Fiction logo

Running Through The Rain

Chapter Three

By Lily AnnPublished 3 years ago 20 min read
Like
Running Through The Rain
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Jace’s POV

I found Cynthia lying in a chair in the observatory underneath one of my blankets, she had a bottle of wine in one hand and had mascara-filled tears running down her face. I quietly walked over and leaned down next to her and waited for her to look at me. “Where did I go wrong? Am I not nice, do I not make you happy?” She asked, I opened my mouth then closed it, deciding not to answer her. She looked over at me and wiped her eyes with her arm, she had known that Samantha and I have been spending a great deal of time together. I have had all my intentions on trying to show Samantha how I feel that I completely ignored Cynthia’s attempts to seduce me. I took her hand and looked her in the eyes. “Cynthia, I don’t love you…I don’t want to marry you, and I don’t want children with you.” She sniffled then pulled her hand away, “It’s a bit too late for that.” I froze, my whole being went completely numb, I stared at her as she leaned over and picked up a letter handing it to me. “Congratulations, daddy.” She said. I took the piece of paper and read it over, Cynthia stared at me, tears streaming down her face. “your, you're having a halfling?” I asked, trying to catch my breath. She nodded and turned away from me, I slowly got up and walked out of the room not even bothering to shut the door behind me. I made my way up to my parents’ bedroom; I knew they would be in there by now waiting for sleep to overcome them as the sun rose. I walked in with the paper, my mother was sitting in her rocking chair reading and my father was laying in bed telling her of the week’s festivities. “I hope you both are happy with yourselves.” I stated, “You have both got what you want, now let me have what I want.” I set the paper down in front of my mother and left the room, this was it this was me deciding what I wanted to do with my future, I wanted to be with Samantha and I was not going to let what my family wanted to get in the way of that.

The next morning, I went down to the dining hall to find my family already sitting and munching away on food, Cynthia was sitting next to my mother searching through wedding gowns. My father, next to my sister going over wedding decorations, “What’s going on?” I asked as I sat down at the table. “Well, now that there is a darling halfling on the way, we must get the wedding going faster than anticipating. We have changed the date to the end of this month.” I stared between everyone, my sister stared at me, concern in her eyes. “That gives us two weeks,” I stated, My mother, nodded and went back to talking with Cynthia about dresses. “Dad?” I asked, hoping he would shine some light on this for me. “I think this will be perfect, the halfling will be born with the father in its life, our ancestors will get what they wanted, and Cynthia will have a loving husband and family to tend to.” “What about Samantha?” I asked a bit too eagerly. “Ah yes, your maid, I suppose we will have to fire her this weekend. She will be of no use to us after the wedding.” My mother stated as she pointed to a new dress. “You can’t do this! You can’t bring someone into my life, only to make them leave.” “We most certainly can! It can happen, and it will happen!” My father shot back. “Father, Mother…What if I can prove Samantha won’t be a threat to us, could she stay until the wedding?” My sister said calmly, both of her hands lying on the table as if to justify her speaking up. The way she spoke up reminded me of the night, not so long ago when I heard her speaking of the new maid, of Samantha. I knew she was up to something, up to what I was not sure of. But up to something… “We may be able to agree to that, given Jace can behave himself. Just because he is giving us what we want, does not mean he can back out of the rest of what comes with it. He has responsibilities, ones that he cannot just back out of with only half of the deal still pending.

That night I lay awake staring up at the ceiling of my bedroom, Cynthia is laying next to me curled up and snoring away. I let out a small sigh and roll over and feel myself aching just a bit in my chest. If I knew what pain was, could it actually be this feeling inside of me? A halfling on the way, could I really be the father of a halfling? Though I have been twenty-three for the past few centuries, could I be ready at all to be a father? Then what of Samantha? I sit up and go from my bed to my work desk and find myself sitting down. I turn on my laptop and quickly begin to start my work a bit early.

