Fiction logo

Running through the rain

A vampire love story

By Lily AnnPublished 3 years ago 20 min read
Like
Running through the rain
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

Chapter Two

Jace’s POV

I walked out of the bedroom and onto the balcony and looked up to the sky, “Darling!!” A sing-song voice rang out as I hear a door slam to my bedroom, I quickly turn around and sigh as I see Cynthia walking through my room and over to me. She was wearing a long light lilac dress that went down to her ankles the skirt coming down with see-through silk that made her legs look stunning, I gave her a small smile as she came out to join me on the balcony. “Cynthia, I apologize for my previous actions, I was drinking last night,” I stated, it was a lie of course, but my parents would never let it go if I ruined this for them. She smiled at me then grabbed my hand, I looked down at her and let out a small sigh. She went from looking at me to looking over the balcony, “It really is an unfortunate event. But at least we can enjoy it together.” Cynthia stated before she let us go of my hand, she then leaned over the balcony and looked down at the ground. “I disagree, Cynthia,” I stated before turning around and started to go back inside before She grabs me by the arm and moves so she was leaning against my back. “Don’t be like this Jace…” Cynthia said in a whisper. Pausing for a moment, I looked back at her before pulling my arm away and walking back into my room closing the balcony door behind me, so she knew that I did not want her to follow me.

Back in my room I walk over to my desk and sit down, pulling out my notes from work I start getting to work with typing them down on the computer to send them to my employee’s after a couple of minutes Cynthia walked back into the room from the balcony, her eyes bright red from tears. She walked over to me and set her hands down on the desk, “I know you don’t want this…But it wasn’t my decision either. However, I want to make the best out of what our parents decided for us.” Cynthia stated. I leaned back in my chair and, folding my hands on my lap I stared at her. After a few moments, I leaned forward and barred my teeth at her. “You want to make the best out of what our parents decided but you don’t want to make your own decisions?” I growled before turning back to my work. “Leave Cynthia,” I stated before moving all my attention to the work on my computer.

She stood next to me for a while, I was not exactly sure for how long but after that she finally gave up and left the room. I will assume she will be at supper tonight since my parents will be joining in once again. Once she left, I let a grin cross my face and opened google. I wanted to search a couple of things about around town here that may be going on since I have not been here to visit in quite a long time.

After about an hour of searching, I decided to leave and see what is going on myself since I could not find anything, I quickly put on jeans and a plain black t-shirt and decided on matching black sneakers. I stand up and start heading out my bedroom door, halfway out the door I paused noticing my parent's head maid speaking to someone. I walk out the door and shut it before realizing the maid stopped speaking. I looked over and froze immediately. The woman whom I saw the other night stood directly in front of me, we stared at each other for a moment before I cleared my throat. “Carry on please,” I stated before forcing myself to turn and walk away in the opposite direction.

When I returned later that evening, I noticed a note on the floor underneath my door, “Meet me in the observatory.” Scribbled in perfect cursive. I let out a sigh, knowing full well that it is Cynthia’s handwriting. “Well, may as well get it over with and humor her with my presence,” I said to myself as I turned around and started heading to the observatory room. As I walked I crumbled the note up and tossed it behind me, once I reached the room I knocked twice and waited a moment before entering I noticed a clear sky through the clear glass around the majority of the room. I looked around then noticed a small slim figure standing across the room from me, “Cynthia…” I said, her name sounded like chalk grinding on the board during classes. Cynthia turned and grinned she started walking towards me swaying her hips as she walked. “Jace, my love.” She was wearing a red strapless dress that had a slit that went from her right thigh down, I took a good look at her face, her cheeks were rose pink and I could hear her steady breathing along with the thumping of her heartbeat. She was breathing rather heavy for her. “Jace, please. Please just notice me.” She whispered, I studied her face for a moment before going against my better judgment and leaning down to kiss her. As we kissed, I drew in a deep breath she smelled like apples mixed with copper. It drove me absolutely insane! Cynthia drew in a deep breath as I moved my mouth down to her neck and nipped lightly at her skin, she moved her arms around my neck as I brought up her legs to rest them against my sides. I heard her moan quietly as she pressed herself tighter against me, I held her legs and walked until we were against a table in the far-left corner of the room. She moved her hands to caress my forearms and continued to moan as I kissed and sucked on her neck, at this point I couldn’t help myself anymore, I had to have more and I didn’t care how I got there. “Please?” She moaned in my ear as she moved her hands down to the front of my pants. I hesitated for a couple of minutes, I moved my head up and stared at her, I knew this is what my parents want. For Cynthia and I to create halflings together, to create a new breed of Vampire and wolves. As much as I wanted to let that happen, I knew it would be an abomination. But at this moment, I did not care anymore. I pulled Cynthia to me kissing from her mouth to her collar bone as I thrust into her, again and again until I fully came. Once finished, I pulled out and fixed myself before walking away, leaving her in the observatory by herself.

