Fiction logo

siege of post-80s

Part3(3)

By lihaoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

After a while, Xue Zhe slowly said: "Mom chose the dress for our own good. After all, there are many relatives and friends at the wedding. The style should be dignified and not too revealing. And those flowers, maybe the red dotted yard will look better , Mom has chosen, at least we don’t have to worry about it. The car thing is because you don’t have your ID card. Besides, isn’t everyone in the family writing the same name? Mom said that we spend a lot of money and want to see what we buy Something. After getting married, you can’t buy things randomly like before. According to Chinese tradition, women should be diligent and thrifty to manage the house. As for the disorder, it’s because you were too excited when Dad gave us the plane ticket that day.” Xue Zhe lowered his head and smoked silently.

"Air ticket?" Coco recalled the night of the wedding. There were still some guests at home. The father-in-law took out two air tickets and said to Coco: "You all like to go abroad. I think the Aegean Sea in Greece is very suitable for your honeymoon. It is said that many newlyweds My young couple are all going there. Here are the air tickets for you, I hope you have a happy honeymoon."

Coco was very moved when she remembered that she once told Xiaozhe that she had always dreamed of going to the Aegean Sea. Unexpectedly, the father-in-law made such a thoughtful arrangement, so he put his arms around the father-in-law's neck and said loudly: "Thank you, Dad!" and kissed Xue Zhenyu's face lightly.

Coco felt that this move was very common, but Xue Zhe didn't think anything of it, Xue Zhenyu just smiled with a blushing face. Xiao Yuehan's face was gloomy at that time, and he couldn't help explaining to several relatives and friends: "All foreigners are like this. My daughter-in-law grew up abroad and has the same personality as foreigners."

"Xiao Zhe, do you think I'm indiscreet? Is that what you're talking about? He's also my father, you know our habits."

"Coco, I understand. But we are in China, the environment is different. China is very conservative, especially a family like ours. Also, starting tomorrow, you can't wear such clothes, you have to dress modestly, not avant-garde. "

Coco burst into tears suddenly, and the voice became louder and louder. I had just adjusted to life with a mother, but this "mother" changed on the first day after my honeymoon ended. According to my personality, it seems that I should explain clearly to myself face to face, expressing my dissatisfaction and grievance. However, reason has always prevailed, and a voice keeps echoing in my heart telling myself "coco, you are married, you can't contradict your mother-in-law." It fell silently. This is the third time I have shed tears since I was a stubborn person. The first time was when my mother passed away, and the second time was when my mother-in-law prepared pajamas for me. This third time seems to be a little closer to the last time.

Coco's silence made Xue Zhe more uncomfortable than the quarrel that vented out. Although they had been together for a short time, Xue Zhe was more used to the quarrel with him on the day he returned to China because he couldn't meet him immediately. coco, and now, the surroundings are so quiet that only the sound of tears falling can be heard.

Xue Zhe rushed over to hug Coco, and said distressedly: "Honey, I know it's difficult. This may be a cultural difference. We must learn to change. I know this is not easy for you, but let's work hard together, shall we?"

Coco snuggled into Xue Zhe's arms. In the end, the two of them didn't quarrel, and Coco didn't continue to express his dissatisfaction loudly. Suddenly, I felt that in such a big house, this person in front of me was the only relative I could rely on. He is now his husband, the one who will stay with him for the rest of his life. Is my own transformation, or the transformation after marriage that people often say, the same as my own practice at this moment? Although I feel wronged, since marriage is the choice of two people, we must face it bravely.

Maybe, marriage really needs a lot of courage. Coco hugged Xue Zhe tightly, tears wet Xue Zhe's shirt, suffering a little for the one he loves and changing himself is the first lesson he learned from marriage, even though he still has dissatisfaction and grievance in his heart.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.