Fiction logo

Ruby and The Phoenix Order

By: Staci Johnston

By Staci JohnstonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Ruby and The Phoenix Order

Sent from Mail for Windows 10

"Ruby and the Phoenix Order "

I remember so many amazing things about my Grandmother Ruby. It would be incredibly hard not to remember her actually. She was such an amazing inspirational person in my life. There are of course a few things that stick out to me the most about her which I always love to share and reminisce about. My Grandma Ruby was just an amazing person. She was a very smart, brave and strong woman but she also had a funny side to her which evened it out or made her just perfect in my eyes. She was just one of a kind really. One of those women you just look up to and strive to be like. Have you ever associated a certain smell with a person. I love that I can do that. Especially with her. My grandmother always smelled of roses. So now when I smell a rose I think of nothing but her and how much she loved me. I remember all the stories she used to tell me. Most of stories she shared with me happened before I was even born. Back when the land we lived in was called "The Phoenix Order". She always said to me that it was a better time back then. The time we spent together was some of my most fondest memories as a child. It all seems like a distant memory now of course but I will never forget them or her. Sadly, she passed away when I was only eight years old. Yesterday just so happened to be my 16th birthday, so that means it has been eight long years since I last saw her human form. All I have left of her now is a heart shaped locket that she placed around my neck the morning of her death, her fiery spirit that lives on within me and of course all of our wonderful memories from the precious time that we did get to spend together. She always had the knack of knowing exactly what was going to happen before it actually happened. So it didn’t surprise me when It seemed like she knew exactly what was going to happen that day. She was so very good at doing that. I remember her soft wrinkled hands placing that long sparkly silver chain with her cherished heart locket dangling from it over my head that was full of big bouncy brown curls. Then she said “Just like my very own little Curly Sue”, It was a nickname she had given to me the day I was born. She called me it all the time. Then she bent down and gently whispered into my ear.....”My beautiful, sweet strong girl , My little Miss Sutton Rose Avalon Brady”….(she always loved calling me by my full name as well when she wasn't calling me Curly Sue of course), “my dear heart I want you to always remember that you have the power to save us all”. "It's right here" she said as she pointed to the heart locket she had just placed around my neck. Those certain things have just stuck with me and I can remember them so clearly. Everything else that comes to mind comes in flashes or waves all jumbled up like someone scrambled my brain like an egg. It's like those certain memories are from a past life or like I have amnesia or something at times. Like I am slowly remembering my past but only in little bits and pieces. Sometimes I wonder if these memory flashes that I am having are actually real or are they just dreams I've had coming back to me during the day while I am awake. My heart yearns to remember every little thing about her memory. Sometimes I wonder, am I just crazy? My heart tells me that I am not and that it is all in fact true. So that is what I choose to believe and follow. That is what she taught me to do. I don't speak of these memory flashes to anyone in fear of the Chosen Ones finding out. The Chosen Ones are the people who have banned all learning from our new society which they have in fact also renamed The Dominance Tribe. They have totally rewritten everything on the internet and throughout history. They have banned and/or destroyed all books they could find and outlawed free speech. Basically they have taken all our rights away to try and make us powerless. They only allow propaganda to be given out that has been written or approved by them. If they found out some of the things I know, remember and write down they would banish me for sure straight to the Land of the Lost Souls with the rest of the "Nothings " they call them. Those poor souls. They have been banished from our society for no reason at all except for being themselves. Thrown away like a piece of trash. Even though to me they are not the ones who smell rotten inside. To me the Chosen Ones are the only thing that stinks of rottenness. The Chosen Ones are threatened by the elders because they are the ones who are old enough to remember the better days when our land was called The Phoenix Order. The elders remember what was lost, taken from us or burned by the Chosen Ones. The Chosen Ones call themselves that because they think it makes them sound important and above everyone else but really I know exactly what they truly are. They are just rich snobs with lots of money who only care about themselves. As far as the Outcasts or what I call them the Elders go I don't know them or I guess I should say I don't remember them but still I feel like I do in my heart somehow. It bothers me because I can feel their pain, their hunger and their suffering. It makes me so angry that I want to stand up and revolt against the Chosen Ones! My grandmother tells me that this is the Empath in me. The fact that I can feel what others are feeling. Thank goodness I can still hear my grandmothers voice. I mostly hear her at night and she explains everything that is happening to me. If I didn't have her here in spirit still guiding me I don’t know what I would do. I would definitely think I was seriously losing my mind! The only ones left after the Nothings were cast away to the Land of the Lost Souls were the Chosen Ones and the Younger Ones. They call us this because we were too young to remember the Lost Souls or our past. Which would of included me or it did until I found out about my special gift thanks to my grandmother. I have these so called memory flashes daily. Most of them are of my grandmother telling me about certain things from when she was alive. That's how I know all about the past is because of her. I owe everything to her. She told me that I possess certain abilities that others don't. That I am extremely special. She told me that I am what they call an Empath and that I have special psychic abilities just like her. She said that I just have to learn how to use them one day as well as the heart necklace she gave me. Of course back then I had no idea what either of those things meant but now I have it all written down in my dream of hope book I call it. I hide this so called dream book under a wooden slab in the floor of my tiny bedroom and nobody but me knows that it is there. I love getting it out at night and reading through it. Its the one time that I get to feel my grandmother's presence with me more than ever. Like she is really right next to me telling me amazing stories and teaching me things like she use to when she was alive. Sometimes I picture her when she use to wear the locket around her neck. She would grasp it tightly, tilt her head down like she was praying and mumble words under her breath. Then she would be silent for a long time like her spirit had left her body for a short time. Then when she would open her eyes they would open really wide with excitement and she would have this huge smile on her face like she had just received all the secret answers to life. I still talk to her when I'm alone and sometimes she even answers me. I am not sure if this is my imagination or if its really her spirit talking to me for real, but I like to think that it is the latter. She is the only person who understands what happens to me. Understands who I am and who I will become. Without this special secret time with her and my dream of hope book I would feel so completely lost and alone in this world more than I already do. It's what gives me hope and keeps me going. So I am going to choose to believe.

