Fiction logo

Seizedgaze

Made spell bound by the beauty

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 7 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
7
Seizedgaze
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

I never woke up early enough to see the sunrise, but last night I had fallen asleep on the beach. It had not been planned. I had brought my camera to take photos of the sunset. I took some photos and then froze, in a daze overwhelmed by the beauty. It was as if I had been caught in a witch's spell, I was frozen in wonderment. Unable to move, unable to think, the night passed.

I was still sitting in the same position when I awoke. I wondered how I had even slept. I was relieved to see that I still had my wallet, phone and my camera. I reviewed my pictures from last night. This morning my mind was free. I was not seizedgazed, as I reviewed my photos and snapped a few more. I wondered if God had purposely slowed me down. I had missed last nights party. God's nature and it's beauty had won . I could do without a few drinks. This morning I felt peaceful and relaxed. As if the wonders of nature had removed all my stress. No one had called. I guess nobody had missed me at the party. But for some reason that felt unimportant in my peace this morning. I did not rush home , in the peace of the morning, I just sat

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was such a wonderful story! I loved the word seizedgaze!

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    gorgeous work Antoinette! šŸ˜

  • Test7 months ago

    šŸŒ… What a captivating story! Nature's beauty can truly cast a spell on us, making us forget the world. Your experience is a reminder of how powerful and calming the embrace of Mother Nature can be. šŸ“·

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Loving your new word & story!!!šŸ’•ā¤ļøā¤ļø

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Great take to the Challenge, I might even used your word, Seizedgaze šŸ‘

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.