Samantha's POV

I woke up on Monday morning to my alarm going off, "Maggie, hey, your class is starting in two hours. Want to get up and ready for me?" I ask a bit too quickly before realizing that Maggie was not even in her bed. Nor did it look slept in at all, I pull my hair into a messy hair tie and make my way into the bathroom with a change of clothes and my toiletries.

I quickly strip my clothes off and step into the hot shower, I take my time while washing my hair and then wait for the water to start turning cold. Once cold I step out and wrap myself in a towel, I walk over to the sink and find my phone going off. "Hello?" I ask putting the phone to my ear. "Hey Samantha, right?" "Mhm?" I replied as I slowly put on my tight blue jeans and a black crop top. "This is Cynthia, Jace's fiance." I nod slowly for some reason believing she should be able to see it through the phone. "Listen, I don't think it's going to work. Jace has a very busy schedule, and he won't be needing you around any longer." "I let out a small sigh, knowing how much I really needed the money then I just hung up without replying. My phone rang a couple more times then I turned it onto silent. "There goes my employment," I mutter to myself as I brush my hair and put it back into a messy bun. I quickly text maggie to meet me by the coffee kiosk then make my way back to the dorm room to grab my books for my first few classes.

I walked quickly into the cafeteria hoping to find Maggie sitting with a group of her friends, but I couldn't seem to find her anywhere so I got in line to grab food. "Excuse me?" I heard a soft male voice say behind me. "Is your name Samantha, by any chance?" I turn and look the person up and down, tall, thin, short choppy brunette hair that was swept gently into his eyes. "Yes, and...you?" I asked before placing my order for two eggs and two slices of bacon. "Chase, we sit neck to each other in accounting." I nod quickly and move forward to wait for my food. He chuckled then moved up after ordering "I was wondering if you had notes from last Thursday that I could borrow, or if you could help me study..." "I Have time this afternoon after classes to go over my notes a bit if you stop being so...Creepy." I looked him over, taking note of his green t-shirt and black pants. "He gives a small nod to a couple of people walking by then looks at me. "I don't mean to come off that way, I just wanted to try to pass the next exam, you know?" "Yeah, I understand, you do know I'm not exactly passing myself...Right?" I asked Chase as I grabbed my plate of food and headed over to a table near the far right corner. He followed me of course and sat down across from me. " Maybe, together we can both pass?" He asked I nodded in agreeance then we finished our breakfast in silence. After we finish we exchanged our numbers and I made my way to my first class.

I go through my first few classes without hearing from Maggie, I text her around noon and let out a sigh and I put my phone in my pocket I make my way to the coffee kiosk to find Maggie and a guy sitting on a nearby bench I quickly walk over and wrap my arms around myself. "Everything all good here Meg's" she paused then looked at me "Who are you?" She scoffed before turning back to the guy who stared at me out of the corner of his eye. He gave a small grin while he faced Maggie then turned to me and grinned, "Was there something you needed?" He hissed at me, a bit too loudly. I looked at his grin, there was something different about it but I couldn't tell what. "Maggie, who is he?" I asked. "Liam, how do you know my name?" Maggie snapped back not looking away from Liam. I let out a grunt and a sigh before turning away and finding myself at the coffee kiosk, I know eventually, she would decide to come back to me, she always does. After buying my coffee I pull out my phone to find no texts from anyone but several missed calls from Jace's cell. I delete them all and quickly shooted Chase a text asking him to meet me in the library.

I walk into the library and make my way to the tutoring area, I sit down at a desk with a small lamp that is sitting on the side by the wall. I look around to find myself surrounded by shelves filled with books and a couple of students sitting around talking. I pull my accounting 101 books out and set them on the desk, before pulling out my notes from the past week. I sit up straight and sip quietly scrolling through my phone, after a few moments my phone buzzed I open the text and read it carefully. "Max: Have you heard from Meg's at all today, she hasn't responded to my calls or texts they go right to voicemail." I read it repeatedly remembering that I saw her earlier with some guy that I never met...Liam was his name? I quickly text back "She's hanging out with new friends today, saw her but we haven't had a chance to talk. I'll let you know if that changes. " Just as I set my phone down Chase walks carrying two hot cups in his hand. "Well, this is awkward...I thought we could both use some coffee for the study, I didn't realize you had some already." I laugh softly and take a sip before motioning for him to sit down. We spent the next two hours going over questions and reading before we agreed to head our way to the cafeteria, where again I hope to find Maggie.

