Fiction logo

Short Stories

Not every story is just a story.

By Elayer For AllPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Short Stories from Elayer For All

These two short stories are fictional.

Money Bag

An Old Man was working in the big house for several years.

One fine day and It was almost evening. The owner and his wife were getting out for some events, suddenly Old man started his voice,

Madam, I've finished my all works and I will be back by Saturday.

Wife asked old man, Why you are leaving so early?

He added, Because I wanted to visit my Granddaughter today, I have to leave early to catch the train.

Suddenly why? owners' wife questioned again.

Tomorrow is the Birthday of my Granddaughter, so I just wanted to spend time with her and celebrate.

Hmm, that's fine, but come early. Owner's wife.

The old man started moving towards the gate.

The owner took out his purse and handed over 2000 to his wife, and asked her to give it to that old man as a bonus.

Owner's wife said, Why again? We already gave him during the last festival right?.

Owner, Why not? he is been here for a long time, and he working greatly without any delay. Although, He is hardly able to manage his expenses and after a long time he is so happy to visit and see his Granddaughter. so I'm not sure how he will be able to manage as these days inflation is high. I just thought it will be better to give a little bonus.

His wife, Oh my god, stop overthinking, you don't want to do these things. Let him go however it is possible.

Owner, Well, I will cancel the new suit that I ordered. With that money, I will give him a bonus.

The wife said in a lower voice, Do whatever you want?.

and snatched those notes from his hand, and called that old man and gave that huge bonus.

[After that]

It was Sunday, as usual, the old man was working. The owner came with paper and sit on that sofa.

Sooner wife came with coffee, and started asking old man,

How was your vacation? Did you spend time with your Granddaughter?

The old man replied, Yes madam, Me and my granddaughter enjoyed a lot and we spent a great time because of you madam. We almost roam around the city with a great feel. I was able to spend the whole 2000 in 3 days.

Wife, Hmm, good, How it was possible for you to spend that bonus in 3 days?

The old man replied with a bright face and smile, 150 for fruits to her family, 500 for my Grand Daughter Dress, 150 for sweets and cake, 250 for games and play, 200 for jewelry and bangles. We spent 250 on the city. While coming back I gave the remaining 500 to her, to purchase books, pens, and colors for her school.

Wife, then how did you reach & return without money?

Old man, no madam, I was saved some money, that was enough for travel expenses. initially, I was worried about seeing my granddaughter with my empty hand. Because of you madam, I was able to make her birthday amazing. Thank you, madam.

The owner was surprised and started glancing at his wife. He saw, his wife with a pinch of tear in her eye. she really never thought giving that bonus will make someone's day and life so happy.

Her mind was changed, and she started comparing the cost of that suit and the old man's expense in terms of making another happy. He didn't even take a single coin from that bonus. He just wanted to see her granddaughter, now he was able to make her happier.

Answer to my Question?

King was in the habit of putting puzzles and riddles to his courtiers. He often asked questions that were strange, witty and few are imaginary, cannot be answered exactly. It always took much wisdom to answer such questions.

One fine day, he asked a very strange question. The courtiers were dumb folded by his question.

King started glancing at his courtiers. As he looked, one by one the heads began to hang low in search of an answer.

King added, Does anyone find the answer to my Question?

A few moments later, One wise minister entered the courtyard. This minister was well versed in almost everything, he is the one who knew the nature of that King, and quickly grasped the situation.

Minister asked, May I know the question Again? so that I can try to answer it.

King repeated his question, How many doves are there in our entire town?

Without even a moment's thought, the minister raised his voice, There are sixty thousand three hundred and forty-seven doves are there in our enter town, my lord.

How can you be so sure about the count? King questioned again.

Minister started, My lord, you can ask your men to count exactly. If they find more doves it means some have come to visit their relatives here. If they find less number of doves it means some have gone to visit their relatives elsewhere.

Everyone was astonished by his wise answer.

King was pleased very much by Minister's wit.

From this story we can say,

Every witty answer can serve its purpose.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Elayer For All

 Edu - Tech - Learn- Invest - Grow

Follow ElayerForAll on Vocal Media, Medium and Quora to read stories, lesson and articles.

https://medium.com/@elayerforall

https://elayerforall.quora.com/

https://www.instagram.com/elayerforall/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.