Fiction logo

Secret Love

๐Ÿ’œ

By Rene PetersPublished 4 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
6
Secret Love
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Taylor had a great friend, Mary Jane. For quite a while, probably about a month or so, Taylor kept this secret from Mary Jane. She already had the thought, "If I tell her the truth, how will she react? Will she be mad? Will she hate me?" So, she continued to not say anything about it. The secret eventually started to eat her alive. Taylor was unintentionally hinting the secret to Mary Jane. She wanted to be honest but was terrified of any potential consequences.

Eventually, the feelings got so strong that Taylor just blurted out, "I really like you. Please don't be mad at me. I do understand if you are though," as she held back tears from embarrassment and anger towards herself. Taylor immediately regretted being honest. She knew it was wrong. Mary Jane had been in a committed relationship and had children close to Taylor's age. If she was interested in the slightest, how could this ever work?

"I realized a few weeks ago. Now that you actually said it, there's something I need to tell you."

"What is it?" Taylor asked, overwhelmed with fear.

"I love you," Mary Jane said, as confidently as someone saying that for the first time could.

All of a sudden, Taylor felt butterflies in her stomach, stuttering as she questioned, "You-you do? I've been so scared to say anything because you're my friend and I was scared it would ruin everythi-"

Mary Jane interrupted Taylor's fears by kissing her. "Do you believe me now?" Both women smiled, Taylor's face turned as red as a tomato.

"Yes," Taylor said, still blushing with a smile from ear to ear.

LoveMicrofiction
6

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    This was so heartwarming! Iโ€™m so glad you got it written, Rene. (And a little unsolicited advice: next time youโ€™re feeling stuck and uninspired, come back to this piece and try to write another scene and expand on this piece! Maybe write one of the times that Taylor unintentionally hinted to Mary Jane. Thatโ€™s such a fun concept and I bet you could write a fun scene from it!)

  • Awww, this was so wonderful! So happy that Mary Jane loved Taylor as well! Beautiful story!

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    It's a good story <3

  • L.C. Schรคfer4 months ago

    Awww, how sweet! ๐Ÿ˜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.