Fiction logo

Rouxpalm

Noun: a highly destructive mixture of fat and flour that burns with the fire of a thousand suns when contacting skin, Verb: I accidentally rouxpalmed myself while making Gumbo.

By S.K. WilsonPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Rouxpalm - the gift and curse of Gumbo

Stir.

Stir…

Keep stirring…

How long’s it been? Forty minutes? An hour?

I look at my watch, the timer reads in large digital numbers, 12:48.

12:47

12:46

It continues counting down, each second seeming as if it could be my last. How can it only have been eight minutes? It feels like so much longer.

It’s still white-ish in colour, heading towards a dirty blonde. Not dark enough yet.

Keep stirring…

Once again, here I stand. Whisk in hand, stirring continuously this dangerous mix of oil and flour. Tempting the fates while waiting for it to change into the dark chocolate brown required, before adding the mix of finely diced base veggies for a gumbo. Onion, celery, and green bell peppers, Capsicums to most Australians. That’s the 'trinity', then of course ‘the pope’ which is the garlic.

Someone once asked me why I wear gardening gloves when I make gumbo. I don’t say anything. All I do is show them my thumb and finger, now permanently stained and blush compared to the rest of my hand.

That fateful first attempt ended with a blob of thick dark chocolate coloured roux flicking up from a broken whisk, and branding my hand with burns I’ve never felt before, and making me unleash a stream of ‘f-word’ variants that lasted a solid forty-five seconds, strangely without repeating a variant.

Now, when I make this delicious Cajun meal. It’s low and... slow, during the roux making stage.

Thick gardening gloves are of course, optional.

HumorMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, been dabbling in poetry.

Debut Arthurian fantasy novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

🩷

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic2 days ago

    This was such a fun and yummy read!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.