Fiction logo

Searching My Soul

The Pictures

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Searching My Soul
Photo by Jerry Zhang on Unsplash

It has been 20 years since I was in high school and I had not thought about it till the day that changed my life. A mysterious drone arrived at my door. I thought oh a gift for the holidays. Sadly it was not. What it concealed were pictures of boys whom I had bullied in high school. I was forced to deal with the massive guilt of my conscience. Sure, every now and then I lost my temper with people. I had left my girlfriend because she was too clingy, even said a lot of hurtful things. I never donated to charity and would rather throw food I didn’t want then donate it to a food bank.

However, those pictures made me look inside my tainted soul. How could I ever be forgiven? What desperate measures could I take to save myself? I was forced to even remember that one time I threw a boy’s homework in a messy urinal. He had probably been forced to drop that class because that assignment was worth 50 percent of the grade. Some boys I had sent home bruised and bloodied. Others I had helped myself to their lunch money. I felt the boys had moved on how I had. Or at least how I had up until this day.

A few days later still tormented by these thoughts and my guilt, I joined a church program that invested time helping people. I would go to people’s homes and do odd jobs like removing snow. I delivered food hampers to people and started actively donating to food banks and anti-bullying campaigns. However I still felt hurt inside. Was I doing this out of guilt or the goodness of my heart? I decided to do the ultimate sacrifice for myself. I hated school and worked at a warehouse living paycheck to paycheck as I partied and gambled. I enlisted in school.

The schoolwork was overwhelming. But even though I disliked the work I continued to work hard on it. I graduated with a diploma as a teacher’s assistant two years later. It took some time to get a job but when I did I worked with children with autism who were in the normal school classes. While I could feel myself losing patience with some I never let up the fact that helping the future children could bury my past. I met a young boy named Chris. He had Aspergers and would act out every now and then when he felt overwhelmed. I bought him a few toys to help him fidget with when he needed it.

Ultimately I became Chris’ peer support. By helping him I was helping myself too. Chris was a boy who craved attention. I would make house visits and play sports and video games with him. When it was a good time I would help him with his homework and made a schedule for him. He had been barely passing school in spite of obvious intelligence. I helped him understand his schoolwork better. His grades improved but I noticed something off about his demeanor. One day I talked to him about what was bothering him. He said he had no friends and people in the school yard bullied him.

I would now accompany him in my break time to observe him during break. After a while I started playing with him. Some kids came to me and asked if I would play games with them. I did as long as they included Chris. It was a couple of weeks later that I saw Chris being bullied. My instinct was to fight these kids. Rather I contacted the school. The kids were suspended and I went to their houses and told my story. I figured if I could change so could they.

ExcerptScriptShort Story
1

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.