Samantha’s POV

I climbed out of my car in the dorm parking lot, I looked up at the now dimming school parking lot. I was starting to feel the coolness of fall overcoming me as I pulled out my fall jacket. “Where were you?” I turned to find my dorm leader leaning against her car, she had her hands shoved into her coat pockets. “Jeez Jessie, you scared me,” I replied with a small chuckle. “I got a small part-time job at a local building. Pretty exciting.” She shrugged then pushed herself off her car “pretty cool. Glad you settling down here. How are classes going?” She asked, clearly trying to make small talk. “great! I am doing well here. I love it.” I replied before heating my phone buzzing. I pulled it out to find a text from Maggie, “hey, Max is over. Sock on the door, books outside the door. Night!” I let out a sigh then started heading in with Jesse behind me. “I was just about to head to the library if you wanted to join me,” Jessie suggested as she wrapped her arms around mine. She was nice I supposed, I looked at Jessie, she was wearing black leather jeans with a dark purple shirt, her hair was down flowing over her shoulders. I agreed then headed to my dorm to grab my things, then headed to the library to meet up with Jessie.

Once we reached the library, I found myself glancing around like what seemed like a young schoolgirl ready to embark on her new adventure. “This, Is the Library?” “Sure is, isn’t she a beauty?” Jessie replied grinning from ear to ear. I looked between the room and her and laughed slightly before walking away and finding a small shelf filled with history books, “I haven’t been to the library yet, so this is kind of fascinating.” I saw Jessie shrug out of the corner of my eye, she then walked away from me and I found myself moving towards a small table at the far end of the room. I sat down and put my items on the floor next to me while setting the book that was on top of the pile along with my notebook on the table, I stuck my headphones into my phone and turned on some music, and let my mind fill with the words on the paper.

I found myself walking through a forest, I looked around and drew in the sweet sticky scent of the trees. I started walking forward until I was sure of my surroundings. “She’s over here!” I heard someone yelling, barking. Why is it so loud? “H-Hello?” I say quietly, I feel like I should not be speaking but running, running, yes. But from who exactly, who are they looking for me? I continue walking feeling the fear growing inside of me. I can feel my heart beating too fast, I draw in a deep breath and close my eyes. When I open them I find myself at the opening of the forest, my view of everything in bright red. My throat hurts, it feels dry. I open my mouth to break but I can only hear a small hissing sound coming from my barely parted lips. I drew in another breath, I could smell someone’s heart beating, they are running. I shut my eyes and focus; I feel myself trying to locate where they are running to. “Over here!” I open my eyes and spin around to face whom I now knew was chasing me. “Demon!” I barred my teeth and turned to run before feeling something sharp in my back.

I awoke from my dream to find Jessie standing next to me shaking my shoulder. “Hey girl, need some sleep?” She said chuckling before holding out a cup of coffee. “Here, though you could use this, it’s going to be a long night and I don’t want us to be kicked out for you sleeping,” Jessie stated before taking a small sip of whatever was in her cup. “Thanks, I didn’t even realize I fell asleep,” I said muttering the last part under my breath. “Hey, I don’t judge, I’ve seen it all. Remember that eh?” She said giving me a wink. I gave her a small reassuring smile then leaned back in the chair I am sitting in. “I did have an odd dream though; it was unlike anything I ever dreamt before,” I stated as I hold the cup a bit above the table, I stare at it as I tell her what I dreamt about. “I was running through a forest, apparently I was running from someone, then it switched, and I could only see different shades of red. And I realized I was running from, but it seemed…Odd” I let out a sigh then leaned back in the chair and stared at Jessie. “Wow, that is odd, it just a dream though, maybe you have been working yourself a bit too hard. I nodded and spent the rest of the night listening to her tell me stories of the past couple of years.

