Fiction logo

Safely Home

Sheltered By My Father's Love

By A. J. SchoenfeldPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Safely Home
Photo by Francois Olwage on Unsplash

As we leave Grandma’s house the snow packing the roads makes the tires of the truck slip and my heart climbs a little higher into my throat each time. I look at Dad behind the wheel in the seat next to me. He smiles at me encouragingly as he turns onto the freeway. As we approach the point of the mountain, I feel the back of the truck wiggle precariously behind us. I might only be ten, but I understand all too well how dangerous snow can be. I lost my cousin four years ago on a night like this and ever since I have secretly been terrified of riding in cars in the winter. Again, I look over at Dad and see his strong jaw isn’t clenched in nervousness, his knuckles aren’t turning white from the strain of holding the wheel. He actually appears completely relaxed. He glances over to me long enough for his eyes, full of love and reassurance, to meet my own. My heart stops pounding and the knot in my stomach loosens. No longer terrified, I am now able to enjoy the beauty of the silent blanket that is covering the world around me. I watch the flakes fly at the windshield like stars streaking past a rocket ship and enjoy the remainder of the ride home. Finally, after nearly twice as long as it normally takes, we pull into our driveway. Dad got us safely home and I now know he always will.

Short Storyfamily
2

About the Creator

A. J. Schoenfeld

I only write about the real world. But if you look close enough, you'll see there's magic hiding in plain sight everywhere.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.