Fiction logo

Shiftless

the beginning

By Stephy DoePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
2

I couldn’t wait to clock off and go out with my friend. The last couple was still eating, and I was cleaning up another table when my phone vibrated in my pocket. I swatted the hair out of my face and went to grab my phone from my pocket, but someone’s hands were in the way. I tried to move, but they held me still. Great, that’s why I hated this job. I reached for the spray, but he held me tight enough that I couldn’t get enough wiggle room to grab the spray to defend myself.

“I know you play hard to get, but you’re not going to do that with me. Right, sweetheart?” I recognized that voice and instantly became nauseous. Alan Grady was always a handsy drunk. I didn’t want to beat an almost elderly man and his breath reeked of all the alcohol he consumed at the bar next door.

“I’m sorry, Mr. Grady- “I said while trying to grab his hands, but he held me still and tightened his grasp around my hips.

‘Protect?’ I swear I heard in my head and saw a tiny black dog. I must have been exhausted and should request time off, but I had so many bills to pay. My heart started to beat faster.

“Excuse me,” a masculine voice said. I never heard the door open. Great, I wouldn’t be able to clock out after that couple finished eating. He grabbed my arm and I swear I felt a jolt of something tingling up my arm. I guess that was adrenaline.

“I need a word with—” he said and his piercing brown eyes looked me up and down reading my name tag slowly, “Skylar.”

Alan let go of me and glared at the man. I had never seen anyone intervene with that drunk. This man was gorgeous with short brown hair and beautiful soft face. His dark suit made me regret thinking bad about having to stay late.

“What are you, her boyfriend?” Alan said bitterly when the man grabbed me around my waist and pulled me close. He smelled so good.

“Yes, this is my boyfriend,” I answered before he could say anything. I needed to get Alan off my back. Hopefully this man will understand and lie with me. The man’s grip around me tightened for a second, but then he let go of me. I think I heard him growl. “Do you want me to fix you something to eat, baby?” I said and winked at him.

He nodded and smiled as I walked quickly to the back room. My heart was still beating wildly in my chest. I rushed to the fridge and picked out the best steak in there and threw it on the grill. I would pay for giving the best steak we had to someone that wasn’t deemed ‘special’ enough by my boss’s standard, but this man helped me. If it cost me my job, then so be it. I grilled the steak and took it out when it was just browning on the outside and was still a juicy pink on the inside.

I had propped open the door to carry out the steak. “Do not ever touch her again,” the man said, holding Alan’s shirt around the collar. When he saw me, he let go of Alan. “I’m serious,” he said in a final warning. He sat down at the booth closest to the kitchen door and just glared at Alan. I couldn’t believe this man was sticking up for me to this extent. When he caught the sight of me coming in his direction, I could sense the anger melt away from him.

“Here you go: a steak just how you like it, baby,” I said to the man since Alan was still within ear shot. He grabbed the napkin on the table and took out a pen from his front suit pocket. He scribbled something down and handed it to me when I put the plate down on the table. I pocketed the note and walked back to clean the dirty table. I briefly glanced at the note and read his name 'James Mullins'.

'Mine?' the little black dog asked quietly. I became so dizzy and reached down to grab the table to steady myself, but I missed. He had to hold on to me for a few more minutes. He grabbed my arm for a few seconds, and I swear I saw his eyes change color to a more golden brown. When did he get up?

“I’m so sorry, I must be too tired. I clock off at 10,” I couldn’t help but inhale his sweet masculine scent. Alan rolled his eyes and stomped out the dinner turning to glare at me and James before slamming the door behind him.

He put his arms around me tightly to steady me. “I know it can feel overwhelming at first. Surely your parents told you about,” James whispered in my ear. I started crying. Great, I didn’t want to appear weak next to this hot man and he had already made me cry by mentioning my parents. He hugged me tightly. “Did they not tell you?” he whispered slowly. I shook my head and buried my face in his shirt from embarrassment.

The little black dog appeared in my head again, she was wagging her tail happily. I must be really tired. I moved out of his warm arms and turned to clean the table. He started helping me clean the table.

“No, you can’t help. If my boss finds out, he would fire me,” I said but didn’t move to really stop him. I could barely stand up. What was wrong with me? I wiped the sweat off my face.

“Waitress, waitress! Miss Skylar!” the woman yelled and I turned to see the old woman grabbing her purse. I forgot about how I brought the couple their usual bill before Alan grabbed me again. I worried about whether they were going to give me a tip or not this time. I needed the money so bad.

“I left the cash on the table. Whatever’s left is yours as always Skylar” the man said and wrapped his arm lovingly around his wife as they left the building. They were regulars. I loved serving them. They made this job worth it. The man usually gave me a huge tip. He understood that I had barely made enough from this job.

I started cleaning the table and James went to sit down to eat his food. It was still warm and he ate pretty quickly. Then, he started cleaning his table and kept eyeing the clock. He managed to finish his food with five minutes to spare. I approached the table to collect the dishes and he held out his hand.

"James Mullins," he said as I shook his hand and that terrifying shock went up my arm again. " I'll walk you home tonight..." I held on to his hand as dizziness overtook me.

The little dog in my head jumped up and down. What was this? Some childish crush on a dude for saving me from Alan?

"Yes, please," I said and I tried to pull my hand away from his, but the dog in my head growled angrily at me. Man, I think I'm having a nervous breakdown.

Sci Fi
2

About the Creator

Stephy Doe

I write fiction. I want to draw you into a story to the point that you are on the edge of your seat waiting to see what happens next....

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Loved and subscribed! Can't wait to read more of your work! Consider having a look at money and if you like it, please subscribe... there's a lot to come!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.