Jace’s POV

That night, after leaving Cynthia in the observatory I headed down to the kitchen where I thought I could find myself something to eat for the lack of supper that I so enjoyed. As I was walking into the kitchen, I heard whispering, I slowed down and quieted my steps as I look around to see who it is that is speaking. “Yes, I think she will make the perfect bride for what our parents want, but they also want our kind to survive. Yes…Yes, No You hired her? She seems to be what we would need to keep it going?” Father wouldn’t want this…We have them all waiting, yes…She should never find out about us.” It was my sister, I heard her getting close. I moved to hide around the corner so I could continue listening, I couldn’t quite put my finger on what she was talking about, though I could tell she was on the phone with someone. “She goes to our local university correct. And your positive that it’s her?” I froze, having a feeling I knew exactly who she was talking about, the redhead that was hired recently. I moved out of the doorway almost crashing into her. “Jace, what are you doing in there? She asked, I shrugged and started walking forward to the kitchen. I grabbed a blood bag and made my way from the kitchen back up to my room before I ran into anyone else, especially a specific woman.

I awoke the next morning I awoke to a small knock on my door, a light tapping. I rolled over to find myself almost completely rolling over Cynthia who had her hand on my back. I groaned and looked down at her. “Can’t you just go away?” I asked a bit sharply. “I don’t want you here, leave.” I said before getting up and walking over to the door. “Who is it!” I opened the door to find the new girl, who had her hand near the door. I looked behind her to find the head maid shaking her head in disapproval. She then grabbed the girl and pulled her back. “We must knock once, then wait for our master to open the door.” The girl pouted and looked down, I stared at her before looking at the head maid. “What is it? I do not want to be disturbed.” She nodded then reached around handing me papers. “This is Samantha, this is her first full day with us. Your parents had asked me to hire someone new specifically for you to have personally, they asked that I find someone that could be not only a guide for you but someone who will help keep you on your toes while you are learning to run your business and learning to…” She paused as Cynthia made her way over to the door, she was wearing only her underwear with her hair falling around her. “Be a father and a husband.” The head maid finished before letting out a small cough. “Samantha is still in school, and therefore can only work the afternoons and weekends, but she seems like she will make up for it through, education experience, and conversations. “Oh good, I love new friends.” Cynthia said as she slid her arm around my waist. I looked at Samantha, I remembered the night I found her sitting on the beach, the moon shining off her long red hair. She had beautiful green eyes, and freckles lining her oval-shaped pale face. She gave me a smile and a small nod. “Good youngling, you’re learning.” The head maid praised before walking away leaving the three of them alone. I heard Samantha let out a deep breath and she relaxed a bit. “Wow, that was intense wasn’t it?” She asked before stretching her neck. “Well, I’m going back to bed! Fiancé, are you going to join me?” Cynthia asked, I looked at her then sighed before looking back at Samantha as I took a step closer to her. “Cynthia, get lost.” I snarled under my breath. Samantha tensed up and started backing away. I narrowed my eyes at her, I wanted to pull her to me. To feel her beneath my skin. I turned and started walking down the hallway, trying to get as much space in between us as possible. I kept walking, hearing the tapping of quick footsteps coming up behind me. After getting far enough away I stopped and turned on my heels knowing Samantha would almost walk right into me. “Why are you following me?” I asked, trying to sound irritated “I was hired to be your company, I am determined to get paid for just that.” She grinned and leaned down to fix her shoes. “Besides, I needed something to do.” She added. I rolled my eyes then turned and kept walking. “Well then, keep up with me.” I said with a slight grin. I showed her around my parent's mansion and told her the ins and outs behind everything, We spoke of many things throughout the house, along with some of the types of parties we have excluding the relations behind everything. Once we reached my father's study I paused and turned to find Samantha staring intensively in her notebook. “What are you doing?” I asked quizzically. “Taking notes, just in case if there is anything I forget or need to mention.” I stare at her writing for a moment, I want to reach out and stroke her cheek. I want to brush her hair out of her eyes and watch her cheeks flush pink under my touch, After a moment of staring at her Samantha looks up at me with the expression of her saying what to me without uttering a single word. “what are you going to school for?” I ask. She snorted then turned away to start walking in the other direction, “Parents' rooms are out of order.” She stated as she walked away. I wanted to follow her, but I decided against it as I needed to speak with my father anyway. I turned around and walked into my father’s study, he was sitting at his desk with a newspaper in front of his face. “Father.” I said, to get his attention. “Father I would like to discuss ending this engagement, I do not love her.” I spoke with certainty and wanted at least some clarification that my dad understood something that I wanted, at least a slight chance. He cleared his throat and flipped through the newspaper, “We already discussed this as you were growing up, it does not matter if you love the person we chose or not. It is your ultimate duty to bring honor to this family. We have many partnerships that we must keep up, and it is past time that we start creating new halflings.” My father now put the newspaper down. “Must I remind you of what happened with myself after failing to do what was required of me in the past?” I drew in a breath, he was right. He broke the same path by choosing my mother and he spent centuries being tortured before finding her again, already broken. “I, I don’t know what I should do.” I admitted. My father stood up and walked over to look out of the window. “My advice, to choose the path that the ancestors had laid out for you. Embrace it, make it your future and your home.” I stared at him then made a mental note to come back with a full decision, I would want to be positive before deciding on a definite answer to put myself in that same situation.

