Fiction logo

Severance Pay

Finding happiness

By Blue DymondPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
5
Severance Pay
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

“So, what are you going to do girl?” Rachel asked her best friend Sandra as they walked into the corner store.

“Man, I have no idea. I really just want to be at home you know?”

“Doesn’t everybody? When Jayden was born, I had to be back at work 5 weeks later in order to keep us with a roof over our heads. I was so happy when Greg came into our lives and was able to help me out. Still, at the end of the day what mother doesn’t want to sit and watch their babies grow?”

“Yeah, that’s true but its also more than that I’m not trying to just sit around Rach. I want to be a mother and a writer at the same time. At least with that I make my own schedule. Right now, working a 9-5 in an office all day is just not cutting it. Don’t forget the fact that boss lady calls me all day on my off days since she refuses to carry her work around. It’s like I never have time to just enjoy being a mother and writer separately. Does that make sense?”

As if on cue Sandra’s phone rang and she groaned before stopping in the middle of the aisle to pull out the black notebook that was filled with her boss’ notes, aspirations for the company, and scheduled activities for the next year.

She undid the elastic band to open the notebook and rummaged through her purse for a pen before answering.

“This is Sa-, uh, yes ma’am. No, tomorrow you have a 10 o’clock with Mr. Rainey in regards to- “

Rachel rolled her eyes in annoyance at the way her friend allowed their boss Mrs. Banks to constantly call and disrespect her time. She was happy that she didn’t have to work so up close in personal with Mrs. Banks like Sandra did because she didn’t think she could put up with her neediness no matter how much the pay was.

“Yes, ma’am. I’m scheduling it now” Sandra mumbled scribbling everything that she wanted done on Monday morning. Sandra learned long ago that she had to have the notebook on her wherever she went since she knew she’d receive a call at least once.

Hanging up she finished writing and then put her phone and her notebook back in her purse before looking around for some snacks.

“Don’t stand there and act like there’s nothing wrong with her calling you all day Sandra. That’s why you’re stressed you barely have an off day because she doesn’t allow you to go one day without hearing her voice.”

“Okay friend, first off I’m not stressed I just don’t want to do it anymore. Yeah, she is demanding, but I can’t complain too much because without this job I would’ve never been able to take care of Shiloh. As needy as Mrs. Banks is, she also pays for her daycare and provides some really good health care for us. No other job I do is going to do that.

“She can’t be doing too much if you still living in the same income-based apartments as the rest of us. You still living paycheck to paycheck and scraping up dollars at the end of the month for food. And, like you already said, you’re missing time with your baby. That's what you claim to want, time right?”

Sandra took her friends words to heart more than she usually did. Now that her daughter was going on 3 years old and becoming more independent, she was starting to realize just how much of her life she’d missed out on. Shiloh had taken her first steps, said her first words, and went potty for the first time all while at daycare.

While she wasn’t happy with her situation, she knew that she was beyond fortunate. Even if she could go find a job paying more it wouldn’t mean less hours and the extra money she did start making would just go towards the added expense of 150 a week to put her daughter into daycare.

Rachel glared at her friend and decided not to push her too hard. Being a single mother herself once upon a time she knew how hard it was to pay rent, bills, and then find a good daycare on top of that. There weren’t many other jobs that were paying enough to take care of necessities and there wasn’t any other job that she knew of offering to take care of daycare.

“Does Jayden eat these Cheeto’s? It’s a shame I don’t even know if Shiloh still likes them” Sandra said absently as she picked them up off the shelf. She grabbed a few more bags of chips, some fruity snacks, and a couple of drinks to enjoy for their picnic in the park.

“Girl why are you trying to feed these kids all this junk. I swear if Jayden starts bouncing off the walls, he’s going home with you.”

Sandra laughed as she dropped all the treats on the counter for the clerk to ring up.

“Oh. Add these too” Rachel dropped the scratch off tickets onto the counter and Sandra shook her head.

“Girl you still playing these lotto cards. By the time you win the only thing they’ll be doing is paying you your money back”

“Quit playing. You need to grab some yourself. Maybe you’ll get lucky”

Sandra looked at the scratch off’s and shook her head causing her friend to smack her lips and toss two more on the counter. They paid for everything and walked out the store.

“So, tell me more about this writing gig you want to do if you magically meet a rich man that promises to take care of you and my niece”

“First off, I would never. I don't mind working for my own thank you very much. Secondly, it’s not a writer’s gig. I want to be an Author. I have so many ideas just flying in my head Rach, I mean like fiction, fantasy, children’s book everything! I just need time. It’s like every time I find a moment to breathe, I have to give it to Shiloh because I’m already absent enough you know?”

