Fiction logo

Safe Place

Twitter flash Challenge

By Teresa RentonPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
10
Image by T Renton (author)

Prompt: BLUR vs OASIS

Optician said his eyesight's fine.

Yet he couldn't see further than edges of things. If he focused on his sister, he could imagine her his overture, & that his brother was still there, blurred for a moment in the periphery of his oasis.

* * * * *

A 249 character Twitter flash is a great way to practice brevity. Most Mondays I try to participate in WHQ’s weekly prompts. This one combines their prompts of BLUR vs OASIS, with another community’s—vss365–prompt of OVERTURE. Hope you like it.

Why not have a go yourselves and post it in my comments. I’ve just decided as I’m writing this, if I get more than five, I’ll tip my favourite $5. If less, I’ll split it between you 🤗

This has now turned into a challenge yay!

Post on Monday 2 October by midnight UK time. I’ll read them on Tuesday 3 October and announce my winner on Wednesday morning (UK). If there aren’t many, I might even do it on Tuesday. If you don’t make 2nd, it doesn’t matter; It would be great to read what you come up with at any time.

The challenge is:

Write a 249 character short Twitter/X length flash. Title doesn’t count.

Prompt: OASIS vs BLUR.

Interpret in any way you wish.

You can use one or both words of the prompt.

Post the flash, below.

Don’t explain your flash, let the words do the work and trust your reader.

* * * * *

I’ll make a post with the entries and link to profile pages 🤗

Get flashing! I can’t wait to see what you create.

Thank you for reading and for indulging me 🥰

PsychologicalMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    These types of pieces are so difficult to pull off and this one was great!!

  • Sian N. Clutton7 months ago

    Love this! I'm going to work on mine now 😀

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    OHHHH I'm excited for this, if only to read the entries. But I'll try! (Celia's is amazing; she did a poem).

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Great job on the story. Well done.

  • OK will try this, intriguing as JS says

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Intriguing story. Challenging prompt. 😎

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.