Fiction logo

She's My Man

Xlipto- Part 4

By Edara OtukPublished 6 months ago 5 min read
Like

"Echos

Echos...

Echos of heartbeats"

The voice whispered. It was a voice of a woman. Buzan thought it would be the High Priestess'.

And then the next voice got him confused. It was that of a man.

It continued from where the woman's stopped.

"Time Time

I am boundless..."

Woman- " Across the 'verses

United as one"

Man- "I am what was

What is

What will be"

Woman- "Strange separation,

So close, forbidden,

So far"

Together- " Echos,

Heartbeats,

Strange indeed".

The words kept resounding in Buzan's ears while he stood there dumbfounded. As much as he wanted to turn on his heels , he was desperate and the words he heard only rendered him more lost and and confuse than how he was when he first arrived.

Buzan stood there stricken with fear and lost in thought. The words made no sense to him; not that he was in any condition to make use of his brain.

He really needed to understand what the Priestess or Priest (whoever they were that spoke) meant. That could be the only thing closest to finding his way to where he needed to be. Determined to see it to the end, he opened his mouth to talk but his body wasn't in sync with his mind. It was still paralysed in fear and his dried throat couldn't manage a sound.

He tried again, swallowing as much saliva that he could squeeze from its gland to lubricate his voice box but to no avail. Dejected, he dropped to the ground on all four, not caring how disgusting it felt to have his palms on the ground.

All he needed were answers and if he couldn't even ask, how would he get?

wallowing in self pity, he didn't notice before him was the priestess .

"How desperate are you?" she asked sneering

Her question at first went unnoticed. She tapped his head lightly with her staff to draw his attention.

"How desperate are you for your mate ", she asked again, turning away from him.

The sudden realization of what he was being asked by the stranger got him springing up. The Priestess was already moving away from him. thankfully, his brain was quick enough to do the maths, he ran up to her, kneeling close up;

"I would do anything to be with my mate Priestess. I would be a fool if otherwise".

"It is not a question of what you can do, but most of all, what you are willing to sacrifice", the Priestess said turning around to face him while he remained kneeling and looking down at the floor of the temple.

"I do not exaggerate when I say I would do anything it'd take to be with my mate wise one, I'd give up whatsoever I have to give up, you just have to tell me if I stand a chance and no matter how low the chance is, I will gratefully take it".

The Priestess chuckled at his response and at the sound, Buzan lifted up his face to look at the Priestess. The face he saw sure didn't produce that sound. The wrinkled old face stared down hard at him without a hint on smile. She had hair almost as white as snow and eyes as blue as an ocean.

Buzan was fanscinated by her eyes. The cold still eyes had flames of fire dancing in them. It was as if they were taunting and laughing at him. He was almost leaning in when the priestess' voice jerked him to the present.

"What can you give up to have the life that you seek?" she asked raising her left eyebrow as if she was daring him to give up whatever he held dear.

"I would like to say anything Priestess but it would be helpful if you told me what I have to give up to get what I want".

The Priestess smirked.

"Son of Xlipto, I fear you can't get what you want", she said with no emotion on her face. Your fate has been written, you can do whatever it would take but you can not be with your mate, not in the way that you want. I would advice you to choose for yourself a beautiful xliptian, not everyone has the chance of having their mates. "

"How will I be able to live with another when I already know that my mate is out there..."

"Out there in a universe you can't get to you mean?", the priestess completed with a finalizing tone.

At this point Buzan felt dejected. He bowed face flat on the ground, a manner the xliptians use to ask for mercy and reconsideration.

"Great one, Your wisdom is timeless and boundless, your power unequalled. You just have to think it and it would be great one. I plead my case, I want to be by my mate's side and I do not mind the cost".

"Forces are against you son and your fate has been determined. You can be with your mate but forces are truly against you. I see no future where you can have your happily ever after".

"If I can just be with my mate, I would take that chance, whatever the cost"

The priestess started humming and swirling around. She lifted her hands up like she was making a prayer, her staff still in her right hand. She twirled and twirled increasing her speed with each turn and then suddenly stopped.

"You have difficult choices ahead of you to make son of Xlipto. Earth you shall be!"

Buzan wasn't sure if he should be excited about the news. The menacing way the priestess gave what was supposed to be a good news gave him chills.

"What do I have to give in exchange Priestess?"

The question earned him a hard stare. She stared down on him like she was disserting his soul and then suddenly laughed, showing her flawlessly white teeth.

"My eyes would be on you Buzan. I, myself would love to know where your heart would take you".

"Go to bed and wake up to your desire. It's a give and take and fate doesn't always play a favourable tune."

With that the Priestess disappeared into the thin air.

thrillerYoung AdultSeriesMysteryLoveFantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Edara Otuk

I am a passionate wordsmith with a flair for story telling. I strive to create works that resonate and inspire. In every piece, I infuse a piece of my soul; I pour my heart into every word, hoping to leave you with a thought or a smile.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.