Fiction logo

Runners of the Underground

Antoinette has learned who she is. She is discovering more every day. Especially with her Uncle Edgar helping her out. It's time to continue her angelic training so she might be able to fulfill the prophecy put on her head. - Part Two

By Sierra LynnPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

The tables in the library had hundreds of books stacked on top of them. Even the chairs were filled with parchments, maps, and extra books. It had only been a few hours of Edgar showing Antoinette around the paper filled room. Handing her books he thought she would need to study. Tossing her rolled up maps of the city so she would know her way around the streets. As well as the only few maps the angelic order had of the underground tunnels. He knew she would need those soon enough.

"Uncle, please,' She started placing more book on a table. 'I do reckon this is enough books to start with." She finished with a smile.

Edgar began pulling another book off a shelf in front of him, "Darling, you have no idea how much there is to learn. You might have to read every single piece of paper in this room if you want to fulfill the prophecy on your head."

The book in his hand was smacked down on the table in front of him. "Speaking of that prophecy on your head, have you heard the whole sentiment?" He questioned.

"No, mother only told me a short version. I do believe she was rushing a tad to get me into the city, knowing that time is of the essence and all that." She said while her smile faded.

"Than I say we shall start with that, as it is most important to the situation at hand." Edgar said crossing the room to a large book sitting on a pedestal.

He waved his hand for Antoinette to come over to him. So that she may also see the large book placed in front of him. Edgar licked his thumb and forefinger, placing a few pages between them. He began frantically flipping several pages, counting the numbers on the bottom of the pages as he went. The sound of rubbing pages mixed with the sound of Edgar tapping his foot on the wooden floor.

"Ah, here it is." He said using his whole forearm to flip the page large page of the book. He tapped the center of the page with his pointer finger.

"It-It's just a bunch of symbols?" Antoinette questioned. Seriously questioning everything in her life at the moment.

There was a light chuckle, "I did happen to tell you that there were plenty of more things you needed to learn. This just happens to be one of those things." Edgar nodded his head as he walked away to one of the tables covered in books.

He began sorting through all the stacks. Tearing books from piles. Stacking and re-staking. Every few books he would open one up, flip through the pages, then just throw it into another stack. Antoinette just stood quietly in front of the large book containing the page of symbols. She ran her fingers over the page, feeling the raised ink on the thick paper. Out of everything her mother had ever taught her, none of these symbols were ever involved in her studies. She had learned some ancient hieroglyphs, as well as old symbolic languages. These symbols however, they were of likes in which she had never seen before.

She looked up when she finally heard her uncle utter a 'ah here' under his breath. He held a small role of parchment in his hand. The center of which was wrapped in a red string. Edgar made his way back over to where she stood behind the giant book. Handing her the small rolled up piece.

"This,' He paused thinking of the right words. 'This was written by our ancestors. It tells a tale of the one to abolish the underground. The one who is going to ruin the demons under the bricks of London. In the past 300 years of the existence of this paper, many have tried to fill the shoes of the, shall I say chosen one, none though have been able to do anything this scroll transcribes."

Edgar nodded his head, giving Antoinette the permission she felt like she needed to unravel the scroll. Her small fingers untied the tightly wound red string wrapped around the crumpled parchment. After a few moments of unravelling the string fell to her feet, the small piece of parchment in her hand unfurled.

Suddenly a burst of light came off the paper. Hues of blue, green, and gold leaked into the space of air in front of her. Out of pure shock she dropped the paper to the floor, gasping at what could possibly happening. She wasn't losing her mind was she?

Edgar laughed quietly, "Yes that does shock some people at first. I understand the questioning and thought process. Come allow me to explain." He paced forward and grabbed the paper off the ground, wiggling it slightly to get rid of any dirt or dust.

He moved to a clear spot at a table beside him. Laying the piece of paper down flat. Antoinette creeped behind him quietly, careful not do disturb any other 'alive' books she may had missed earlier.

She watched silently as her uncle placed two fingers into the center of the page, pressing slightly. Seconds later the image of stars, globe lines, and dull colors jumped off the page. Still rattled by the sight, she gasped again.

"You see dear, we like to call these prophetic scrolls." Edgar cleared his throat. He moved his fingers along the page. As he did the images above began to change. Some words were materializing in the air, images of small birds, even silhouettes of humans.

"These images tell a story. You see as I drag my fingers along the page, the images change.' He looked over at her, wanting a confirmation. She shook her head. 'That is the timeline of the tale. From beginning to end. As any good story teller would, I'll start at the beginning."

He moved his fingers all the way back to the left side of the page. Giving a glace to Antoinette, he began his story.

"It is said, that a daughter will be born. On the eve where the stars of the water bringer constellation shine brightest.' His fingers slid slowly as he spoke. 'This daughter will grow under the care of one. Hidden from the world. Only the moon will chart her growth."

So far the story sounded accurate. Antoinette's mother always told her of how bright the stars were the night she came into this world. She would tell her tales of the moon as a child, she would tell her of how the moon was a bringer of gifts. Not only that, but how truly kind the moon was. Her mother had quite the affection for the woman in the moon.