Jace's POV

I walked out onto the balcony leading from my bedroom, I lean over against the railing waiting for the maid to bring me my glass of red drink. Looking out into the sand I listen to the ocean waves hit against the sand, "My love...How has your morning been?" I hear as Cynthia walks out and stands behind me on the balcony. I turn and look at her, she has her arms folded against her belly. I turn back away and go back to looking out at the ocean, "Are you not going to answer me." I give her a low growl before the doors behind me click closed. I let out a soft sigh and let the past few hours reply in my head, catching Cynthia using my phone, listening to her asking her friends to help keep Samantha away from me. "Excuse me?" I turned and stared directly into the eyes of my maid, I didn't realize how much I missed her green eyes and freckled face. She stared up at me with contentment, I looked from her to the drink in her hand. "I'm sorry.." I mutter quietly before leaning forward and brushing my lips against her neck. I kiss it softly before biting it, letting my teeth sink deep into her flesh. I feel her stiffen as I drink, after a moment I start to feel her essence slipping I pull away and stare directly into her eyes before biting my wrist and holding it to her mouth. I continue watching as she closes her eyes and lets the blood fill her, she pauses for a moment and I know she is letting the taste consume her until she no longer has an aching need for it. Though that would never happen I smile to myself thinking that it would. "Oh, my love!" I call out for Cynthia. She slowly comes out and stares at my maid feeding on me. I watch as Cynthia's face goes from concern to pure anger. I grin and gently pull my arm away from the maid and slowly walk over to Cynthia, I lean down as I wipe the blood from my lips then gently brush them against hers. I then lean over and softly whisper in her ear. " you may be carrying my child, but you cannot keep me from whom I love." I then brought her wrist to my mouth and gently kissed it before starting to walk away I then paused "Oh, and when the maid awakes, please send her to me in my office." I say to Cynthia before walking back into my room.

Samantha's POV

I lay in bed staring up at the ceiling quietly counting to twenty, then to forty, and so on until I couldn't find myself to be able to count anymore from the boredom. I look over at Maggie's bed which hasn't been changed or slept in almost a week. I sent her a few texts here and there but nothing else from there. I figured I see her around the campus so much that it leads me to believe that she is at least okay.

I let out a quiet sigh and look at my calendar on the wall, April 21st. I grab my phone and dial my mom's number. "Hello?" Her soft voice answered. "Hey, my last few weeks of classes end soon, do you want me to make the trip up to visit?" "I would love that! Your brother has a lot of practice so it would give us a chance to bond." I smile and say my goodbyes stating that I will see her in a week. I then sent Chase a text, he and I have been talking more frequently. He's actually quite funny and talented. "Meet me at the coffee kiosk, I need my coffee fix." To which we replied. "ALready there." I almost completely forgot my previous employment and went completely about my own life.

I get dressed in a pair of black jeans and a black t-shirt with purple writing on it that say's "Seize The Day" I grabbed my white jackets and my white sneakers and made my way out to the chilly air.

Jace's POV

I look up from my computer no later than a few hours from when I left Cynthia on the balcony with the maid, she finally emerges from there helping the maid with her walking. I must have taken more than I thought I did. No matter I stand up slowly and stare at Cynthia with a sly grin on my face, "Is she well?" Cynthia's face looked hurt, I admit it made me feel a bit bad, but I pushed the feeling away just as fast as it came. "Is she well?" I repeated. "Stay away from her." Cynthia shot back before starting to head to the door. "She works for me, it is my responsibility to ensure her safety," I state, letting the silver come out in my eyes. I watched as Cynthia continued walking the maid out of the room, once she left I picked up the glass cup filled with the red liquid and threw it against the door which is now shut.