Samantha’s POV

I walked through the enlarged mansion trying to find my way back through the hallway, I froze when I noticed a person out of the corner of my eye, Samantha knew her instantly, it was the same woman who gave her the business card at the store. The woman wore a white blouse, and a short pencil skirt that clung to her skin like she could walk the runway, she had a black suit jacket that she was hanging onto that was laying perfectly on her back as she walked. “Samantha, darling. I’m so glad you got the job; how have you been getting on?” The woman asked as she came closer. “I uh…how did you know I got the job?” I asked her, raising my eyebrows a bit “Of course I helped you get the job!” She chuckled and hugged me. “The moment I saw you at the store, I knew you would be perfect for my little brother. You see, he recently got engaged but knows absolutely nothing about women. So, I requested someone to be hired to help him learn what it is like to have one around.” “But you’re a woman…” I replied a bit hesitantly. “Ah, but he is so used to me, he needs someone new. I wanted to ask more questions, but I desperately needed a job to help pay for my academics, so I let it go.

Later that evening I found myself back in front of the bedroom that I started on the walk with Jace, I knocked but heard nothing, so I turned and leaned against the wall. I pulled out my phone and texted Maggie that I would be back by eleven, and then looked up to stare at the wall. After about an hour I let out a sigh and slid down the wall into a sitting position and dropped my head into my hands, I knew this job was not going to be easy. But I did not realize it was going to be this hard. After what seemed like hours I checked my phone and decided it was time to start heading back to my dorm room, once I stood up I looked at the wall ahead of me. Jace was standing at the other side of the hallway, his hands shoved in his pockets and his hair slicked back. He looked as though he had just got a pack from an art museum, “Please, Samantha. Come into my room.” He suggested as he walked past me and moved opening his bedroom door, I walked in behind him and looked around. He had a couch in the middle of his room, with a chair next to it and a television sitting on a tv stand. I slowly walked in taking what looked like the largest bedroom I have ever been in.

I looked over at Jace who was now sitting at his desk typing away at the computer. “So…This is your room?” I asked walking over to his desk. He slowly looked up and folded his hands on his chest, “This is it, and all of its glory.” I pressed my lips together and nodded before walking over to sit on the chair in the far end of the corner. While we sat, I listened to him typing away at the computer and quietly looked around his room until my alarm went off indicating it was time to go home.

I woke up Saturday morning around 6:00 Am, I had to be at the mansion by 8:00, So I quickly took a shower and got ready. I decided to wear dark blue skinny jeans with my favorite soft purple t-shirt, at quarter to 7 I got in the car and took the half an hour drive up to the mansion. I stopped to get a coffee then called the head maid to let her know I was on my way up, once I reached the mansion, the head maid and Jace were standing on the steps of the mansion, I slowly got out of the car and made my way up. The head maid was first to greet me where Jace unusually backed off, completely ignoring me, I do not think he even looked in my direction.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.