The images above the paper moved along with the story as Edgar continued. "This daughter of the water bringer will be knowledgeable on many fronts. She will know the world around her. Her keen eye for botany will make her a most indicative healer."

She did love plants, herbs, and flowers. Her mother taught her many things about the earth around their cottage. Antoinette could heal almost any ailment with just a few things grown from the earth. It never ceased to amaze her mother just how truly talented she was in the art of healing.

Edgar took in a deep breath before continuing. "On the cusp of her twenty second time around the sun. She will be lead to the belly of the beast. The daughter of the water bringer will have a choice. One that will change the world as it spins. On the eve when the moon shines red she must decided. The fate of freewill as it is known, depends on her heart or her mind."

Once Edgar reached the far right side of the paper his fingers slid all the way off and on to the table. Once his fingers left the scroll all of the imagery above faded away.

The room filled with silence. There was nothing but silent contemplation of the tale Edgar just told.

"What does it mean?" Antoinette whispered. Her words heavy with fear and worry.

"Well,' Edgar sighed. Not truly knowing the answer to this question. 'I - I am not entirely sure darling. No one for the past 300 years has been entirely sure. The only thing I am sure of, is you."

He turned on his heal to look at Antoinette in the face. Her eyes were filled with thought, mixed with a bit of terror. He grabbed her shoulders, bracing her.

"The night you were born there was a shift. Your mother felt it, I felt it, the entire angelic counsel felt it. You were born of an aquarian moon, a daughter of the water bringer,' Edgar released her shoulders to take her hands. 'Not only that, your mother was known to bring water to rebels in fights. She replenished rebels. She was the purest water bearer there was. I had heard rumors that her holy water could heal anyone of any ailment the possessed."

Antoinette looked up at Edgar, "She was a healer?"

"Oh yes, one of the best there ever was. Her powers over water and herbs were the most miraculous things I had ever witnessed. She saved many lives, including mine on a few occasions."

"She taught me many things about herbs while at home. She always told me I would be a wonderful healer one day. I never truly understood what she meant.' Antoinette sighed. 'Now, I feel I might know exactly what she means."

There was another long pause of silence. Neither person willing to break the quite.

Antoinette decided breaking the calm would be their only option though. "What is the red moon? Why is that so pertinent? As well, what of this major life changing choice, I have never made a choice larger than what color dress I wish to wear on a certain day!"

Edgar sensed the panic in her tone. "Not to fret dear. I will be able to answer all of these questions to the best of my abilities. For now though, I reckon we take a much needed break. A cup of tea shall calm the nerves, don't you think?"

"Uncle, Please just ease my nerves now. I need some answers!' She began pacing around the room, trying to ease some of the tension building in her body. 'At least just tell me what you know of this red moon?"

Edgar sighed, knowing the information he had wasn't the most calming. Yet he knew she was right. She needed to know the truth of what he knew.

"The red moon shines in two days more than a fortnight. This moon has been called many things, from the blood moon to the scarlett moon. Regardless of the title, they all mean the same thing. It is the night the moon shines red, the night we have been waiting for for over 300 years."

Antoinette stopped in her tracks, "You mean to tell me this moon shines in only sixteen days time?"

"Yes, I do."

"Uncle! I know nothing of this city, nothing of this world you have shown me today! Now you mean to tell me I have the weight of humanity on my shoulders. Not only that, I only have sixteen days time to decide the fate of this humanity I carry? This is absurd. Are you even sure it is I that this prophecy speaks of? Maybe you have the wrong daughter?!"

Edgar grabbed Antoinette at the shoulders. Holding her gaze. "Child, I have never been more certain of anything, or anyone in my entire life. Your mother would agree with me, your ancestral line agrees with me. Your entire family is on your side. You have the knowledge, the skill, and the power on your side my dear."

Antoinette paused before speaking again. "Are - Are you sure? You aren't lying to me are you? Just for your own personal gain or something of that matter?"

"Antoinette, I own my life to your mother. I will let her slay me where I stand if I am mistaken,' He took her hands, squeezing them slightly for a sense of security. 'There is nothing I have to gain from this dire of a situation. I am truly here to help you, as well as offer support if I am able."

Edgar offered her a hug. One that said he was truly there for her at any cost. Hugging family again reminded her of home, reminded her of her mother. She felt relived at the sentiment Edgar offered her.

"Well, if we only have sixteen days time, we really should be getting started. As I am completely unaware of where I am even to begin." Antoinette uttered.

"I say we begin with a nice cup of tea to clear the head.' Edgar laughed. 'I find nothing more soothing than tea with a nice treat on the side!"

Antoinette giggled at the enthusiasm, "Well, if that is where we are to begin, I shall follow your lead."

-

-

-

Thank you for checking out part two! I hope you enjoyed it! Likes are always welcome, as well as any other support! I am quite enjoying this little mini series I am building!

Part three should be up next week sometime, keep an eye out for it! Or subscribe if you wish to keep track!! Much love guys!

Series
Like

About the Creator

Sierra Lynn

Aspiring historian. Fiction enthusiast. Lover of mystery.

Writer of macabre, fantasy realms, and historical ideals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.