So after all me training is done and I have learned everything there is to know from her it finally becomes time for "The Resistance" my Grandmother calls it. I have laid awake many, many nights talking to her and going over plans in my dream of hope book. I am finally ready she tells me. She tells me the plan and where to go to start my journey. I have to travel a long, long way through the dead man forest. They call it that because anyone who has ever went into that forest was never heard of again. But I have something they didn't. I have my grandmother's heart locket which she says has a protection spell over it and I have her strength and blood running through my veins. I know that with this strength I cannot fail. I won't fail. So many people are counting on me. Especially those that were sent to be tortured in the Land of the Lost Souls. Eventually I reach the Orchard of Roses where my grandmother told me to find the biggest oldest tree that stands in that orchard which is covered in climbing roses. She said behind the vines I will find a cut out in the shape of a heart in the tree and I am supposed to put the heart shape locket inside that cut out heart. She said it should fit in it just perfectly. She has never lied to me before and she didn't this time either. I reach out with the heart locket and it fits perfectly in the heart groove in the tree. I see a huge flash of light and then it starts to pour down rain. Like the most rain I have ever seen. It rains so much it floods the land. This big beautiful tree then picks me up with its rose vines and takes me up high to safety. I fall asleep cradled up in the vines from the exhaustion of everything. When I awake the sun is shining and I am now laying comfortably on the ground beside the huge tree. All the flood water is now gone. There is a beautiful red rose laying next to me with a note that says.....I will always be here watching you from above my sweet pea. I am so proud of you. Never forget. I love you, your grandmother Ruby. I pick the rose up an carry it back home where I find that the flood has washed away all the evilness in the land which is what was called The Dominance Tribe. Then I look up to see all of the Older generations of the Phoenix Order who were being held captive in the Land of the Lost Souls which just happened to be up high in the cold mountains which kept them all safe from the flood. I smile really big just like my grandmother use to. I say to them...Welcome home my family. You have been missed. Thanks to my Grandmother Ruby the greatest person I have ever known we will live on and we are now safe. To me the biggest lessons here with everything that has happened and that I have learned is good always prevails over evil, family should always have your back no matter what, always respect your elders and don't ever try to erase history or you might be the one who ends up gone. The End.

Fan Fiction
2

About the Creator

Staci Johnston

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.