Fiction logo

Serving as Maid of Honor at My Ex's Wedding Reception(Episode One)

rear-ended a rolls-royce wedding car, encountered boyfriend's marriage

By Action-packed StoryPublished 26 days ago 4 min read
1
Rolls-Royce

On the day I got my driver's license, I encountered a Rolls-Royce wedding car with a familiar license plate.

My dad treasures this car a lot; he spent millions on customizing it, so there's no way he'd lend it to anyone.

I was following too closely and ended up rear-ending it.

Two people got out of the wedding car, striding aggressively towards my car.

My heart skipped a beat, and my hands trembled as I gripped the steering wheel.

The groom, it turns out, was my boyfriend, Tory?

Didn't he go back to his hometown to take care of his seriously ill mother? Before he left, he even asked me to help him with his assignments!

And now he's getting married to someone else??

I couldn't believe it; maybe it's his identical twin brother...

So I pulled out my phone to call him, and then, the groom's phone rang.

Well, the clown turned out to be me...

As I stepped out of the car holding the phone with the ongoing call, the expressions on all three faces became remarkably vivid.

The bride, shining in a white wedding dress under the sunlight, pointed at me and scolded,

"Are you insane? Deliberately crashing into our car just because you saw us driving a luxury car? Your methods of trying to catch a man are despicable."

My heart sank; after all, I had been in a relationship with him for three years, with genuine feelings. I looked at Tory, furrowing my brows, and asked,

"Tory, what's going on?"

The bride also looked suspicious, clinging to Tory's arm and coquettishly asking,

"Honey, do you know her?"

Tory's gaze dodged mine, but he quickly embraced the bride's waist to comfort her,

"She's a former admirer from my university days. Probably saw that we were getting married and lost control of her emotions."

The bride snorted coldly, a look of confirmation on her face,

"Well, that's just shameless. Knows the score but still tries to play. "Hehe."

"So, was I dating a dog for over three years?"

"Forget it, honey, let's go. Don't delay the wedding. Besides, this poor guy can't afford the repair costs," the bride arrogantly glanced at me, holding onto Tory's arm.

Tory nodded indulgently and prepared to return to the car, holding her hand.

No, I'm going to burst out laughing.

If the dog of a man wants to cheat, fine, I'll pretend I didn't see it.

But that Rolls-Royce belongs to my dad, why do they have the right to refuse repairs?

I rushed forward, blocking their way:

"Wait."

Tory looked at me helplessly, "Xu Yuan, the person I love now is Leona. Please stop bothering me."

He said vaguely in front of his new bride:

"Since we once loved each other, don't make things difficult for me, okay?"

At that moment, I felt sorrow for my past foolishness.

How did I not notice his warped values, worse than the leading lady in a romantic drama?

I pointed to the scratched Rolls-Royce:

"The repair costs should be substantial. Let's call the insurance company to assess the damage."

The bride sneered, "Don't be ridiculous. You country bumpkin, driving around in a broken van, can you afford it?"

"Yeah, Leona doesn't care about you anymore, so why bother?"

Tory looked puzzled, warning me sternly, "Stop wasting your time. I won't be with you! We're not on the same level anymore."

I ignored them, called the insurance, and reported to the police.

Not only that, I took pictures of the accident scene from every angle.

After all, my family's money didn't come from nowhere.

When they heard I called the police, the bride's face changed slightly.

She walked away to make a call, then returned to Tory and said:

"Honey, let's take a taxi to the hotel first. My dad will send someone to handle this."

Tory seemed reluctant, "But...isn't it improper to not take the wedding car to the venue?"

The bride pouted and complained, "It's all because of this annoying accident. We have to wait for the police and insurance company. How long will that take?"

"Do you want my family to wait at the hotel forever?"

Tory immediately became tender and considerate again, "Sweetheart, don't worry. I'll order a better car with a ride-hailing app. I won't let you suffer."

"Oh, honey, you're so thoughtful."

The two of them walked away, clinging to each other. This time, I didn't stop them.

Because in that moment, I saw through the true nature of this man: vanity, and reaching for the stars.

If I were to expose the bride's identity now, it would be helping Tory to turn back from the edge, which would be too cheap for him.

Young AdultShort StorySatireLove
1

About the Creator

Action-packed Story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.