Fiction logo

She Gets the Flowers, Right?

A short story

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
She Gets the Flowers, Right?
Photo by Leonardo Wong on Unsplash

Catherine could feel her face get red and hot, she could feel her eyes welling up with tears, she sniffed trying to hold back the tears. Catherine let out a deep and uneven breath.

"I don't understand Matt, I don't get it. How long has this been going on?" she asked him quietly.

"We have been seeing each other for a month now," he replied and it looked like he was almost smiling as if he had told her a cruel joke.

"What? a whole month?" she asked. "A whole month! You were cheating on me for a whole month? And with my roommate?" her voice was now raised her makeup was smudging and running down her face. Streaks of black eye-liner came rolling down.

“We have been together for nearly three years though...wait, you weren't the one that delivered the flowers were you?" she accused.

"I did," he said in an even tone.

"She gets the flowers?" Catherine said in disbelief and she sat down on the couch, he remained standing still like a pole. His face; nearly expressionless. "We have been together for three years and you never bought me flowers," Catherine said as tears kept pouring down her face, she wiped them away with her sleeve, but they kept coming. "I see, so she gets the flowers, she gets the treatment that she deserves and I get nothing, you won't even make me dinner, but I am guessing she gets it all..."

"Sorry," he said softly and he knelt down to Catherine.

"No, you're not. I thought I was the one for you...I thought you said you loved me, but then she gets the flowers? How am I supposed to make sense of this?" she asked him. They both remained in the room in silence.

"We need you to move out by the end of the month," he said suddenly and he placed a hand on her knee. She looked up at him and slapped him across the face, he fell backward completely talent aback. She could see the imprint of her hand on his face, he tried to hold back his tears from the pain.

"That post on Facebook was not about us? It was about her, so she gets the flowers and the posts? I get nothing. Again. I am nothing to you," she said now she was screaming, but it felt like she was talking to him in an even tone. "Nothing!"

"She gets everything! she gets the apartment!" she shouted and she picked up a vase and threw it in his direction, it missed him and shattered on the floor. "She gets the fancy dinners! She gets to go to my favorite restaurant!" she picked up a picture frame of where a photo of Matt and herself, on a hiking trip together and she threw it on the floor, not even aiming at him anymore. The glass shattered in pieces and the photo fell to the floor.

"You had excuses for me! Excuses for everything!" she walked over to the bookshelf and knocked them off the shelf with a swing of her arm.

"And she gets the fucking flowers!" she tried to push the bookshelf over and it only wobbled. "I asked you to get me flowers for my birthday and you could not even do that for me!" she screeched and she fell to the floor and cried.

Her head hurt from the lack of oxygen, her heart felt like it was being torn into pieces, it felt like the world beneath her was crashing down all at once. Her face started to turn purple from not breathing. She leaned against the wall, trying to get a breath in, she gasped for air as tears rolled down her cheeks. Matt walked towards her.

"Just leave, I will be out of here by the end of the month. Leave."

"But-" he started to say.

"No, you don't get to say anything because she got the flowers and I got nothing," she said weakly as she lifted her knees up to her face. Matt crossed the room and she did not even look up to see him leave. The door shut quietly behind him. She sniffed, Catherine felt light-headed, she picked up the photo that fell out of the frame and glanced at it, she tore it apart without turning it over and she threw the pieces on the floor. She put her knees into her chest and hugged herself.

Because she gets the flowers, right?

Love
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.