Once I finished working I made my way out into the corridor, Pulling my cellphone out of my pocket I checked it to find that I had heard nothing from Samantha. I let out a sigh and made my way to the dining hall where I was sure my family was waiting for me. I found Cynthia at one end of the table and my sister with her husband near the middle. "Afternoon Jace." My sister said as she looked down at the plate sitting in front of her, she of course was not eating. Her husband, on the other hand, was downing it as though he had never eaten before. I nodded in her direction as I sat down across from them I looked at Cynthia and narrowed my eyes at her before looking down at the plate in front of me. "I heard Samantha was fired from her position, do you know anything about it, Jace?" My sister asked coldly. I looked up at her before glancing at Cynthia who was slowly and quietly eating her dinner, I looked back at my sister and shrugged. "Last I knew dad was considering letting her work here until the wedding, but I suppose plans changed." I shrugged and grabbed a roll from the serving plate in the middle of the table. "I would have rather hoped she stuck around, things were lively around here with her." I pressed my lips together as I hear my father walk into the dining hall. "You don't agree with Cynthia's decision?" His voice rings out, showing nothing but authority. "Cynthia's decision?" My sister rings out as she stands up and looked between Cynthia and our father. Cynthia's eyes are closed but I could feel the anger rising from her body. "Keep up with the anger and you'll end up transforming and damaging our antique family table." My sister snaps at Cynthia before storming out of the dining hall. I look at her husband who was still sitting and eating, completely ignoring how his wife is behaving. I burst out laughing before standing up myself. "You will never be happy until I am only willing to give in to your wants and needs, is that all I'm good for?" I ask, hoping that my father would choose not to respond, he did of course. "Your job in this family is to bring us loyalty and give us what we want, your sister chose to refuse and look where that led her." "It led her to a man she loved and choosing to give him up for his own life!" I yelled at him before turning to leave the room. "And I will do the same to you if need be." My father responded as I walked out of the dining hall.

I make my way outside and went to my car. I climbed in and let out a sigh of relief as I realized nobody was coming out after me. I roared up the car and pulled out of the driveway, and speeding my way down past the beach, and made my way to the highway. I drove in and out of cars making my way toward the local college campus. I knew I needed to find her but I didn't know how I was going to figure that one out, but I knew I needed to.

I pulled into the college campus parking lot, I looked in the mirror and let out a deep breath, letting the glamour cover my body. I watch as my hair changes from dark brown to blond, eyes from silver-green to dark blue. I climb out of the car and make my way to the registration office.

Samantha's POV

I walked out of my dorm room into the chilly air, I pulled my jacket up and tightened it around myself, I made my way to the cafeteria, I had not heard from Maggie at all, I was starting to get worried. Every time I saw her when passing she seemed to pretend to not even know who I was. As I walked into the cafeteria I was met with Chase who was holding a plate filled with pancakes and bacon and a cup of coffee, "Hey, want to eat with me?" He asked with a small smile. I quickly looked around then returned his smile, "Sure, I mean, I did come here to eat." I let out a small laugh and went over to the counter to order a couple of pancakes with bacon and hashbrowns. I then bought orange juice and I made my way over to a table with Chase talking idly next to me. I ate quietly while he spoke the whole time. "Do you want to go with me to the party on Friday?" I blinked then looked at Chase, "What?" I asked. After thinking for a moment I nod and give him a small smile before standing up. " I suppose I will see you there," I stated before turning to walk away, walking right into someone. "Watch out man!" Chase shot out as he stood up. "I...I'm sorry..." I said as I apologize, "Get away from me." The person responded. I slowly looked up at him, he was glaring at me, lips pressed tight, I looked into his deep blue eyes, then moved up to his blond hair, I then looked him all over, he had broad shoulders, a sharp face, cheeks. In his eyes, there was something familiar about him. "Do I know you" "I said leave me alone?" He repeated. "yeah, yeah, I heard you." I rolled my eyes before motioning for Chase, "Let's go." I scoff as Chase and I walked away.

