was still a smile, ear to ear, gleaming teeth and all.

"I want to know what you've been dreaming about."

I wouldn't let him get to me, knowing that his quest for answers always seemed to be the only true thing House usually accomplished, I tried to keep his habitual persistence at bay. And I knew he was looking for a reaction, so I stayed calm, though inside, my heart was pounding.

"Why? And that was more like a command, not a question."

"Just tell me. One dream."

"Will you go away if I do?"

"Why not?"

"I dreamed about a dead owl. There, go now." I gestured my hands toward the door.

"Hmm, cool." He look satisfied enough but turned slightly and shook his head, then walked out.

I let myself cool down, then realized how much work I was putting off.

I murmured a string of expletives and went back to paying off some of the bills.

Fan Fiction
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.