Rachel nodded her head halfway listening as she made quick work on her scratch off’s.

“So how much does somebody make being a writer?”

“Not much starting off but it would be enough for Shiloh and me to live off of. I wouldn’t have to pay for day care, and I’d be at home with her all day. I think the drop in pay would be worth it. “

“ooh girl look, you would've won 100$ off yours if you would've just bought it!” Rachel squeaked in excitement.

Sandra smiled at her friend’s giddiness as she turned back into their apartments. Looking around at the trash riddled park and all the young kids sitting on the electric box talking trash and joking with each other Sandra knew that she had to get Shiloh out of their soon. She didn’t want her daughter growing up in that kind of environment only to later have kids of her own and be stuck there too.

“All I know is you’re a good one. Boss lady wouldn’t be calling me on my off days unless she was paying me for it. They both laughed before going to pick up the kids to make their way to their picnic.

. . .

The next day Sandra went to work with a pep in her step. She felt better about admitting that she wasn’t into her job anymore. The night before, once she got Shiloh to sleep, she sat up for hours outlining all of her ideas and creating folders for the work. She promised herself that no matter what she’d do an hour everyday after Shiloh went down. She knew with that commitment she’d eventually have finished work.

“Good morning Mrs. Banks.” She smiled as her boss passed her desk to go into her office.

“Good morning Ms. Peltier can you meet me in my office please.”

“yes ma’am” she stood quickly, grabbed the black notebook, and followed her inside.

“So, I understand that you want to be a writer.” She sated as she sat behind her oak desk. Sandra’s heart dropped to her stomach. She couldn’t figure out if she’d spoke in front of her or if someone had overheard her and Rachel talking in the break room. Either way she knew there was no way it was a coincidence she was bringing it up.

“Yes eventually”

“look, I’m going to be completely honest. I overheard you talking to a friend yesterday after I called about my demands. “

Sandra hands started shaking and her heart was daring to beat itself right out of her chest as she listened to the sarcasm in her bosses tone.

“Ma’am, I’m sorry. That was completely unpro-”

Mrs. Banks held up her hand to stop Sandra's apology. Standing up she went to the shelf next to her bay windows and pulled a manila folder from under a set of books. Walking back to the desk she handed it to her and sat down as she watched her eyes fill with tears while scanning the documents.

“A severance package. You’re letting me go? Mrs. Banks I’m so sorry I didn’t mean- “

“Sandra, I’m giving you your dream. You mentioned that you wanted time, well there it is. I’m going on vacation with my husband. 6 months on a boat in the open ocean. You will still get paid biweekly, but you will be doing all of your work at home, at most, up to about an hour a day. Just pushing meetings and calls out until I get back. What you are looking at in your hands is a twenty-thousand-dollar bonus.”

Sandra stared at her in shock as she looked back down at the paperwork in her hands. She couldn’t form words to magnify just how appreciative she felt. Tears fell onto the documents as she flipped through them once again making sure she was reading them correctly.

“If after the 6 months are up and you’re more content with your writing career then yes it doubles as your severance package. If not, then you can come back to work with us no questions asked. You are the best assistant that I’ve ever had Sandra and it took for me to hear your those words yesterday in order for me to fully appreciate all that you do in this office. I want you to know that if you do decide to leave your presence will be missed but at the same time we are rooting for you.”

Sandra felt like she was going to breakdown at any moment. There was no way to stop the tears from falling and she felt as if she vocalized her thanks her boss would see her do a full-blown ugly cry in her office.

“I know it’s a lot to take in so why don’t you take the day, and you decide what you want to do. If you decide you don’t want to write, then enjoy your 6 months’ vacation with your little one. No matter what the bonus is yours.”

“Thank you so much Mrs. Banks I can’t even begin to express how thankful I am of you” Sandra squeaked out. Walking around the desk she gave her boss a hug before walking towards the door.

“Hey Sandra”

“Yes ma’am?”

“There’s no signal on the water so you won’t have to worry about my demanding calls ok?”

They both shared a laugh and Sandra continued from the office to grab her purse and go home for the day. Today was the beginning to her brand-new life.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Blue Dymond

A little bit of everything from Psyche, to fiction, to poems. Come take a look around, we're all friends here!

Instagram: @thatgirlbluedymond

Facebook: Blue Dymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.