Fiction logo

Skating His Way Into My Heart

Part 7 of an 8 Part Series

By K.J.GeorgePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Skating His Way Into My Heart
Photo by BARBARA MUNIZ on Unsplash

Days and days have come and gone. And soon enough fall came and gone as well. Honestly it felt like winter came a tad bit early. And summer went by a bit too fast.

However, I’m not a fan of the winter. Not anymore at least. I mean typically one would think of all the positive things that come with this time of year, right? Christmas, hot chocolate, snow, and things of such. But I can’t help but being a bit of a negative Nancy. It is the time of year that I lost my best friend.

Mom.

The woman who had my heart the longest. Her anniversary is approaching fast and I’m not sure if I’m ready. Around this time of year, every year, I instantly go into a depression. Unintentionally of course. I try to stay positive...I try to keep my head up… For myself more so before anyone else. But now that I actually have a home that still holds her scent...That holds so many memories of her...I’m not sure what I should do. I now, more than before, possess great things that resemble my mom. Things that she has been in contact with. A house, a car, her lucky hair clip that she wore all of the time. Just my hair alone is a reminder of her. I don’t even like looking at myself this time of year...I see myself in her now more than ever and as amazing as that is, it’s also scary.

I haven’t told my friends about her anniversary… Sure they know about her passing and that it was obviously during the winter but I never elaborated. If there is one thing I know for sure both of my friends have some really good memories. However, this isn't an occasion I want them to necessarily remember.

They are both so excited about the winter season. I mean it is all of our favorite season after all. Well it was anyway, but I don’t wanna be that person. The one that makes it all about them. Especially not now. It’s the first real holiday we’ll get to spend together as our own little family. Just us three. Don’t get me wrong, we did celebrate Halloween and Thanksgiving. For Halloween, we binged our favorite spooky movies, dressed up as witches for the kiddos who came by to trick or treat, and made our own treats. And we made our favorite foods for Thanksgiving and shared our thanks for each other. Me especially. But for some reason Christmas for us is the holiday. The one that we cared about the most.

Bria and Luke decided to go out and grab a few things, much to my demise, to decorate and a few groceries. It’s snowing now, and the roads are starting to get icy, so I’m still on edge. They promised to be extra careful and to buy in bulk to avoid too much traveling. So, I sucked it up and waited at home for them. While I waited I turned on some Christmas music and decided to bake some cookies.

I couldn’t help but smile at the thought of how well this was working out. I live with my two bestfriends, and everyone gets along! Bria still works at the cafe part time. Luke does what Luke does. And mom has me pretty much set for a while, but I run a small business from home. Just for a little security. All in all everything is great. Honestly though, I’m still amazed at how fast Bria and Luke get along. Well not that surprised. They are both extremely outgoing, and their mutual friend is me. I mean they have a great taste in people.

An hour has gone by and I finished baking 3 batches of cookies by the time my two favorite trouble makers make it back in the house.

“Hey Lily, we bought an early Christmas gift.”

I look over to the voice calling out to me, and Bria is holding a cute gift bag in her hand.

“You guys didn't have to do that. Really. I can open it on Christmas.” I smiled softly at them and watched as they gave each other a look.

“I told you she wouldn’t want to open it,” Luke said as he started putting up the groceries.

“Well she has no choice,” Bria started, “so open it!” Bria shoved the bag in my hand.

“Okay fine, I will. I don’t know why you guy-,” I was cut off by the shock from the contents in the bag. The first thing I pulled out was a golden frame with a picture of my mom and myself when I was a child. Not long before she passed actually.

“You guys,” I started through tears, “But why? What is this for?”

“Well we know your mom's passing anniversary is approaching so we wanted to get you a little gift. We were going to wait till Christmas, but since it’s before Christmas we thought it should be an early present. Take a look at the rest of the things in the bag,” Luke finally wrapped up.

Inside was a necklace with a marigold pendant, and a small letter framed in gold as well.

“That was a letter your mom left you,” Luke spoke softly, “it was one of the things in the envelope your mom left me. She didn’t want to just leave it for you, and she knew I would know how to give it to you. Your mom was a very wise woman. I think you should read it.”

