Fiction logo

Sello

By Ofentse Tladi.

By OfentsešŸŒøPublished 8 months ago ā€¢ 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
41

On the 13th of August, when everything seemed normal, my sister placed a pregnancy test in front of me. We were going back and forth, the truth refusing to ever leave my mouth and when it finally happened - when it was finally revealed, my world changed forever.

We hurriedly walked, hands intertwined, to the nearest clinic. She wasnā€™t angry, she wasnā€™t shouting. We just walked, arrived and got rid of it. I never apologised to her. I never should have lied to her. I never thanked her. We never spoke about it again.

She smiled and laughed with mama, and I felt awkward knowing what had happened. How was she so calm? So relaxed, so her. I couldnā€™t bring it up, she never let me. I had to smile, laugh and hope that there wasnā€™t a void that was once filled inside me.

On the 13th of August, when everything changed, I noticed my sister crying in the middle of the night. We had gotten rid of it. It was somehow finally over but she wept with her eyes tightly closed like the same void that was within me was in her.

I didnā€™t fall back into sleep, I couldnā€™t fall back into sleep. I laid there and wept silently with her. We didnā€™t look at each other, we never held each other. Our backs and feet were all there ever was to contact as they faced each other.

She eventually fell asleep and I wanted to but I couldnā€™t. It was then that I felt that it wasnā€™t ever over.

On the 18th of August, when everything felt like it was back to normal, mama walked into my room and slapped me across the face.

She had tears, uncontrollably running down her face and my sister followed behind her with no sign of any emotion on her face.

ā€œO setlatla!ā€ the words rang in my face. I blocked all the other words that came after and stormed out, feeling the walls sucking me in.

She promised! It wasnā€™t verbal but she acted like it never happened. She laughed! She smiled! We never spoke about it!

How was she so evil? So vile, so her.

On the 20th of August, when everything was completely shattered, I watched my sister pour water into the bathtub.

She was humming softly and without thought, I smashed her head. I placed the brick back on the floor, immediately stopping the door from shutting.

The blood came quick. Everywhere, all at once.

I walked out the bathroom and stood still. Watching, watching and watching until I just couldnā€™t.

ā€œBoitumelo!ā€ My motherā€™s voice was loud. I ran into the bathroom, pushed the brick further in and shut the door.

What had I just done? So stupid, so unlike me.

On the 25th of August, when everything was no more, I screamed as loud as I could, hoping that someone would save me.

I kept seeing the blood everywhere, all at once in the jail cell and I couldnā€™t stop it. It wouldnā€™t stop.

It felt like she was there. Screaming, begging like I was. Wondering what she had done to deserve such a cruel death.

ā€œO setlatla!ā€ the words kept ringing as if mama was close by.

She promised! It wasnā€™t verbal but she did! And she had broken it! She hummed! She showed no emotion! She lied!

On the 30th of August, when I was barely hanging on, I dreamt of my sister and a little boy I had never seen.

She wasnā€™t angry, she wasnā€™t shouting. We slowly walked, hands intertwined, to a bench close by. I wanted to apologise to her, I wanted to hold her.

She picked the little boy up, placed him on her lap, smiled and held my hand.

ā€œSello o tla dula a nale wena.ā€

The End.

Short Storyfamily
41

About the Creator

OfentsešŸŒø

South African Based Writer šŸ‡æšŸ‡¦ā¤ļø

ā€œSimply writing to hold onto my sanityā€

~ anonymous.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Catherine Nyomenda8 months ago

    Coherent. I love the flow of your story, very creative.

  • Zafdy Boo8 months ago

    https://vocal.media/fiction/the-racer-2-redemption-on-the-track-vu2p01fb

  • ABRAHAM OMONIYI8 months ago

    This awesome keep it up

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I read this yesterday and was so blown away, I had to sit on it. This is truly stunning writing. The multiple refrains "so her" "she promised, it wasn't verbal, but she did" "o setlatla!" really give this piece a poetic, almost song-like quality. I am completely enraptured by the way you tell this story, almost without being direct about anything at all. It's indirect enough to know what happens, but the emotional weight is placed at a distance, such that the reader is crying while being pushed away. Does that make sense? It's an unusual interplay between narrative distance and first person voice, yet it works perfectly. I can't even be mad at our speaker at the end of it all. She is hurting, just like everyone is in this story. And, I must say, I love that you included the dream at the end. That closure was like breathing after being suffocated for several minutes. To me, including the little boy forces the reader to confront the realities of how violence leads to more violence, how one act can cascade into the destruction of relationships. Yet, you redeemed all that, even still. Amazing, amazing! Absolutely well-deserved Top Story. You wrote a masterful piece, here.

  • Beth L8 months ago

    What I want to know is why people are ALWAYS in a hurry? Even on the weekends. Hurrying and worrying do not add ONE second to your life. So, maybe they're not Jerks. They are just idiots. The world is full of those

  • Mantasha8 months ago

    you write so well hats off....

  • Osundwa. A Winfred8 months ago

    wow, that was intense and captivating to read

  • Kayla Alden8 months ago

    I honestly was just hooked from beginning to end. I am at a loss for words really. Just incredible heartbroken but yet so captivated by that. Fantastic work. Really Well-done. New Follower here.

  • E.K. Daniels8 months ago

    This was intense. Well done!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Wow that was intense! The flow of the narrative was intoxicating, and it carried me through seamlessly from paragraph to paragraph. I loved the multi-day nature of it, almost like a diary.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Wow! You are so very gifted. What a joy to see this brilliant story represented here. You alone merited this win. Ah! This story was worth my fight and heartache to see more Black stories highlighted on TS. Congratulations my dear.

  • Masterful build of tension... Great storytelling! šŸ‘

  • L.C. SchƤfer8 months ago

    You have a gift and a half. When you publish your book, I'll buy it.

  • your writing craft is exceptional... the story creates a chill. well done.

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Brilliant storytelling. The timeline was a very nice touch, especially with the "whens" for each date. Well done and congratulations!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Woah, that was a lot in such a brief piece! Loved the progression of dates. Very well done! šŸ‘šŸ½šŸ’«

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    I loved this story about tough choices. Congrats on your top story!

  • KJ Aartila8 months ago

    An amazon, powerful and fascinating story! Very nice! ā¤ļø

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    What a powerful story! I couldn't help but ask ChatGPT about the key word, and that's what it produced, "In the context of a mother saying "setlatla" to her daughter who just had a secret abortion, the term could be a derogatory comment implying that the daughter is "barren" or "unfruitful," much like an unproductive tree. This usage might carry a heavy emotional weight, suggesting that the daughter has failed to fulfill expectations related to fertility or motherhood." Is this correct?

  • A. Meep8 months ago

    That was a whirlwind, not too much, not too little, just enough. Thank you.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!ā¤ļøā¤ļøšŸ’•

  • Hana Cho8 months ago

    It was an amazing story! can you read my story too?

  • Test8 months ago

    Brilliantly written and so powerful! Congratulations on Top Story! šŸ¤

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Crikey, this is so succinctly potent, great work.

  • Hannah Logan8 months ago

    This is genius and fierce and brave.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.