Jace's POV

I watched as Samantha walked hurriedly walked away with whom I assumed was Chase, I held back a sigh as I looked down at the small number of crumbs there were on my shirt. Brushing them off I looked back up at Samantha as she reached the doors of the cafeteria. I finally let out a soft sigh as I let my shoulders relax. I quickly glanced around the room then made my way out of the cafeteria telling myself that one day, I will be able to explain this moment to her...One day.

I went through my new classes with a breeze, as this was something I did a few times before. Not quite with this plan, whatever the plan was I wasn't sure other than this was the only way I was going to be able to find myself near Samantha again, not that she knew how I felt but because one day, I plan to explain that to her. It was just figuring out how. Once the last class finished I made my way back to the parking lot where I finally pulled out my phone to find three missed calls from my father and one from Cynthia.

I opened my messages to find nothing, "I'll deal with them later." I stated as I got into the car, I looked into the review mirror and smiled as the glamor wavered off of me. I turned on the engine and was about to pull out when I heard a soft voice call out. "Maggie?" I darted my sight to the left window where I saw Samantha moving casually through the cars to another girl, I held my breath so I could hear her better. "Maggie?" I looked at the other girl who was standing with a couple of men, they looked as though Samantha was nothing but a bug they wanted to squish, I wondered if Samantha could sense that as well. I looked between the two men and the girl they were with. "Maggie, where have you been? I have so much to tell you, and Max is worried." The girl waved her hand and looked at the man on her left, he was tall and built. dusty blond hair that fell into his face, he grinned back at Samantha before giving her a shrug. "Maggie, this isn't funny," Samantha stated as she pulled her phone out. "You really need to talk to Max." Finally, the girl, whom I assume is Maggie spoke up. "I don't want to speak to Max, I don't want to speak to you, just leave me alone." I watched as the woman started walking away leaving the two other men to stand between her and Samantha. I watched as they posed, ready to pounce should Samantha try anything. I looked over at Maggie, something seemed off about the whole thing. I watched as she continued walking away. Taking in a deep breath I let out a sigh and watched to see if they would try anything on Samantha, luckily after a few minutes, they left as well as did I.

I drove my way through the city and made my way back to the mansion, to find Cynthia sitting on the porch with my maid, who was sipping from a glass filled with blood. I grinned slightly before looking away as I made my way into the mansion and up to my father's room. Once I reached his room I knocked a couple of times on the door to find that nobody was going to be in there slowly I turned and looked around before making my way slowly to his office. The walls, which are usually bright and open felt dark and closed off, I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but something felt extremely off. I smoothly made my way to his office and found myself walking in to find my father sitting at his desk with my mother. They both looked at me as I entered before my mother quickly looked away. "You kept calling me father, what was it you needed to tell me?" He grinned and stood up slowly putting both his hands on the desk. " We have concluded." I slowly made my way over to his desk and put my hands in my pockets as I waited for his answer. " I will allow Samantha to continue to work here, under Cynthia instead." My father's voice was strong and intent-filled, I nodded slowly before moving my hands behind my back. " But, you may not be seen with her without Cynthia, am I clear?" My father's eyes tore into mine before I let out a small sigh and looked down letting my father win this one. "Are you done?" I asked finally, my dad stood up fully and turned to make his way over to my mother. "You may leave." Was the last thing he said before taking a book off of the bookshelf and making his way back to the desk. I let out a sigh as I turned and left my father's office.

I quickly made my way back outside to the porch where Cynthia was sitting with the maid, She glanced my way as I walked over to her. The maid tilting her head down but not willing to make eye contact with me, "good." I thought to myself as I continued walking over to Cynthia, She slowly looked up at me, eyes curious and wondering. " Love?" She asked softly as I slowly bent down to one knee, giving in to what my parents want from me. "For the time being," I said to myself.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.