It was a short letter but it read;

My daughter. I know how much you love winter. And I know this time for you may be hard. I am sorry for being so selfish, but I don’t want you to stop enjoying your favorite things in life because of me. If anything, I want you to enjoy them more. For me. Go ice-skating at your favorite lake. You know the one your father and I taught you to ice skate. Go to your favorite café and go see the holiday parade. I know the roads may be scary for you. But have faith in yourself and everyone around you that you'll be safe. It was an accident my love, and not everyone has the same fate. Go enjoy yourself.

Love, Mom x

As if on cue the waterworks started and I hopped up to hug my friends. I should’ve known that Luke would’ve remembered. His mom goes to my mom's grave around this same time every year all the time. Just to visit her. Something I never had the strength to do.

“Of course you guys knew. I tried to hide my emotions and I didn’t want to say anything about the anniversary, but who was I kidding.”

“Well we are your best friends after all,” said Bria with a smirk.

“And you SUCK at concealing your emotions Lily,” Luke said with a chuckle.

“Alright enough with the I told you so’s and criticism. That letter was reassuring and scary at the same time. That lady was always prepared for everything.”

I envied my mom for that. She was always ready for anything. But I guess that’s what comes with being a mom and doctor. With two kids and never really knowing what to expect in the medical field, you always have to be ready for whatever.

“Well Lily, I think I know the best way to kick off the winter festivities,” Luke said with a familiar smile.

“That smile always means trouble,” I announced, “but I guess I’ll hear you out.”

“Let's go ice-skating...On that lake that you love so much. I remember us going there together, once during the spring, as kids because you were so excited about it. And our parents thought that, that would be a great picnic spot. I want to see why you love it so much while it’s frozen too.”

Stunned. I was stunned to say the least. And Bria was smiling like a maniac. I had a feeling something was up, but my mind was spinning too fast to pay it any mind.

Just go. Like a green traffic light. Go. Go. Go. No stopping.

“Okay!,” I shouted. “I’ll go!” Both of my best friends looked like they just saw a ghost, but before I could say anything they got up and got dressed quicker than the speed of light. I laughed and got dressed as well. This is what mom wanted, so it’s going to be okay… Right?

I sat in the backseat of my own car with my eyes closed the whole way here. It’s only about two in the afternoon, so the sun is out and high in the sky. But I could only see black the whole way to the lake. Luke sat in the backseat with me whispering sweet words of encouragement in my ear. Once we got off the rode, I hopped out of the car and just sat on the cold ground. Bria and Luke laughed at me as they put on their ice skates.

We skated for about an hour before Bria said she had to excuse herself for a second. Me and Luke skated like it wasn’t almost 30 degrees outside.

I got lost in it. Skating. I forgot how at peace I was at this lake. How at peace I become when skating.

Once I finally came back to my senses I saw Luke fumbling with his shoe. I skated over to him to ask him what he was doing, and as if he knew I was going to come to him he said:

“Close your eyes for just a second.”

I was baffled. He wanted me to close my eyes in the middle of skating, as if I were crazy enough to do that. I got close enough to him, slowed to a stop, and asked him, “Why am I putting myself in danger for you right now? We are on the middle of the lake skating, in the co-,” I was shushed. He cut me off again!

“Open your eyes now.”

I opened my eyes and started crying. Immediately. I know, what a drama queen, right? I couldn’t help it. He was on one knee, which I know is freezing to death, with a ring in his hand. One that looked familiar.

“Is that…!?”

“Yeah, your mom left this for me as well. Amongst the things she left me with this and the note, she said she knew since we were young that we would end up together. Even though we aren’t actually dating, you do remember our promise don’t you? From when we were kids?”

In sync we recalled our promise:

“Forever together and engraved in this tree, when we get older together we will be.”

That was the day we carved our names on our favorite pear tree in their backyard. That was our promise to each other and our way of signing our promise.

“I know this may seem cheesy, sudden, and probably weird. We don’t have to get married right away, and we can date first. I just know for a fact, I’ve always known that I always wanted my bestfriend by my side. A promise to your mom and you. My Lily-pad, will you marry me?”

Staring down at my mom's wedding ring with tears rolling down my face I managed to squeak out a ‘yes’.

And as of right on cue, Bria came skating her way to us effortlessly with her arms wide open.

“Well it’s about time! So, I have an idea for my maid of honor dress, because obviously that is my spot..”

Bria kept rambling on as we all skated back to the end of the lake, Luke’s hand in mine, and our laughter echoing through the trees.

Another chapter for us has started and I couldn’t be happier.

Series
2

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.