Fiction logo

She Came From The West Midlands

Look out, jealous Jenny!

By Doc SherwoodPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was going into town again with Jenny’s sister and we were waiting at the bus stop. A girl with little bunches in her long straight hair came along to wait too. From first glance I couldn’t keep my eyes off her as she approached, and I think she noticed because she smiled. Then she walked into the bus-shelter and positively filled it up with her nice clean smell.

I was turning pink very fast, and my small friend next to me noticed this.

“OMG!” she scoffed aloud.

“Shush, she’ll hear!” I whispered, almost frantic. I dared a feverish glance at the other girl and she was smiling, so I guessed she had heard. Once Jenny’s sister and I were on the bus together though, safely out of earshot, I confessed that she was right.

“I can’t help it if that sounds creepy to you,” I went on. “’Cause I can’t help getting like this either,” and I made the last word go on for about ten seconds in a long low groan. I really was starting to talk like someone Jenny’s sister’s age.

“Then you so need to get with her,” she stated. “Who'd wanna be with the Sister From Uranus anyway? She smells like that old peach in the fruit bowl that’s gone off.”

“When did you last eat anything out of the fruit bowl?” I inquired, making her giggle.

The girl with bunches bumped off the bus ahead of us and next second was in the arms of a boy her age. I so didn’t want to watch them kiss, which hurt too much after getting a smile from her at the previous bus stop and the wild hopes it had raised. So I looked away sadly, and Jenny’s sister really was sweet because she didn’t tease me once or even talk about it.

At least, she didn’t while we were on our sweets and fizzy drinks run! When we got to the bus stop again to go home the same girl was there too, on her own now. I knew Jenny’s sister always got ideas into her little head when she was on a sugar-rush! Because they’d seen each other that morning, she and the girl exchanged friendly “Hey”s while Jenny’s sister glugged down the last from her really huge can of pop.

“Getting your smell on, are you?” my new crush asked her with that smile I’d so fallen for, and a West Midlands acccent had never sounded so sexy. “Love those myself.”

“Gotta have it,” agreed Jenny’s sister, then told her straight out: “BTW my friend here really wants to get with you even though you’ve got a BF.”

As Jenny's sister would have put it herself...OMG! I knew she thought she was doing me a favour but I tried to shush her at once, blushing and barely able to look at the older girl.

She however just laughed. “Is he always this shy?” she asked. “The pair of you should come to my party, it’s tomorrow night.”

“Um, you’ve got to excuse my friend, she’s of pick-and-mix induced unsound judgement,” I managed with a trembly laugh.

”Look, scan my phone,” the girl went on to Jenny’s sister, and they arranged it. That meant there was nothing for me to do but commit myself, but when I did she gave me another smile that made my heart flutter. I smiled bravely back, loving her little bunches.

As soon as I was home I called my friend from school, and asked him if I could stay at his for the night as I urgently needed to talk to someone about this. He was fine with it, and said he’d see me then. Knowing my luck though, I should have guessed right then it wasn’t going to go according to plan!

Series
Like

About the Creator

Doc Sherwood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.