Fiction logo

Sights

A barn’s perspective

By Robert HelmaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Under the wind whipped trees and the old autumn skies, grey with their impending rain he sat. Fresh. New. They built him up nice and tall in the back so that I could store not one, but two… yes count ‘em… two tractors!! Pretty tall too! A loft and stalls where hay gets thrown and maybe a few other things. The summer was hot, but board by board the walls came together and the beams were placed; criss-crossed to brace him for any weather and season. Made to last and couldn’t wait to serve for years to come.

Oh… hey there. What’s that you ask? I’ve seen all types of things! In fact a squirrel one time came in through the door while no one was lookin and started dancing about, making the farmer and his daughter scream and holler. It was a hoot.

No, no. I didn’t help at all. I couldn’t move a muscle… I’m as sturdy as they come! No sway in my build and there wasn’t no way I could deter the squirrel. Besides, why would I wanna mess up his fun?! His squirrely chuckle echoed through my high vault ceiling all through the noonday sun. Chipper little guy.

The next season showed no different for the barn. sturdy and surging through most any weather; maybe a chip or a scuff here and there, but it was the price to pay for being the building he was. A giving building with many traits and as he came to find, many uses.

You’re back! Oh my goodness it’s been years! I have so much to tell you, friend. Please come sit. Oh no, not there! Ha ha ha, that is the spot I happen to catch the farmer’s daughter sitting in and writing in her journal. It feels too sacred to sit in… how about over on the bail of hay. Yea! There we go. I hope you’ve been well. Me!? I'm still built strong and tall, as usual! Oh… the hole…. Yea I had a run in with our friend the mower last month. The daughter was learning to drive it, you know like in that one country song with her daddy. Well, the thing got outta hand; just jolted forward instead of back. So now I have a beauty mark! Hahaha! They said we could patch me up next week about two weeks ago, but it’s just been a terrible year for the crops. It hasn’t been getting better for a bit. All I see is the farmer’s head hung low at the end of the harvest and muttering under his breath what he was going to do…. It was rather sad. Hey! Enough of this gloom and doom though. I have a feeling things are going to be looking up. Don’t you worry you’ll come back and I’ll have a whole new story to tell!

The days past… The months and the years grew just as the moss on the western side of his walls did. Older and more brittle with age, our friend was no spring chicken anymore.

Hello? Hello? Oh… It’s just you again. What is it then? I think the calendar is starting to get a little blurry to me. I must say we have seen better days haven’t we? I would say you could have a seat anywhere, but the roof caved in a year back and I think I have a few other friends that are living with us here. If you don’t mind to stay for a chat then I don’t mind keeping you company. It’s not like I have anywhere to go. Oh, the farm? It went under about five years ago. The farmer unfortunately had a stroke and couldn’t tend to it anymore. His daughter married and left and it was just too much for the family. We had some good memories though… Watching that young lady bring a few boys under my cover, So many different successes came after your last visit! We finally got out of that slump that we were in and through quite a bit of amazing crops! In my mind, being the barn I am, I was thinking it would last forever. Sadly I was wrong. Good memories though. I’m not as sturdy as I used to be and the trees around me aren’t any better… Which explains that missing wall over there hahaha. You’d like to stay this time you say? Well why of course you can! I haven’t had a true friendly face stay for some time now, but mind you; I don’t plan on cleaning anything up just for you. You’ll have to take me as I am.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Robert Helma

Hello! I am a amateur in every sense of the word, but I love to write! This is a great experience for me to test my abilities.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.